On the Road Again: This Time, at The Inklings of Life


photo credit: number657 via photopin cc
photo credit: number657 via photopin cc

There’s big stuff, and there’s little stuff.

Not just in cheeseburgers and historical fiction. A lot happens in parenting, and some of it … some of it, even dads can comprehend. There are little things, like the 9-year-old who struts onto the soccer pitch in goalkeeper gear just as she sees her sister do.

There are big things, too. Like when you type in your eighth-grader’s English paper for her at 10:30 p.m. and you recognize her writing voice.

With the big and little, are beginnings and ends. We often lament the ends. We lose things with the ends. No more bedtime stories. No more rear-facing car seats. No more piggyback rides or Garanimals pants or daddy/daughter dances.

Today, I’m at The Inklings of Life, where Morgan, my friend known as The Tatted Mom, has invited me to take part in the Friday Frenzy. I tell a little about the little and the big, from one dad’s view from behind the laptop and from the sideline.

Morgan included a story I told in her book, “Tatted Mom’s Guide to Not Screwing Up Your Kids.” Must reading for all parents. Come check out my piece on the little and big. Be sure to check out the Tatted Mom’s posts, too. You’ll love it there.

children quote

46 thoughts on “On the Road Again: This Time, at The Inklings of Life

    1. Of course Bee does – there’s probably all kinds of images of how cool things are in preschool. What are you going to do when they’re both off to school?

      I really love that quote … it’s just part of the balance we must strike as parents, isn’t it?

  1. Very thoughtful and sweet, and nice to hear from a dad, because sometimes I think moms get all the credit for being thoughtful about the subtle changes in their children. You so eloquently show us that Daddies are watching too. My husband notices as well… last week he said of our 12 year old daughter- “She’s getting curves. I don’t like it.” πŸ˜‰

    1. Oh, we notice too. We notice if our favorite football team changes their uniform style, but we don’t always remember anniversaries or notice when our ladies get a haircut.

      Thanks, Julia. We also notice when men our age at the county fair are eyeballing our teen daughters, and we wonder to ourselves if they’ve ever ridden in an ambulance.

      1. I also love when they could be in a forward-facing car seat. Just the look of wonder on their face. A little fear, too. And dad doesn’t even drive that crazy.

  2. Little legs, soft skin, bright eyes… Haha, you got me!

    Beginnings and endings accompany all the parents I guess. I know I have a hard time with endings, but just the other day a friend posted birthday wishes for her son who turned 13, and she told me what a cool age it is, that they have good conversations, fun and – when nobody is watching – a cuddle. So this gives me hope πŸ™‚

    And for the occasional day we miss the cute baby we once had… There’s still this one, thank you, youtube:

    1. Kind of made me feel old! From the time that child enters this world, the beginnings and endings are underway. I hope that you’re too busy with beginnings to worry much about ends.

      I think dads tend to focus on the beginnings more than ends – but we definitely notice both. Some of us.

      That video is awesome. I wonder if I could get my 16-year-old to laugh like that by ripping paper.

      1. My friend who is about my age went to the farmer’s market this morning, and the carrot girl asked her if she was the Mom or the Grandmom of those adorable toddlers. She was devastated. Lots of people are trying to console her on Facebook as we speak.

        It’s good to notice. Makes us appreciate what we have right now.

        Please try… have Elise sit in front of your camera aka iPhone, rip a piece of paper, and destiny will take care of the rest, hahaha! Don’t forget to post the video…

Say what you need to say

