On the Road Again: This Time, at Homemaking With Style


photo credit: #110/366 Through The Hole via photopin (license)
photo credit: #110/366 Through The Hole via photopin (license)

The middle kid gets hosed.

There’s even a syndrome for it – Middle Child Syndrome. It’s the law of nature that states a middle child shall never be first. She’s never the oldest, and never the baby. She winds up with a lower jelly-bean count on Easter morning. Middle girl wears the hand-me-downs.

It’s a hard-knock life.

The middle child begins as the second child, the girl who changes a dad’s life forever.

Today, I’m at Brittnei’s site, Homemaking With Style. You might remember her for a guest post on the CD called “If I had a daughter.” You want to write a guest post for me titled “How I won the lottery”? Brittney became a mom of two just a week ago. Guess what to?

Yep. A girl.

It’s both long ago and just yesterday I became dad of two. “You’re so tiny,” I’d tell Marie. “And you’re mostly hair.” The journey has been remarkable. It’s an emerging personality all her own – made of dresses and tiaras. It progressed to scarves and soccer cleats.

Come check it out, and stick around to read Brittnei’s blog.

brittnei-quote

 

26 Replies to “On the Road Again: This Time, at Homemaking With Style”

  1. Beautifully said Eli and will tell you that I worried going from one to two about how my heart could love more then one, but it is amazing how our hearts just grow and expand that much more to envelope all our kids in love.

  2. I was (am) third in line of four. Third girl. The fourth was a fella. Can you imagine the two faces that must have greeted me at the moment I first drew breath. I swear I heard them say, “Hey, how bout that. It’s a girl … again.”
    There were times when my mother would turn to me and ask, “Did I remember to feed you today?”
    Lovely post as usual, Mr. Pacheco. 😉

    1. So does that make two middle kids, or none? Maybe they were done with girls after you.

      Better than … “aw, man.” Or is it?

      If I were you, I’d have said ‘no’ just to get extra vittles. Glad you enjoyed it, SS.

  3. Wonderful post, E!
    I am convinced that I remember the day my baby brother joined us. I was 3 myself, and I’m probably wrong about that memory, but I can still recall the excitement. Until I saw how tiny he was, and that he couldn’t even play, hahaha!
    He had no hair! Then again, he remained the second and last baby of the family.

    1. Thanks T! I have really early memories too, mostly feelings. To a big brother or sister, a baby just isn’t cooked enough for practical use right away.

      My girls were born with hair to envy.

      1. We’re both independent, competitive, focused, and loyal. And we have to work at not envying our doted-over siblings (whom we secretly believe have suffered damage for their extra privileges). 😉

Say what you need to say

