Guest Post: Felicia of A Red Door Life


stormtrooper Photos  Free Creative Commons & Stock Images for your Blog
photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc

Today’s guest post comes from Felicia, of A Red Door Life.

Felicia is like a lot of you – a busy mom, who relies on her faith and family every day. Her posts cover it all, from how homework sucks to 7 things to do when you feel underappreciated. Her posts will have you nodding in agreement.

She sums it up well on her About page, when she answers the question, why do you blog?

Blogging for me is a journey. I first started this blog as a way to get back in touch with whoI am and to figure out what God wanted out of me in life. Now it’s a way for me to share his love in the day to day moments. As far as niches go I fall into the personal lifestyle blogger. I love to talk about it all (remember I like to ramble), bible studies, cooking, crafting, diy, home making, life, living, and so much more. I post weekly to do list, menu plans, things you should read, and a ton of other things. Really to much to list here. I hope you enjoy your time behind my Red Door and the small peak in my life it brings.

Today, she’s here to talk about lessons she learned from her daughters.

Let’s give Felicia a warm welcome on the CD.

photo credit: emdot via photopin cc
photo credit: emdot via photopin cc

Things I’ve Learned from my Girls

Having girls has taught me so much about my own gender. Weird right? You would think that seeing as how I am female I would know all there is to know about being one. Although I did grow up ‘girl’ it’s still enlightening to watch the process of  going from baby to girl to teen and so on with observers eyes. When we grow up we don’t always get to appreciate the trails we go through. In the thick of it all you can think of is getting older not enjoying the time you have.

I’ve enjoyed the past 12 years of watching my babies become girls and can’t wait to see the transformation continue from girls to young ladies then on to women. Although I would be okay if they just stopped growing right this second.

Here are 10 things that watching my girls have taught me.

1.) Dress your best always. Going to the store? Wear your best high heels that light up and have feathers on them. Taking the dog for a walk? Only the best ball gown, circa Beauty and the Beast, will do.

2.) Tiaras can and should be worn anywhere with everything.

3.) There is strength in silence and sometimes mischief.

photo credit: rachel a. k. via photopin cc
photo credit: rachel a. k. via photopin cc

4.) Wearing your heart on your sleeve may be tough emotionally but it makes you more emotionally aware of others feelings and more compassionate beyond your years.

5.) Fears may not be overrated, ahem, spiders, but you can overcome with them with the right pair of shoes.

6.) There is no such thing as being shy in a group of 20 squealing giggling girls excited about cheer camp.

7.) You can’t fail if you keep practicing.

8.) Never underestimate the power of fluttering eyelashes, ever!

9.) Friends can be made anywhere (grocery store, bathroom, etc…) if you are willing to smile and be polite.

10.) Mercy is ladylike but revenge can be fun, especially against a daddy who stinks up your bathroom.

felicia quote

43 thoughts on “Guest Post: Felicia of A Red Door Life

  1. As a mom to two young girls, you said this quite perfectly. I grew up more girly girl then most, but still learning so much about girls from watching my own two grow up right before my eyes. So, definitely couldn’t agree more about that.

  2. I’ve only got a boy to contend with, but I liked seeing how parts of this list may apply to him. Switch out “tiara” for “superhero cape” and you have an essential part of his wardrobe every day up until Kindergarten. Then it moved to weekend-wear only 🙂

    1. That’s one of my favorites also, and the one that reading still makes me tear up. My oldest is so tenderhearted that it worries my at times but seeing how she relates to others because of it makes me proud.

    1. Aw, thank you Meredith. I hope to be more active in the next few days. Giving the good old writing battery a recharge.

      I am glad you liked this piece though, it’s been one of my favorite guest posts to do so far.

  3. As the mother of two girls and one boy, I have to say, having two girls did NOT equate to a tidy bedroom in any shape or form. However, my son kept his room as neat as a pin and changed the furniture around every few weeks. They’re all Grups now and my son is still a neat freak — which comes in handy now that he’s in the navy. Now I have nine grandchildren – six girls and three boys. LOL revenge is sweet when your oldest granddaughter is every bit as messy as her mother was. It drives her mother mad 😀
    Sounds like a blog I’d enjoy; I’d best pay a visit 😉

    1. Oh Lyn I feel you. I’ve just about given up on having their shared bedroom clean, like ever. I’d say it be better if they were separated but I know better than that. I remember my own disaster of a room all to well. I can only hope that their children (way down the future line) can show them how much fun it is.

      I would love to see you over at the blog, I’ve been on a bit of a battery recharge break the past week but hope to be back full force Sunday! Till then feel free to look around and grab my rss feed for your inbox that way when I do start back up you won’t miss it.

  4. It’s nice to appreciate the kids growing up. I have a teen daughter, and she can really test my patience (usually on purpose), but she’s my beauty and joy too, and like you, I’m loving every step along the way. 🙂

  5. Nice to meet you Felicia. Girls sound like fun! I am surrounded by smelly, rowdy boys! All boys – all brothers, all nephews. Sigh. I do wear a tiara though to make up for it and stay somewhat girly.

  6. Nice meeting you, Felicia!
    Personal Lifestyle Blogger – that is a great category!
    Oh, and light up shoes are the coolest! If I could go back to be a little girl I would want a pair of those 🙂
    Now tell us more about the big bathroom revenge!!!

  7. There is strength in silence and sometimes in mischief. Love it! I can’t imagine having a girl. At least now.. because I only have a boy and he’s teaching to be a toughie!! LOL

  8. I was quite the tom-boy, so watching my two girls – especially playing dress up – is really cool. They are much more “girlie” than I was, but they also seem to have a confidence at a younger age that I did not. And yes, we were tiaras Just Because! 🙂

    1. Have they ever dressed you up, Rore? And don’t you love to see confidence in your kids? I didn’t always have that.

      Never worn the tiara – but I did used to wear Robin Hood-style hat. In high school, even.

      1. I don’t think I blogged about it — I had a year off at some point. probably because my head hurt. but I did Instagram a pic — you can’t really tell in it, but the cheeks are very “pink blossom”, the lips are very much “cherry red”… and there is glitter… lots of glitter on my eyes. but the hair…. ouch!

Say what you need to say

