I believe … part III


photo credit: Waiting for the delay ship. via photopin (license)
photo credit: Waiting for the delay ship. via photopin (license)

So much to believe in.

Some of it is colossal – like politics and religion and which state makes the best barbecue. Some of it might seem trivial – like politics, religion, and whether the designated hitter has a place in baseball.

I’ve started to listen to myself, and examine some of those beliefs.

I’ll keep them tidy in a Word document until I have 42. Then I’ll post them together and see what kind of picture it paints. It might or might not even look like how you see me or how it looked the last time I did it.

What do you believe?

photo credit: pearls-blog-world-goes-on via photopin (license)
photo credit: pearls-blog-world-goes-on via photopin (license)

I believe posting isn’t even half of blogging.

I believe reading you’re not required to do is always the sweetest read.

I believe there’s nothing like day baseball to appeal to the boys in us. Watching a game instead of sitting in school or work? Yes, every time.

I believe awesomely ridiculous is 99% of the time the best possible outcome.

I believe it’s impossible to go wrong with zest and provolone. By zest, I don’t mean the soap.

I believe two things are sure to make a guy cry: A swift kick where it counts, and his favorite baseball team, eventually.

photo credit: Clay Balls 5-28-09 IMG_4360 via photopin (license)

I believe a little donkey dies every time I get store-bought tortillas.

I believe exploration is as much about thought and writing as it is maps and telescopes. Maybe more.

I believe kids rock. So do their mamas.

I believe serendipitous zest is the best, even as grownups.

I believe sometimes my orbit gets wide, but it always makes its way back.

I believe I don’t love the problems of being a dad, but I love being able to have the problems of being a dad.

photo credit: Eeyore Warms Up @ The Grizz Game. University of Montana, Missoula, Montana via photopin (license)
photo credit: Eeyore Warms Up @ The Grizz Game. University of Montana, Missoula, Montana via photopin (license)

I believe I’m a jumbled mess but comfortable in my own Play-Doh container.

I believe it doesn’t matter what time it is when it comes to good food.

I believe a heart cannot be too full of joy.

I believe “dreamer” is the one designation of me that catches the most thorns in the world.

I believe parenthood wrinkles our face and bends our spine, but I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I believe so much of what a girl becomes as a woman comes from within, but it’s our jobs as dads to protect it and not mess it up along the way.

GP

I believe kids watch so much more of what we do as parents than listen to what we say.

I believe a smile is just a nudge away from a laugh.

I believe a mom with kids in the cart and smiles to match is the best thing I can see in a grocery store. Besides 2-for-1 specials on Frosted Flakes or Provolone cheese, of course.

I believe if we can blow a little carbon out of our brains with a bit of challenging read now and then, our engines run smoother.

I believe Yoda could kick a coyote’s ass.

I believe when you’re mentioned in the same breath as a Colorado omelet, that’s good stuff right there. Real good stuff.

I believe fire-building is part of boyhood – like baseball, pimples and the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue.

EP
EP

I believe I’m far from a great dad, but I do put my heart into it. And that’s not an attempt to fish for compliments, so let’s not comment on this one.

I believe breakfast out seems like such an exotic experience right now.

I believe given the choice of spending a whole day colored blue like a Smurf or feeling blue all day, I’d pick the first one. (The second one can happen any day, all on its own.) It would help if it was also game day for a team with blue as the primary color. (Or the opponent. I can live dangerously.)

I believe there’s always room for a little more mayhem.

I believe we fellas become better partners when we listen rather than hear.

I believe I might never be ready to celebrate my style, but I’m awfully good at tolerating it.

my girls 2

I believe every day with my girls is awesome – even the unawesome ones.

I believe all brainstorm sessions should include waffle talk.

I believe the Colorado Rockies are a big reason I drink tequila.

I believe if a boy is unkind to one of my girls, I’ll be on them like they were an Imperial commander behind schedule on the Death Star.

I believe youth sports teach parents as much as it teaches kids.

I believe the universe makes dusk so beautiful so we’ll have it to go by through the night.

EP
EP

I believe if something’s fun and I get fed – I’m in.

I believe it’s not easy to remember soccer balls when you’re stuffing animal crackers into your pockets before practice.

I believe there’s no more abominable a creature at times than the sideline soccer parent, spitting venom at a teenage referee.

I believe goofy is good stuff.

I believe we all alter each other’s trajectory just a bit, don’t we?

I believe we need music on Mondays more than perhaps any other day of the week. Except for possibly Wednesday.

i believe 5 quote

34 Replies to “I believe … part III”

  1. What a thoughtful, inspiring piece, Eli. This sort of reminds me of the Savage Garden song “Affirmation.” Every line is a different belief, mantra, value, etc. And I totally agree with the music on Monday idea. I’m listening to some right now, actually!

    As for something I believe in? The first thing that comes to mind is, “I believe that if you put your heart and soul into something, you will ultimately succeed with it.” 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sara. I just checked out those lyrics – love the idea. Music on Monday is the kindling we need to start the week.

      I believe when you put your heart and soul into something, you’re right – it will succeed. Part of that is that by putting in our heart and soul, we redefine what we consider success.

  2. i believe that these are incredibly awesome beliefs. power on, eli! yes to mayhem, daytime baseball, daughters, modeling, and good and bad days.

    1. thanks beth. they’re revealed in comments, blurts and other forms of communication. i think you can have modeling and mayhem with your daughters watching day baseball – whether or not the home team wins.

  3. I’ve had three non-awesome days in a row of parenting, but you’re right, even they are awesome.
    I’m talking potty-training shut-ins here. Some people should be so lucky if that’s our non-awesome.
    I would absolutely paint myself blue for a day, but I read a lot of X-Men as a kid.. so…

    1. Those are rough streaks, aren’t they Tamara? Those are days I think we should switch kids and confuse the hell out of them. It might just work.

      Potty-training is no joke. It 100% lives up to the name.

      X-men blue is better than smurfette blue.

  4. Love your list and your heart. Your bottom quote was profoundly needed today-you might find out why on Thursday. Esp. appreciated the one: I believe if a boy is unkind to one of my girls, I’ll be on them like they were an Imperial commander behind schedule on the Death Star” b.c I just wrote about shopping with Dad on Friday and Star Wars on Monday…both epic topics! Blessings Eli!

  5. This is truly a fabulous list Eli. I kept saying yes, yes, yes. But I think my favorite that I particularly identify with at the moment is: “I believe sometimes my orbit gets wide, but it always makes its way back.” That’s the most way I’ve ever heard it expressed.

    1. Thank you, Deborah. They’re just those fleeting beliefs in conversation and comments and emails that, when pieced together, kind of make an outline of me.

      So glad the orbit belief resonated with you. I’ve felt it a lot lately, in particular.

  6. Oh my, I would need 500 words just to start expressing how much I love your list. My favorite has to be “I believe I don’t love the problems of being a dad, but I love being able to have the problems of being a dad.”… Change dad for mom and I’m right there with you.

  7. This is gravy on my mashed potatoes. Great way to end my day. Second to kissing my kids and wife good night, naturally. I can relate to 99% of them. As I’ve never had homemade tortillas, only store bought ones, many donkeys passed away. Could Yoda use the Jedi mind trick on a coyote? I’m not sure it would work.

    1. Thanks Eric. You’re awesome. Hey, if I can take second to that top group, it’s a good day for me. I think you and I are a lot alike.

      My heritage and knowledge of how to make tortillas by scratch sets the expectation.

      I imagine Yoda would try mind tricks first, but if that didn’t work, the light saber would come out and he jump off walls to get the job done.

Say what you need to say

