A to Z Challenge: V is for Vertigo


photo credit: ( Maybe He Won't Notice ) via photopin (license)
photo credit: ( Maybe He Won’t Notice ) via photopin (license)

The thought of it sent my head spinning.

CD az challengeFor the A to Z Challenge today, V is for Vertigo. The past two years, that’s what I thought I’d get if I accepted the A to Z Challenge. Post, every day? On every letter? And read five post on other blogs – every day? That’s my inner ear turning salchows on my cerebellum.

But here I am, dizzy as hell, but sitting on V.

Ouch.

It’s been an incredible adventure. Thank you for sticking around. I haven’t answered email and comments very quickly since April 1. Regular farm-fresh blogging three times a week will be easy as Sunday morning. So will some welcome visits to your blogs!

Down the stretch I come, with a second edition of “I believe.” What do you believe? Share it in comments!

EP
EP

1. I believe when kids curse, it’s funnier than grownups falling down. Only slightly.

2. I believe fathering daughters isn’t always easy. My smiles aren’t reciprocated. A dad must believe his mission is the most important thing he’ll ever do, though.

3. I believe snow days shouldn’t be scheduled. They should always be on God’s shuffle for the Carolinas.

4. I believe fish hooks eventually dissolve in fish. I really do.

5. I believe the first thing is love, isn’t it? We don’t need religion for that.

6. I believe kids should come with eating profiles. They should wear these around their necks so we parents can keep it straight.

photo credit: Corn Flakes model via photopin (license)
photo credit: Corn Flakes model via photopin (license)

7. I believe corn flakes should exist solely for chicken breading and casseroles.

8. I believe in love, peace and Frosted Flakes.

9. I believe when someone we love overcomes an obstacle, it gives us strength to take on our own hurdles.

10. I believe I’m most comfortable, for better or worse, in the mom blogger department. I tried the dads, and didn’t fit. At least here, I can be a guppy among angelfish.

11. I believe I’d be happiest in a room with lots of windows and snacks where I could write. There’d be lots of love and room for everyone.

12. I believe tofu to be a horrible contradiction to my carnivorous core.

photo credit: Sleep Like A Baby via photopin (license)
photo credit: Sleep Like A Baby via photopin (license)

13. I believe there are few accomplishments as gratifying as coaxing your baby to sleep in your arms.

14. I believe R2-D2 T-shirts should come in men’s sizes, suction-cup toothbrushes should come in man-sized, too.

15. I believe playing hockey and being a boy are both hard work.

16. I believe there are different ways to motivate. But the key is to make a child believe their participation and progress is their choice.

17. I believe Mr. Blue Sky doesn’t answer all of life’s questions, but it puts fatherhood into perspective for me. That’s better than all the answers.

18. I believe when I misplace stuff, like my phone or glasses or back scratcher, it’s best to look in a spot next to something I’ve picked up to eat.

photo credit: figma 039 Sygnum via photopin (license)
photo credit: figma 039 Sygnum via photopin (license)

19. I believe it’s a big deal when the ponytail does great things, and although we should wish that it wouldn’t matter, I’m glad that it does.

20. I believe no matter how we feel we might struggle as parents, if we’re tuned in to our kids, we’re doing vast amounts of good.

21. I believe it’s cool to hear my daughter sing songs my dad introduced me to.

22. I believe if you buy loud and horrible toys for someone else’s kids, it’s the equivalent of lofting that first nuclear missile.

23. I believe as kids get older, you gravitate toward cheap food, in bulk. Frozen waffles, chicken nuggets, stuff like that. It’s like feeding lions at the zoo.

24. I believe recipes that call for egg whites aren’t fit to be fixed, let alone pinned. Take the whole egg, or nothing at all.

photo credit: NY jets #4 FAVRE green jersey via photopin (license)
photo credit: NY jets #4 FAVRE green jersey via photopin (license)

25. I believe it’s tough to be a kid and an NFL fan in the free-agent era. You must go through many jerseys.

26. I believe in sparkle.

27. I believe in the beauty in a woman’s strength, and strength in a woman’s beauty.

28. I believe the best way to a BS-free perspective is to see life through a kid’s eyes.

29. I believe there are only eight or 10 traditional toppings acceptable on a pizza. This makes me a pizza purist, I realize.

30. I believe when things get tense with my older girls’ teams, it will always do my heart good to watch the littles play on a Saturday morning. It reminds me of where it all starts.

photo credit: the rainbow heritage dahlia : painting, scott richard, san francisco (2014) via photopin (license)
photo credit: the rainbow heritage dahlia : painting, scott richard, san francisco (2014) via photopin (license)

31. I believe we’re never too young – or old – for art and soccer.

32. I believe all yoga sessions should end with cheese fries.

33. I believe dads have a chance to be a hero, but not every day. Every day, though, we have a chance to make a difference.

34. I believe life is a full-contact sport.

35. I believe no matter how far involvement in sports takes you, it should always, at its core, be a game kids would love.

36. I believe all parents should get a bucket of Kids & Pets when they leave the maternity ward. Or at least make it the staple of all baby shower gifts.

photo credit: Pancakes, Bacon, Egg via photopin (license)
photo credit: Pancakes, Bacon, Egg via photopin (license)

37. I believe breakfast for dinner is one of God’s greatest creations.

38. I believe the foreign words with the most utility are bad words and food.

39. I believe Winnie the Pooh is right up there with Radar O’Reilly and Beaver Cleaver for words of wisdom.

40. I believe I’ve never understood the thought that the truth will set us free as much as I do now.

41. I believe writing is like a sneeze – if you hold it in, you might bust something.

42. I believe I’ll never run out of stuff to write. Finding time to write when I’m not falling asleep on the keyboard? That’s the challenge.

belief 2 quote

31 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge: V is for Vertigo

  1. I can’t believe there are only 4 more posts left for this A-Z challenge. It’s gone so fast! You’ve imparted so much wisdom through them – and given us barrels of laughs 🙂

    1. It has both gone fast and has lasted forever, Lyn. I’m so glad you enjoyed the ride, and I’m going to break down the good and bad for the Z post.

      Soon as I can find a fitting Z word for it.

    1. I would definitely wear an R2-D2 shirt. If more of us men wore them, they’d become universal. Not that a man who would wear an R2-D2 shirt would worry about things like being universal.

      1. You’re always welcome. Somehow I’ve been finding plenty of time to blog despite the fact that I’m finishing up my senior year of college (I blame it on stress and procrastination), so I’ve been having new material going up quite regularly!

    1. It’s worn me out and makes me feel far from the reading I love to do. I feel like if you took all the lines I’ve written about pizza, it could make a post.

      Hey wait … that’s a great idea …

      Happy Monday to you. Even though it’s now Wednesday!

  2. You made some great points there and I wish you a Happy May 4th for earlier in the week and if you don’t know what that means, you don’t deserve an R2D2 shirt in an adult size.
    The Thoreau quote is fabulous but difficult to live by, xx Rowena

    1. Oh, I’m full aware of what the day means … Darth Vader presides of my desk at work, stormtroopers dominate my lead art and I know the full story about R5-D4.

      The degree of difficulty in Thoreau’s quote is the beauty of it.

  3. I believe life is a grand adventure, and the secret to living it that way is to never lose your sense of Awe. I believe gratitude should be our Daily Bread. And I believe that we must always stand strong for what we believe, and when others push and pull, like Captain America says — “no, you move.”

    1. Sometimes your sense of awe gets dimmed and lustered, so what do you do then? Gratitude isn’t a bad place to start.

      We could learn much from the good captain, Rore.

Say what you need to say

