Our Family Stories, in 6 Words


photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc
photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc

Not a single F-bomb in the list.

When I tossed out this month’s prompt for 6 Words, I felt sure someone would include a little blue language. A dammit or a hell at the least. A !@#$! at most. But – no. Can you believe it? This crowd? (Two of you did mention farts, though.)

Every month, I compile a post called 6 Words. Ernest Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in a six-word sentence. I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt.

November is Families Stories Month. What would the title of your family story be, in six words? Think serious, silly, sad, sarcastic … any mood, as long as it’s six words!

The results? Some of these need to be penned and printed so they can shoot up the best-seller list.

What about you? What would your family story be – in six words?

photo credit: psd via photopin cc
photo credit: psd via photopin cc

1. Passive Aggressive For The Children’s Sake.

Stephanie J., of When Crazy Meets Exhaustion blog

2. Unique Whirlwind, Crammed Together, Immensely Blessed.

Jaime C., of The Fruitful Mama blog

3. Long Walks, Big Words, and Absurdities.

Jennifer L., of That’s a Jenn Story blog

4. All Crazy, in Their Unique Ways.

Jon H., of Brother Jon’s Page blog

5. Four Waiting Impatiently For Answers, Fifth.

Kim, of Protean Mom blog

6. Who Put that in the Toilet?

Gina V., of The Glamorous Life of the Modern Day Soccer Mom blog

photo credit: Nottingham Vet School via photopin cc
photo credit: Nottingham Vet School via photopin cc

7. The Time Husband Decided to Bee-Keep.

Meredith S., of The Mom of the Year blog

8. Not What We Planned…Something Better.

Lisa, of The Meaning of Me blog

9. We Think Fart Jokes are Hilarious.

Gina T., of Full of It … blog

10. If The Middle met Modern Family.

Delia J., of Confessions of a Semi-Domesticated Mama blog

11. Through Laughter and Tears, Always Proud.

Karen, of Baking in a Tornado blog

12. Very Chaotic But Full of Love!

Kerri H., of Momma of 3 Cutiez blog

photo credit: camknows via photopin cc
photo credit: camknows via photopin cc

13. A Southern Meal to Never Forget.

Tammy, of My Life Abundant blog

14. The Story of Why I Drink…

Sara L., of Sweet Silly Sara blog

15. Horseback Riding Through The Autumn Trees.

Christina C., of Exhale Joy blog

16. Close Foursome Disorganized and Crazy Busy.

Kristi M., of Mom’s Own Words blog

17. Living, laughing, Loving: Fart Jokes Help.

Rory, of Time Out for Mom blog

18. Up Too  Late, Laughing Too Loudly.

Dorreen A., of Mother Hen Diaries blog

photo credit: Nick Winterhalter via photopin cc
photo credit: Nick Winterhalter via photopin cc

19. Imagine Cinderella Hadn’t Lost Her Shoe?

Serins, of Serinsphere blog

20. Blood, Sweat, Tears: Nothing on Us!

Allie B., of Vita Train for {Twin} Life blog

21. Preparing For Three to Become Four.

Holly C., of Simplify Create Inspire blog

22. Quirky and Comprised of Unique Characters.

Kelly M., of Just Typikel blog

23. Was Three, Now two, Much Happier.

Raine V., of Pursuit of Peace blog

24. we survived in spite of ourselves.

beth k., of i didn’t have my glasses on … blog

photo credit: Francis Storr via photopin cc
photo credit: Francis Storr via photopin cc

25. Misadventures in Assembling Love/Hate Relationships.

Jennifer S., of The Art of Better blog

26. Fun Together Time With the Turners.

Kim T., of Day with KT blog

27. Leaving the World a Better Place.

Tricia P., of Raising Humans blog

28. How Not to Raise a Child.

Stephanie-May, of Darky Blue blog

29. We Love Soccer, Sarcasm, and Psych.

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd blog

30. Ups and Downs and All Arounds.

Arlene, of Flour on My Face blog

photo credit: HShapiro via photopin cc
photo credit: HShapiro via photopin cc

31. A Little Dark Humor Never Hurts.

Cassandra, of The Next Delusion blog

32. Tease, Amuse, Tease, Insult, Rinse, Repeat.

Momus, of The Next Delusion blog

33. Laughter Makes Rough Paths Smooth, Sometimes.

Tracie N., of From Tracie blog

34. I’m Aunie. This is The Sauce.

Aunie R., of Aunie Sauce blog

35. Movies, Music, Fun, Nature, Adventures, Awesome.

Megan B., author of Super Commuter Couples

36. Weird, Weird, Weird, Weird, Weird, Weird.

Jennifer S., of Jenn’s Midlife Crisis blog

young love
photo credit: .craig via photopin cc

 37. Young Love Creates Positively Quirky Family.

Amethyst, of Life Music Laughter blog

38. The Goldbergs Minus the 80s now.

Janine H., of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic blog

39. A Mixed Bag of Loving Nuts.

Naila M., of Just the Stuff Ya Know blog

40. My Family, Told By the Cat.

Mark R., of Chronicles From the Man Cave blog

41. Love Hard and Drive Everyone Crazy.

Tammie B., of The Graying Chronicles blog

42. Mama’s Tribal Life’s Drama Continues On …

Marie M., of Xmas Dolly blog

photo credit: stavos via photopin cc
photo credit: stavos via photopin cc

43. Fire in the Hole – KAAA BOOOM!

Lyn, of The Call of the Pen blog

44. Cherish Important Lessons Taught By Children.

Jodi, of The Noise of Boys blog

45. When In Doubt, Laugh It Out.

Kristen, of Bye Bye Beer blog

46. Why Mom Fired the Babysitter, Again.

Joyce L., of Catch My Words blog

47.  A Gamer’s Paradise, My Family Is.

Kisma, of Kisma’s Life blog

48. Too Much Estrogen for Dad’s Liking.

Louise H., of Baby Gates Down blog

photo credit: TruShu via photopin cc
photo credit: TruShu via photopin cc

49. Chaotic Imaginative Funny Eclectic Dorks: Blessed.

Stacy of Stacy Uncorked blog

50. We Think We’re Superheroes, Don’t We?

Tamara B., of Tamara Like Camera blog

51. Laughing, loving, fun filled and grateful.

Tammy A., of My Life Abundant blog

52. My Big, Loud, and Loving Family.

Nicki L., of Lewis Lane Designs blog

53. Lucky I Have a Bathroom Drawer.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy blog

family quote

68 thoughts on “Our Family Stories, in 6 Words”

    1. Insanity, more like. Glad you liked it, Kelly. Maybe these titles are like good books, in that they say something different to you every time you get through them.

      Or maybe they’ll become great titles of great books.

      Next month’s topic will be determined tomorrow … Next month always starts the day after the last one. I’ll count you in!

  1. Trusting my last comment didn’t go through. What a hoot of a collection of families. I’m off to reread them. Again. What’s the topic for next month Eli? I’m in. And yes you are lucky to have a bathroom drawer. I’m lucky to have a bathroom door but that’s beside the point.

    1. I get that mixed bag of nuts feeling, too.

      No, I keep manly things in there, like razors, Ibuprofen and deodorant. It’s so manly in there it smells like wood chips and motor oil.

    1. These could fill up a bookshelf and tell so many tales, couldn’t they Allie? I’m sure a few four-letter words will crop up for you. I promise you that.

      So glad to have you back in!

  2. What a great lineup! As always, these never fail to make me smile. Every family, it seems, does its own weird dance at parties. Lucky for us there aren’t cameras rolling. Well, not usually… 😀 Great post, Eli!

  3. Telling you that you and Kevin would be fast friends and he says the same thing about his bathroom drawers or lack thereof! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family now, Eli and thank you for including me here once again 🙂

    1. We just want someplace for our razors and aftershave. And toenail clippers. You don’t want to know what else lives there. But you’ll be glad it does.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, too Janine – a holiday with copious food, no work and lots of football. I guess it’s a’ight.

  4. This is such a great writing challenge, and I love seeing how other people approach it. My favorites are “Who put that in the toilet” and “The time husband decided to beekeep” – those sentences imply a bigger story, just waiting to be told. Thanks for including me; I would love to do this again. Very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. 🙂

    1. You get the prompt in a vacuum, really, submit it, and then wait to see what everyone else did in their vacuum. E-Hem was onto something, wasn’t he?

      It’s about the stories … and don’t you just want to know more when you see something like that? Send me an email in the next couple of days for the next prompt.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, and enjoy the start of soccer offseason. It doesn’t last long!

  5. People have a soft spot for their families, hence the lack of curse words, lol. Joyce’s made me laugh!! I forgot about this because it was in my Twitter feed, then I saw Kristi’s shout out on her blog today to come take a look. These are great as usual, and now I’m here to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

    1. I think you’re right – when it comes down to it, it’s all about love. Joyce had a classic among other classics. What would yours be, Rosey? This month came and went too fast.

      I’ll have to check Kristi’s shout-out. I always appreciate when bloggers like you get on board and share with your great communities, too.

      Happy Thanksgiving, Rosey! I’m quite thankful for you.

      1. What would mine be… hmm…I guess it would be the end of that old saying, “Together we really have it all.” Never mind that the beginning of that (also true, lol) says ‘we may not have it all together,’ hahahaha

        We did have a great holiday, I hope you had the same!

      2. That’s a great one, Rosey. The first part goes without saying, doesn’t it?

        I seriously didn’t eat much on Thanksgiving, which is strange for a foodie. It’s like a witch forgetting about Oct. 31.

  6. Some of these have me wondering about the stories that inspired those six words…

    Any of y’all ever blog about the story behind your six word story? Curious ginger wants more details 🙂

    1. I like the way you think Kim – if anyone has a link to a post about their sentence, put it in a comment.

      If you haven’t written about it yet, what are you waiting for? Instant prompt.

      You’re welcome.

    1. Thanks Kerri – it’s a feast for the funny bone. That sounded better in my head than in real life.

      I feel like any of these contributors could have gone down the fart path if they really applied themselves.

  7. Oh these are wonderful, Eli! I just love these six words challenges.
    I have to go back and look at them again so I can click over to the blogs. ProteanMom’s question about posts that tell the six-word stories is a great one!

    1. Glad you like them, Lisa. This one felt right going into Thanksgiving. You’ll find some great reading here if you click the blog links, for sure.

      I hope we’ll get to see posts about these titles, too – Kim had a great idea. She should get $5 per. Or a box of cookies. Maybe even both.

  8. I would have loved to have used the word farts in mine, but my family just isn’t very gassy. Which is weird. Like.. not even the pets! Oh wait! Bella the cat. The only one.
    Moving on…
    Glad you have that bathroom drawer. Glad people think fart jokes are funny too.

    1. Maybe it’ll develop over time, Tamara. I’ve never heard of cat farts. Is that a thing, really?

      So far, no one objects to what’s in my drawers. Or to the fart-joke references.

      So far.

    1. Glad you liked them Jenn. Definitely worth a second look, and a few clicks – you might find a new blog or two to read.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you too – but wasn’t your Thanksgiving like, in June?

    1. Glad you joined us for this one, Jodi. Here’s to many more? I need to come up with the next prompt today.

      As a guy who is too short to be a stormtrooper (I suspect your son is, too), I always appreciate a good stormtrooper pic. (Most of mine come from Photopin.com, but I also keep three stormtroopers in my bag for photo ops!)

  9. Ok this list was awesome to read ! Really enjoyed this six words challenge Eli. “Who Put that in the Toilet?” is my favorite too 🙂

  10. I thought I was following you. I wonder what happened, glad I saw another post leading me here. Great family stories. My favorites are 6 and 36 – Who Put that in the Toilet? and wierd 🙂

    1. All who are lost will be found, right? Not that you were lost. It’s good to connect again. We needed you for this one, to put “toilet” and “weird” in the same sentence.

    1. Glad you liked them, Michelle. Although some would say a screen shot is better than printing out. Thanksgiving was good, but I had two small chunks of turkey, that’s it.

      How does that happen?

  11. I have to ask, does Ernest Hemingway follow you on Twitter? I randomly once tweeted a Hemingway quote and was suddenly (posthumously) followed by someone claiming to be the bull-fight loving master of all things manly. It appealed to my sense of the absurd so every now and then I throw a reference to Hemingway into the Twitterverse to see what happens… and about to do it now.

    Sorry for delayed response – love the post! And thank you so much for including me – it’s appreciated. You pull these together brilliantly. And not one F-bomb. Just speaks to the great company you obviously keep 🙂

    1. I don’t think Ernie follows me. You know how it is with we bull-fighting masters of all things manly. (Or bullshitting bastards who want to feel manly, as might be my case).

      I’m going to cast the line, though, you know. See if he bites. I’d love to have a drink or two with the guy. Along with a coaching session with John Wooden and a pizza with Jennifer Lawrence, those would experiences I’d love to have.

      So glad you’re in this one too, Louise. It’s a month-long effort, but lots of fun to reach out to bloggers I love (although I don’t get to all of them I’d love to every time).

Say what you need to say

