On the Road Again: This time, at a Dish of Daily Life


 

stormtroopers bike 2

In the waning moments of the Muleicorns’ 2-1 championship match victory – on my birthday, no less – I took a seat on the bench. To apologize.

That’s where one of my favorite players, Brittney, sat, most of the second half. In the flurry of activity of a scoreless half in a hotly-contested championship, I’d failed to recognize Brittney hadn’t gotten back into the game after we’d subbed her out.

“It’s OK coach, really,” she said with a smile that let me know she meant it.

I failed to give her a chance. She said she was happy to play on a winning team with girls she loved and a coach she kind of did, too. It was important to me to give her a chance to play. More than a chance. Many chances. And a chance to love this game a little more.

Today, I’m filling in as a guest poster on Michelle’s blog, A Dish of Daily Life.

Come check it out. Michelle reminded us that it’s only a game in a recent guest post. She writes about fair play, the team concept, and tackles the worst of bad sports parenting. She even takes a stab at other staples of my world, such as chicken wings.

coaching quote 2.jpg

16 thoughts on “On the Road Again: This time, at a Dish of Daily Life

  1. I love that you took the time to sit down & talk with your player, especially in the waning moments of a championship victory. That just shows what kind of coach & person you are. I bet she’ll never forget that moment & will always appreciate your honesty & humility. Isn’t that one of the best things about kids? They love so openly & fully, and they don’t hold grudges. Can’t wait to check out your guest post. I love it when my favorite bloggers team up!

    1. She’d helped us so much to get there, and had played so well. We’d had a few good conversations as I stood with her waiting to sub in. I have the best convos then.

      These kids especially took good care of each other. They never bickered or took sides. They were sisters. This girl, too, happened to make the team cupcakes for after that game.

  2. It takes a special coach to apologize to a kid, and I bet she will remember you forever for it. Thank you for guest blogging at my place today — I am so thrilled to have you! Every coach and parent that is considering coaching should read what you wrote!

  3. Stopping by from Dish… Loved what you wrote there. My daughter has a great team of soccer coaches – three dads – all of whom support the girls in different ways. We went from not winning one game our first season to coming in 2nd in the league our 3rd season. Coaches do more than teach the sport; they teach teamwork, sportsmanship, friendship, and confidence-building skills. Thanks for being one of those guys.

    1. Thanks Beth! Support comes in so many ways – intensity, light-heartedness, encouragement. The winning takes care of itself, if only you take care of the kids.

      The team built the way your daughters was is definitely the toughest team to coach against – there’s nothing like the strength of confidence and skills built up together.

      I think the fear of not being one of those other guys inspires some coaches to do what we do, and that’s fine. We have to recognize we have a chance to make a real lasting impression on someone entrusted to us!

  4. Brittney sounds like a good egg.
    I already visited you there but I’m visiting you here to tell you I visited you there and that I left a novel as a comment. Just doing my part to share the comment love in the world.

  5. More adults need to stand up (or sit down, in your case) and apologize to kids when they (the adults) are in the wrong. I say that as a reminder to myself as well. Well played, Coach, well played!

    1. We coaches shouldn’t demand perfection, because we certainly don’t live it. Everyone on that team was stellar at being accountable and watching after each other. It’s tough to beat a team like that!

      Thanks Rabia!

  6. I’m headed over to take a look. And I came over to say thank you for hopping around at my place (Super Sunday Sync). I’m catching up today and see where you’ve visited around (some people who link up don’t 😉 ). Much appreciated.

Say what you need to say

