Guest Post: Meredith of Mom of the Year, on Motherhood Super Powers


photo credit: JD Hancock via photopin cc
photo credit: JD Hancock via photopin cc

It’s all about the hardware.

The Heisman trophy. The Emmy. The World Cup.

The Mom of the Year.

Meredith Spidel’s blog, The Mom of the Year, is a beautiful account of the imperfect mom. Or, is it an account of a beautifully imperfect mom? See, it doesn’t matter. When you’re engaged and accountable and can write about it all like Meredith, you’ve eared the title.

The Mom of the Year.

There’s even a Dad of the Year on Meredith’s blog. Today, though, is about Meredith. It’s about superhero strength. When I asked her to write about it, she scoffed a little. That’s the sign of a true superhero; you act like it ain’t no thang. We know better, though.

Give Meredith a warm welcome, and please, go check out her stuff.

# # #

meredith super girl
Credit: http://geekdom.hubpages.com/hub/ Supergirl-Costume-History

Eli asked me to write about how I’m a Superhero Mom. This is one of the times where it’s really great that our communication is online because right now he would be getting one of my special you-have-three-heads looks.  I’m really good at those looks.  At least I think I am.  My kids and the dog never seem to have much reaction, but in my head, I ace that look, turn sand into stone with it and that kind of thing. You get it.

Anyway, I really like Eli.  I have mad respect for him and the very classy way he navigates through the world of dad blogging, fully collaborating with moms while acknowledging the very real differences our genders experience.  He is smart, he supports, he encourages, and I’m really grateful our paths have crossed.

That said, when he asks me explain my superhero skills, I still think he’s bat-crap crazy.  But, like I said, he’s a savvy guy, so I’m going to listen to him and give this a go.

There are very few things I do well or good in my motherhood journey.  I generally continue to consider it an accomplishment if I could write a Christmas letter at the end of every year simply stating, “I kept my children alive.”

But once in a while…once in a while I feel boss.  I do something cool that leaves me spinning around thinking, “Did anyone see that?  Please let someone have seen that. Please, anyone??  Could the mailman have creepily peered in the windows at that exact second? Please.”

These moments:

  • I shut the refrigerator door with a skillful back-kick while simultaneously washing dishes and talking my son through tying his shoes.
  • I remember to fill their sippy cups before we leave the house.
  • I remember their sippy cups period.
photo credit: Of Corgis & Cocktails via photopin cc
photo credit: Of Corgis & Cocktails via photopin cc
  • I ace the joint preschool birthday party with BLUE cupcakes and then ignore the angry glares of other moms who now have sticky blue hands all over their minivans.  Whatever, ladies, my van is such a mess the blue dye blends in. 
  • It occurs to me that if I want to make a fruit salad, I have to buy fruit while I’m still at the grocery store.
  • I get my kids in bed and asleep before 8:30 p.m.
  • No wait, I’ll repeat that so you can get the full effect. I get my kids in bed and asleep before 8:30 p.m.
  • We don’t watch “Frozen” more than twice on repeat in one day.
  • I manage to complete two full sentences to my husband at the end of the day before passing out.
photo credit: wok via photopin cc
photo credit: wok via photopin cc
  • Taking the garbage out? Total win.
  • A complete load of laundry? Rockstar.
  • I figure out how to turn on, use, and manage all of my electronic devices without calling my husband.  Total superhero here.
  • No chicken nuggets for dinner? It’s cause to rejoice if we manage to keep them off the table!

These things rarely happen – but when they do, I whip out my cape!

I know.  I KNOW.  It’s serious stuff around these parts.  I’m sure you’re totally wowed.  And I’m totally grateful to Eli for allowing me to highlight some of the niftier stuff I manage to pull off.  Thank you, and superhero on, my friends–never doubt your ability to wow.

meredith quote

53 Replies to “Guest Post: Meredith of Mom of the Year, on Motherhood Super Powers”

  1. TALKING your son through tying his shoes? That is a super super skill! If I were to try this, I would need to start a major detangling task force to do some damage control!
    Congratulations on your other stuff, too! See, it really pays out to sit down once in a while and think hard – because the things are there! We do them, sometimes every day, without anybody noticing.
    I mean, getting your kids in bed and asleep before 8:30? That’s a kick-a* skill. You do this in summer, too? Honestly? You rock 🙂 Plus you are invited at my house. Say around 7. I’ll even cook dinner. No chicken nuggets. Then you do your magic. Thank you! Have a fabulous day!

    1. Ha! Should have clarified that no chicken nuggets is a cause for rejoicing b/c it happens maybe about once a week! But will still head on over if invited, Tamara! 😉

      1. Life isn’t measured by the days we don’t lose our shit; but rather, the shit we tolerate on days we don’t lose it. Plato might have said this.

  2. Meredith, you are better than me in that I totally cave not he chicken nuggets at least once a week, but still I give myself A for effort, I suppose! However, you are totally a supermom in my book and the sippy cups alone quality you!! 🙂

    1. Just finding the lid to the sippy cup would qualify you … it’s easier to solve a Rubix cube in the dark during mosquito season in the Sudan than it is to match a cup and lid.

  3. Nice list! I am with you on the electronic devices, garbage, and laundry. Unfortunately for my husband, he gets way more that two sentences. I unload and talk his ear off since in my delusional world, he is actually listening..unlike the kids who obviously have a tunnel running between their ears so the words just go in….and out.
    As for the 8:30 bedtime and no chicken nuggets for dinner….I just retired my cape.
    Great post, y’all!

    1. I ALWAYS like to at least pretend my husband is listening–makes me feel saner and keeps me from talking too much to the plants and stuff, right? 😉

  4. I totally wish I had the ability to remember sippy cups and not leave them filled, sitting on the counter. I’ve got the remote thing down, but that’s about it. Go, Super Meredith!

  5. I bow to you!
    I was impressed today that I found a way to keep my two-year-old happy while I took a work call. I put on Sesame Street for him. It was our first foray into TV with him. Don’t tell anyone. At least I didn’t put on General Hospital.
    Honestly I impress myself every now and then by remaining calm, cool and selfless under pressure. It’s not every day, but superheroes need down time too.

  6. I always forget to bring water when we go out. And then the kids are like, “I’m thirsty!” I once told them to swallow their spit then. I’m not proud.

    1. I hope someone heard you tell the kids that – not to call you out, but just so they’d have an awesome story to tell. “You should have seen this mom I saw today … what she said to her kids,” (because if she’s a mom, she’s probably thought something strikingly similar.)

  7. You need your own supermum comic book Meredith. My multi-tasking is walking and breathing at the same time. I take my wrinkled cape off to any mother who is still ahead of the game and can get their kids to sleep before 8.30pm. My super power? I’m over sixty with grey hair, therefore I have invisibility.

      1. There was a ball player here in the states a few years back tho burned himself in his hotel room – in an attempt to iron his clothes. While he wore them.

  8. Another great post. I love it! And I love that you feature moms and share other people’s work. So wonderful That you appreciate both perspectives of parenting and share your experiences so well, while relishing in the works of others. Shows true character and respect for writing. I’ll be a follower of this blog now too! Thanks for introducing us to such great women!

    1. I’ve been honored to have some amazing guests here. (Moms to me are right up there, higher than ace starting pitchers and the people who give out samples in the mall food court. Now that’s lofty!)

  9. Such a great post!! And, I know you must be awesome because your name is Meredith. 😉 I always feel like a supermom when I get my crockpot meal all put together by 10 am and actually remember to turn it on!! Those days I practically skip around so happy that I won’t have to cook dinner at 5 pm when we’re all exhausted and tired. Off to check out your blog. Thanks for introducing us to other cool Moms Eli. You’re the best!

  10. Rock star indeed. Now to be a rock star raising a teen. I will have to write my own version this post for fun. Let’s see. I am a rock star when I ignore her whine and not shout in frustration after trying to get her out of bed for the 10th time and it is going on noon. 🙂

  11. I am right with you on most things – multitasking, garbage, laundry – yes. But 8.30 pm? Please sprinkle some of that fairy dust on me too. Pretty please. 🙂

Say what you need to say

