Go Ask Daddy About Special Days, DC Baseball and a Little Bit of Paradise


photo credit: Stéfan via photopin cc
photo credit: Stéfan via photopin cc

What would happen if we just kept on having babies?

At what point does it matter anymore? Ever played the game LIFE, and wound up with so many blue and pink baby pegs you had to lay them crosswise in your car? That was just me? And is it possible to open a blog with four straight questions?

That’s five, isn’t it?

In real life, the difference between two and three is minimal. The noise is about the same. I’m still lucky to get two slices of pizza (and crusts from the youngest). How bad could three to four be?

Stephanie at When Crazy Meets Exhaustion wrote an awesome post recently about wanting to feel done having kids. It got me thinking.

You won’t feel done until you are. Whether that is with more kids or just what you have.

I took my 9-year-old to the pool one late-summer weekend. I wrote a post in the 90 minutes we were there. That included just making visual with her every few minutes.

No floaties. No swimmers. So, that part of being done? That’ll be kinda cool for someone like Stephanie, whose kids are too small to leave under-supervised.

Wait, did I say under-supervised? That’s not what I meant. I watched her the whole time. Like, I looked over the top of my laptop every 3.7 seconds just to see if she was breathing and everything.

I’d better get to the questions.

1.     How many holidays are there?

photo credit: pierofix via photopin cc
photo credit: pierofix via photopin cc

America doesn’t do it like the rest of the world does it.

In other countries, there are national holidays for which you close up the bakery and the clock repair shop. The government says EVERYONE is off for the day. You gather in the village square and you eat and dance and break glasses.

In America, we have the 10th amendment. This means the feds can give holidays only to banks and Washington D.C. For other stuff, it’s up to states. Sad, but true.

We’re the land of eleven official federal holidays:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Inauguration Day
  • Washington’s Birthday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

This list completely ignores National Pizza With Everything Day (Nov. 12) and Star Wars Day (May 4).  Don’t even get me started on Ingrid Michaelson’s birthday (Dec. 8).

2.     Are the wings of a moth furry?

Little bastard. photo credit: e_monk via photopin cc
Little bastard. photo credit: e_monk via photopin cc

That would have been a great question for the last week in July (National Moth Week).

Confession time: Moths creep me out. Big time.

My grandma once found two Io moths squaring off to fight, and thought it would be cool to capture them both in a pinkish tupperware cup for me. A severed finger or two would have been less ghastly.

Anyway, moths are covered in scales, which look furry. And creepy as hell.

Next question.

3.     What’s the W for?

photo credit: Scott Ableman via photopin cc
photo credit: Scott Ableman via photopin cc

It’s not Walgreens, but it looks like it, huh?

I wonder when I wear my Washington Nationals cap to play disc golf, if people think I work at Walgreens. Or just feel exceedingly loyal to the store. Not as loyal as this guy.

The Nationals were the former Montreal Expos, who had an equally jacked-up logo loaded with subliminal shout-outs. It was a lower-case M for Montreal. It was in a red-white-blue color scheme, the French flag backward, in reverence for French Canadians. Also, the logo looks like an e, d and b – which stands for Expos de Montreal Baseball (the M is made up of all three lower-case letters).

Deep, right?

I bought my Washington Nationals cap at Walmart. Another W. But it was only five bucks.

4. What team does Eli Manning play for?

photo credit: Mike Morbeck via photopin cc
photo credit: Mike Morbeck via photopin cc

The New York Giants. But for a tortured minute, he was property of the San Diego Chargers, a look that left him forlorn and pouty.

When NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue announced Manning as the top pick 10 years ago, Manning posed with a Chargers jersey. With the facial expression of a kid who just got a sack of used cat litter for his birthday.

He and his dad, former NFL star Archie Manning, publicly railed for San Diego, holder of the top pick in the draft, to trade it away. He wouldn’t play for the Chargers. Not now. Not ever.

The raiders drafted next, and took lineman bust Robert Gallery. (The Manning Camp said it would have been fine going to oakland. Wha??) The Arizona Cardinals took receiver Larry Fitzgerald next.

The Giants considered a trade with Cleveland. That likely would have sent eventual Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger to New York. The Giants instead drafted Philip Rivers, and dealt him to San Diego.

There is no official Quarterback Day, by the way. But that could have been it.

5.     What does Cloud 9 mean?

photo credit: hownowdesign via photopin cc
photo credit: hownowdesign via photopin cc

There’s no holiday for Cloud 9 either. Hmm.

Cloud 9 refers to a heavenly experience.

Like getting traded from gross 70-degree and sunny weather in San Diego for … well, New York. Like donning a hat with a script W that looks strikingly like a drug-store logo. Like coming face to ugly face with a huge, ugly moth.

Cloud 9 is a blissful existence. It’s worthy of the attention of George Harrison and the Temptations. And probably Ingrid Michaelson.

Cloud 9 can also mean each of you girls with two slices of pizza each.

Especially if dad gets the crust.

cloud quote

55 thoughts on “Go Ask Daddy About Special Days, DC Baseball and a Little Bit of Paradise

  1. We only have seven here in Oz. Some of them occur at different dates each year – Easter for instance. Yes, Good Friday and Easter Sunday are considered public holidays.

    1. Wow, I thought we’d be on the short end of the spectrum in America. Easter seemed to have been one when I was a kid – or maybe that was just my Catholic upbringing.

      Easter Monday and all. And Good Friday. (Can’t push it to get Maundy Thursday included).

  2. I feel sorry for cloud 5. Come on Mate clouds have feelings right? You also have to keep going up through those clouds to get to number 9. What happens when you get there? ‘Sorry Sir/Madam but you don’t seem happy enough for this cloud, how about you drop back a couple. We’ll see you when your team wins/you win lotto/ you get…… insert delight of choice here. Kids? I guess there are times when one is too many and six aren’t enough.

    1. Cloud 5 gets the shaft, mate. It’s a conspiracy. I was told I have my head in the clouds before. Not sure which number. I’ve been told I have my head other places, too, much less pleasant than clouds.

      Who knew they were ranked?

      After corralling 14 in soccer training, sometimes three practice-weary girls don’t seem so much.

      1. I’d rather have my head in the clouds than in my………..

        I know, ranking, what the?

        I can understand corralling a swag of kids, once you get past a certain number it becomes irrelevant.

  3. well if we just keept on having babbies….. the earth is arleady overpopulated…. not to mention you know all the waste nappies generate etc. etc. It is not the old days where one women would have like 12 kids. In those days kids where raised by entire extended family. Now we tend to raise our kids alone just mom and dad. ….

    1. You’re right – and eventually, all these extra kids are going to cut into my allotment of animal crackers. Much to consider. Women had those big families back in the day so they could have farm hands or baseball teams, I suspect.

      You’re right about the shift in how kids are raised, although I feel like I have a hand in the kids on my soccer teams. At least for a few hours a week! It’s an honor I don’t take lightly.

  4. yep, i’ve had the life car overflowing with kids experience too. maybe that’s why, between the two of us, we have created our won wnba team. it should have been a sign/warning!! glad you were able to get some writing time in, while keeping an eagle eye/occasional glance your daughter’s way. it’s important to your girls, (and to us) to know the answers to these questions that it’s too embarrassing for us to ask out loud )

    1. Mine just keep growing and pushing the limits of a large pizza and car space. you and i could field a pretty fierce wnba team if you ask me – although marie had trouble transitioning to basketball fouls after having played soccer all her life. (THAT was a foul?? I barely touched her!)

      It helps that grace is self-sufficient (and had an active playmate in the pool). There are questions to answer, you know.

  5. I’ve read Steph’s post, too. I agree with you: when you’re done, you’ll know.
    How is leaving San Diego for NY blissful?
    I’m surprised that the U.S. actually has more official holidays than Switzerland – on the other hand you’d be surprised about the weird local holidays are being observed in different cantons. Like “Zibelemärit” in Bern. Onion Fair! Or Knabenschiessen in Zurich, literally “Boys’ Shooting”,..

    1. I loved Steph’s post. I will never truly understand why the Mannings felt San Diego was such an awful landing place. Fish tacos alone.

      I’d rather be at the Onion Fair, although I know one blogger I love who wouldn’t be down with that.

      Boys shooting though? My girls would probably be down with that.

      1. Haha, your girls AND you would love Knabenschiessen! It used to be a rifle shooting contest for boys only. In the olden days, you know. These days, girls are allowed, too, and they’re doing great! Apart from that it’s basically a Food Festival (probably no fish tacos, but pretty much everything else) and Fairground. This year it takes place Sept 12 – 15, and I’m thinking I should go and report back with pictures and all. What do you think?
        The Onion thing is on November 24, and it starts at 3a.m. Locals swear it’s worth it. There’s also onion candy. Not onion flavored, just shaped – let your Blogger Buddy know!

  6. Nice music references this week!

    Nationals fan? Please just tell me it was because the hat was on clearance, ok?

    I have to work on Labor Day when other government employees are off, but I get two weeks off in December instead. It balances out, eventually.

    1. Thanks! Friday is a good day for great music.

      Noooo … I am Colorado Rockies through and through. The Nationals were just a cheap cap. Comfy, though. And better than an ugly-ass giants lid.

      Working on Labor Day … there’s irony in that. Or is that tragedy? At least you’ll have a good parking spot.

  7. Always a good laugh to start my Friday – thank you. First weekend of college football and next is weekend the NFL season kicks off. Eli and Elway – both started with E’s that’s interesting….hmmmm. Have a great weekend.

    1. Always happy to be of service, Clay. My Charlotte 49ers opened Thursday night by thrashing the Campbell Camels. I think if you play a team called Camels in football, it ought to be a thrashing. Or at least a trouncing.

      Who’s your team, Clay?

      And yes, I avoided mention of John Elway … because as a Broncos fan, that petulance kind of worked out! (Not that we wouldn’t have gone to five Super Bowls with Mark Herrmann at quarterback, right?)

  8. First off, the George Harrison reference rocked and thought him immediately when I saw Cloud 9, lol! But still, I admire that you wrote Monday’s article in 90 minutes at the pool with the girls. Seriously, we are starting to get to the age where I can leave the girls in the same or next room playing unsupervised while I work, but still not so much at a pool, but you gave me hope for that someday experience! 🙂

    1. How could I go there (Cloud 9) and not mention George? I set myself a strict deadline – although I should note that that was write time only, not tagging it up or picking images.

      (This post, for instance, had three false starts and 120 minutes from writers block to publish).

      It’ll happen someday, the unsupervised thing. It happens much earlier for dads for some odd reason.

    1. I knew I’d write about your post at some point – I hope some of my readers will check out the post, too. The thing I have to remember when answering the girls’ questions is actually telling them the answers, not just putting them in the blog!

  9. Grew up in DC with no baseball. Never managed to get into the sport. To my dying day (and my great despair) I will be a fan of the NFL Franchise that shall not be named (at least by the Washington Post editorial board).

  10. Not sure why more people don’t quote Mitch Hedburg in blog posts, it must be said.
    I used to love the game of Life, and I used to have about 17 kids too many. I always wondered if this was a prophecy of some strange sort. I mean, I never felt done. I just wanted more and more pink and blue knobs because they were kinda cute.
    Isn’t that how it is in real life?
    Scarlet doesn’t think I’m done. She reminds me daily that she needs a baby sister.

    1. There’s a time and a place for Mitch, for sure, and this was it. You were a fertile little player, weren’t you? Maybe that wasn’t far from the truth. I used to imagine I was married to the prettiest girl in the class (whoever it was that week in fourth grade).

      You get tax breaks for those pink and blue knobs, and in the game, I think they helped you get to Millionaire Acres. I don’t think that’s how it works in real life.

      You should have another girl and give her a severely ethnic name to make people wonder.

      1. You could go big, like, Alejandra, Chessa, Euphemia, Teanqi, Minya, Jerusha, Xiang, Caprice, Nefret, Gisela, Yamka, Katarzyna, Chiku, or Mercury.

        Take your pick.

  11. It’s not just a W, it’s a “Curly W,” and as of Sunday, we have a #rallypigeon! Checkout my post from Sunday’s Nats’ game where I talk about margaritas, cornhole, hot dogs, rally pigeon, and Ian Desmond – my current MLB crush!

    1. I stand corrected. Curly W it is! I do believe in the rally pigeon. Especially if he helps the giants lose. I loathe the giants. Maybe more so than the dodgers.

      Ian Desmond, huh? If you look closely at his batting gloves, you can clearly see he’s drawn a tiny heart with a D in it.

      A curly D, even.

  12. Yeah, not a fan of that “W” either. It came out at a time when the whole George “W” thing was rampant. It has a sour taste. And not to mention them losing such great leads as of late! GAH!

    1. NPR had a feature a couple of weeks ago about how everyone in baseball is within reach of the pennant race. “Except, of course,” they said, “the Astros, the Rangers, and the Rockies.” MY Rockies.

      So, I’d love to have a lead to lose late!

  13. Welcome back to Friday questions. My sister has five kids and I have none. That gives our family the old American average of two and a half, which is physically impossible BTW, statisticians, so cut it out.

    I play LIFE with those kids and after a game, anyone would be as traumatized as seeing moths fight. They (the kids) are twisted.

    Yay fall. Yay football. Yay hockey.

    Hope you have a fun weekend.

    1. Thanks – it’s been so long that I actually answered my own kids’ own questions that I was afraid they were going to start asking other kids’ dads. And then I’d have to kick those dads in the throat or take passive-aggressive shots at them.

      I always wondered, what do you do with the .5? Carry it around in a duffle bag? Just leave it at home? Can you click it together with another .5?

      Fall has all that great stuff, even with moths. This could be the Avs’ year. And the Broncos’.

      Have a great weekend too. Let’s hope it lasts as long as a game of Monopoly.

      1. Hmm. That’s an interesting question. Being a Wings fan in Chicago, people seem to think I’m ok unless they are pretending; they do hate my team. They wanted to decorate my office space in black and red with the Hawks logo for my birthday…hmm (I would have found it hilarious).

        I think you’re pretty cool even though I’m strongly not an Avs fan.

      2. I think Black Hawks fans have a tough time masking the hate, don’t they? I think they hate everyone. When a red wings fan co-worker left his work station without locking his computer, I called up the Avs official site for him to come back to.

        Could have been worse. I could have used a little Joe Sakic wallpaper.

        You most definitely are weakening my defenses and hatred for all things red wing. Well, at least off the ice.

  14. 3 kids is enough for me. I’m good. 3 means if they all have a game on the same day at the same time, (which seems improbable, but always seems to happen) we have to pawn one off on a friend. It’s not always easy. And my husband eats all the crusts too.

    1. Three means that those math problems they gave us in school – if Michelle travels west at 45 mph with one kid and her friend Natalie travels south southeast with another kid at 37 mph, how many goals will they score? – happen in real life. My opening weekend, one team plays at 10:30 south of town, and the other at 11 north.

      I might be a blog reader’s Spider Man (kinda), but I can’t even pull that one off..

      *I should write a post about a dad’s resume … pizza-crust duty is standard, isn’t it?

  15. I think we have 11 or 12?? one gets switched up depending on whether you live in Canada…. or le belle province du Quebec. ahem. But you know I got that logo reference anyway.
    We also have one added in February, which is Family Day – and I think that was a great idea. For a stay at home mom who is home everyday with them anyway.
    No trades, or away games played on this turf. 😦

      1. I am normally stuck at home with the kids on Family Day because criminals don’t tend to take such days off “work”, and thus hubby is at work with the car.
        I guess we have some kinks to work out on that holiday. 🙂
        And I still have a tri coloured pennant from the Expos! And, a definite treasure is a signed picture with Gary Carter. 😦

  16. Hubby was ready to be “done” long before I even wanted to consider it…and I’m still not ready…So one day, I plan to use his “I’m done” against him…to get a cat…and make him be nice to it…all the time…! 😉

Say what you need to say

