Twisted Mix Tape: The Coach Daddy Lullaby Collection


My Skewed View

When you’re talking “Twisted Mix Tape,” you probably don’t expect Bing Crosby and Harry Connick Jr.

Lindsey Stirling

I mean, those are two of the suavest honkeys in suave honkey history. “Twisted Mix Tape” ought to refer to Quiet Riot and Lindsey Stirling (left) and Twisted Sister and, yes, Ke$ha. But for Jen Kehl’s popular weekly tribute to the art of the mix tape, anything is possible.

“Twisted Mix Tape” this week calls for “Dealer’s Choice” for your selections. I nearly went with “Songs Coach Daddy Hears When He Eats Cheeseburgers, Gets Geeked Up for Soccer Matches or Thinks About Dana Perino.” But, who can cut a list of such songs down from 47?

I decided to go all sensitive for this one, and I asked the girls which songs they remembered me singing to them at bedtime. (Hint, none of them were by Quiet Riot or Ke$ha).

It doesn’t happen anymore, but I loved singing to my girls at bedtime.

Here are the girls’ choices. You won’t find “Devil Went Down to Georgia,” “You’re Gonna Go Far, Kid” or “Warrior,” although Elise did once request “Tainted Love” – and cried when I said no.

1. Across the Universe, the Beatles

It was like we were in a commune for this one. We were all hippies, tripping out on the meaning. “Limitless undying love/which shines around me like a million suns” … dude. You could almost smell the incense burning. Modern-day hippies sleep soundly, too. This was trippy, but it sparked musical conversation between my kids and me.

2. Can’t Help Falling in Love with You, Elvis Presley

Elise, the oldest of the girls, used to think I looked like Elvis when she was little. In related news, she hasn’t yet needed glasses. I’ll include the Ingrid Michaelson cover because it kind of takes my breath away, which can be a problem when it plays on Pandora in the middle of a work day.

3. Hey Jude, the Beatles

Sometimes, the words are straight to my girls. Paul McCartney’s song to John Lennon’s song includes lessons above life and love. “don’t you know that it’s a fool/who plays it cool/by making his world a little colder?” After about 17 minutes of naaaaa-na-na, na-na-na-nahhhh, Marie has had it, though.

4. The Lion Sleeps Tonight, the Tokens

I had forgotten about this! Thanks, Grace. Uncle Keith used to sing it, falsetto and all, at a high volume. I kept it reasonable. It was bedtime, after all. I remember it playing on Super Gold on Saturday nights with my dad. Saturdays were for washing and waxing your car, grilling out, and Oldies.

5. Recipe of Love, Harry Connick, Jr.

With Nirvana, Greenday and Stone Temple Pilots playing from CD players all over campus, I was the dork with Harry Connick Jr. playing on my Sony Walkman. Yes indeed. “Let’s Just Kiss” was another popular request, but it seemed to rile up the kidlets more than settle them down.

6. Swinging on a Star, Bing Crosby

Bing made it famous, but my inspiration was Bruce Willis and Danny Aiello, in the movie Hudson Hawk. The pair used classic songs to time their heists. In related news, I wrote three extra verses at the kids’ request, for a crab, a skunk and a snail. I’ll write about that someday, too.

33 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape: The Coach Daddy Lullaby Collection

  1. Great picks! I remember the first time Hey Jude was shown on the Ed Sullivan Show. It was a great song, but it really seemed to drag on and on. Not the typical Beatles offering. Still, who could not love it? Across the Universe was also one that didn’t get much airplay way back when. What a mistake. Great job!

    1. Thanks Rich! There’s a great online flow chart for Hey Jude – have you seen it? I remember the Mork and Mindy reference too, when Mork took forever to park the car because he wanted to sing all the Na Nas.

      Across the Universe is timeless. My oldest downloaded it on her iPod after seeing this post.

  2. Love that you used your daughter’s lullaby list as inspiration for this! There was a very popular oldies station in Atlanta when I was growing up, and my mom always listened it to when she was shuttling me back and forth from swim practice. I know tons of oldies by heart, including The Lion Sleeps Tonight (hey, hey). I need to dig up some old tunes for my girls. Might be a bit more wholesome than the songs my oldest currently sings along to in the car. Major parenting fail when your 4 y/o knows all the words to Moves like Jagger and Rumor Has It.

    1. It was one way to ensure Ke$ha didn’t make it. Oldies are always a good choice – but I wonder if my kids consider Flock of Seagulls and Duran Duran oldies now?

      I didn’t get those high notes on Lion Sleeps Tonight, by the way – but I’d sneak the girls’ names in for “lion” to keep them on their toes.

      Lady Antebellum got me in trouble in Walmart once … but think about it, when we were kids singing “Afternoon Delight” or George Michael songs, we had the same effect, didn’t we?

  3. The Beatles are big in this house for lullabies and while we don’t sing to the kids anymore, we still have musical evenings where the TV gets turned off and the stereo on and we all listen to some favorites!

    1. You have good taste, Angel. Any song (except for “Tainted Love,” apparently) can be made into a lullaby. I might have had a little quiet backup during Lion Sleeps Tonight.

  4. I could listen to Harry tickle those ivories All Day Long!! Always. Awesome. I usually pick his more New Orleans style – but any Harry is great.
    I have sung to my children every night of their lives basically. Usually more traditionally songs like Twinkle Twinkle or Hush Baby….or their all time favourite Germs the Invisible Dog. Soft Kitty is new. My daughters will gravitate to All The Disney Princess songs – I can rock Part of your World, seriously!
    It’s been 9 long years of nightly singing and I am ready for my set break any day now. haha
    great pics all around.

    1. Harry’s a cool cat. I saw him in concert back in college. The dude is an entertainer. The Harry Connick Christmas CD is a staple in the Pacheco house.

      No Rush, Nickleback or Bachman-Turner Overdrive at bedtime up there? I think it’s time for a podcast of your singing talents, Les.

  5. Aside from Suspicious Minds I’m not much of an Elvis (music) fan. But the rest of them were awesome, Eli! Especially going retro with Bing. But, I’m a huge fan of the Lion Sleeps Tonight! Love that song πŸ™‚ Enjoyed the post sir!

    1. Suspicious Minds seems like a good sendoff for Elvis, doesn’t it? Thanks, Mike. Bing just had it, but the video for Swinging on a Star was so grainy and not at all in the style I rendered it at bedtime.

      Lion Sleeps Tonight ought to be sung by sports fans somewhere at the end of a victory.

  6. Maybe we’ll have to have Des mature more before I publish his lullaby mix! The My Little Pony theme song is prevalent there, and he hums it or whines “mama” to it in near perfect pitch.
    Perhaps I need to share that video on my blog.

  7. This is so perfect! You missed Unlikely Lullabies early on in Twisted MixTape history, so now we got it. I really love all of these songs, I was also a non-traditional lullaby singer and loved it. These are all great choices, no James Taylor or Paul Simon, but I’ll give you a pass, cause I love these πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Jen! I’ve been wanting to do this forever. How many times can we seriously sing Rock-a-bye Baby? No one calls it a bough anymore, either.

      Oh, there was some James Taylor (“Your Smiling Face”) but it just didn’t make the cut! “Slip Slidin’ Away” holds special meaning to me, though.

  8. such great songs, such a mix!
    I loved the theme, and now reading that Slip Slidin Away and Your Smiling Face almost made the list i love it even more.
    I think I might start singing at bedtime more often.

    thanks for the smile today.
    (and my first visit to your blog)

    1. What do you think of Ingrid’s cover of No. 2? I’m not even sure my mom knows who Ingrid Michaelson is. Harry’s one cool dude. He’s not on my list, though. So tell your hubby that.

  9. Eli I remember loving this list and how serendipitous it was that you had missed our unlikely lullabies, which will be revisited in year 2 πŸ™‚ But be prepared, I’m thinking of a children song themed post…. I don’t know what. You’ll have to wait… but something….

    1. I just love that you used the word ‘serendipitous’ in a comment. I’ll be prepared – I can do just about any theme for the Twisted Mix Tape, I believe. Hit me with the list!

Say what you need to say

