On the Road Again: This Time, at Dangled Carat


It’s tough to catch my girls’ eye.

I always joke with them that they shouldn’t expect to find a boy as smart, strong, handsome, dashing, brilliant, athletic, intelligent, debonair, suave, or intellectual as their papa. It’s not fair to the kids who come along and try to make an impression on a not-so-impressionable girl.

Of course, my girls just roll their eyes at that.

Today, I’m writing about a near-miss in the dating game for one of my girls, at Dangled Carat, Hilary Grossman’s blog. I’m trying to be all vague about it, so don’t try and figure out who it is, but just … appreciate the message.

You might remember Hilary’s guest post here last week, about her father. While you’re on her site, be sure to snoop around a little. Hilary’s a great read.

And make no mistake – I have the advantage over the boys who do try and come in the yard. I have no guns, I have no traps. But boys, if you want to try and match wits with that girl’s dad …

Better bring your A game.

12 Replies to “On the Road Again: This Time, at Dangled Carat”

  1. Go easy on ’em, Eli. I doubt even the smartest kid can play at your level! Nevermind. I take that back. I have two daughters, and I already want to lock them away. So, show no mercy! Those are your babies, after all. Although I have no doubt they can hold their own!

    1. I’ll try. No I won’t. I’m going to mind-game these lads like I do some coaches I face. Make ’em think I know something they don’t.

      They’re pretty tough, these girls, so yeah, they can take care of themselves. But if a dude jams their frequencies and gets them all starry-eyed, that’s why papa has to show up with the club.

  2. I am so glad you made a road trip to the beach! I love the line “better bring your A game”. I have to admit, I kind of feel sorry for the poor guy who wants to win your daughter’s heart. But then again, once he passes muster I think he will be a lucky chap!

    1. It’s perfect timing for a trip to the coast – on the first 30-degree day this fall in Carolina. The kid’s going to have to be a champ, that’s for sure.

      but if he does pass muster – and has me on his side – that’s when he knows he really did good. Saintdom would be the next step.

  3. You sure get around Coach 😉
    I’ll have to remember that for an upcoming series I’d like to do.
    It’ll cost you though — you must talk about hockey instead of football – ha! 🙂

  4. My dad was difficult to most of my boyfriends, at least at first. I have a feeling my husband will be more easygoing, unless someone doesn’t treat her right…in that case watch out! She is definitely daddy’s girl!

Say what you need to say

