On the Road Again: This Time, at Just Typikel


photo credit: VeronicaSheppard via photopin cc
photo credit: VeronicaSheppard via photopin cc

Can you help a daddy out?

We could use a helping hand. I’ve been fortunate. Co-workers banded together to cover my shifts so I could visit my dad at Duke Hospital. A woman bought my Coke Zero and ginger snaps at CVS when my debit card didn’t work.

A blogger friend sent me an iPhone 4 when my flip phone took all ill-fated dive into a cup of vanilla yogurt.

At least I should return the favor to the universe every once in a while. It doesn’t take a Rockerfeller to pay it forward. Hold a door, or an umbrella. Bring a friend a meal, or a movie. It’s as easy as a smile; it’s finding a way to trek that extra mile.

It’s okay if it’s not even Christmas, even if the best stories come from the season.

Last week, I shared my own Christmas helper story on the Just Typikel blog. Kelly McKenzie writes there. She tells tales of two children, who’ve since flown the coop. But the stories remain.

She raised her children on her own after her husband died. She finds herself in post-worthy situations, and weaves a beautifully compelling tale about it all.

Visit me at Just Typikel as I tell the story of the first Christmas tree I brought home as a father – and how one humble man in a farmer’s market made it possible.

ghandi kindness quote

11 thoughts on “On the Road Again: This Time, at Just Typikel

    1. Thanks Nicki. The best part was I didn’t see it coming, at all. Definitely comes to mind if I ever get a chance to do something kind for someone.

      Thank you also for the kind words. Look forward to reading you too!

  1. Loved that story, Eli. And I spent about five full minutes trying to figure out why I knew it already – because I saw it there first. Love Kelly’s blog and have been reading over there thanks to finding her here!

Say what you need to say

