Not a Guest Post, but 11 More Smartphone Photos


photo credit: IMG_0477 via photopin (license)
photo credit: IMG_0477 via photopin (license)

I have a really cool guest post coming for you from a sportswriter friend of mine who happens to love soccer more than I do. It’s still baking, though. For now, let’s go with 11 smartphone photos again, shall we?

I did it by random again, no matter how embarrassing it might be – to me or the girls! So here we go.

11 one

My girls get to come with me for the Carolina Panthers’ annual Fan Fest – a scrimmage and autograph opportunity at Bank of America Stadium. From left, here’s Panthers defensive tackle Kewann Short, Grace, Marie and Elise.


11 two

Grace played a wolf in her school’s production of “Jungle Book” in the spring. They got to attend a theater workshop in uptown Charlotte, and really killed it! She’s in the front row, looking like she’s lighting a cigarette. (She’s not.)


11 threeSometimes, the kids make something cute as hell, you know? So you hang onto it for eternity. Or, when you just have to let it go. I think Grace made this masterpiece. It’s forever in my heart.

11 fourGrace and I prove that you can’t make delicious without a mess.

11 five

Grace, with a huge moose in a barbecue joint in Asheville. We love that town. It’s where Elise was born.


11 six

The girls won’t like this at all. They made this montage of their most serious faces. It’s on my home screen. One of Grace’s classmates saw it when I was lunch dad, and Grace was kind of mortified. Sorry, kid.


11 seven

This is what happens when you’re waiting for your cheese enchiladas to come out and you’ve forgotten your origami paper to make jumping frogs to keep the kids occupied. Oh, and you’re out of queso.


11 eight

Grace loves to choreograph some of my stormtrooper shots. I can’t even remember the post this outtake came from. But he’s wearing Snow White’s dress and has that comic symbol for frustration above him.


11 nine

Marie confirms that you can’t have delicious without messy.

11 ten

Marie, left, poses with the conference champion’s trophy. The game was delayed more than an hour because the other team went to the wrong field. Then got a flat tire. This is Marie’s final game with her middle school team.


11 elevenMore Marie! This is from her post-graduation lunch at Hawthorne’s Pizza. I might or might not have avoided dripping pizza sauce on this nice white shirt. This means I’ll have two kids in high school in a week. Sheesh.


Which picture was your favorite?

photo quote

38 thoughts on “Not a Guest Post, but 11 More Smartphone Photos”

  1. All of them for different reasons, but if I had to pick one, it would be the stormtrooper…bc hilarious, and perfect if Star Wars became a ballet or an opera.

      1. I’m sure, with all that Vader bidding in Snow White’s attire….Grace is hilarious.

        Marie looks so much like you. You both have kindness in your eyes. Hi Elise…

      2. I love to give Grace a photo assignment for a blog post. Don’t let Marie hear you say she looks like me! Although she wouldn’t mind the bit about kindness. Elise says hi.

    1. He’s having a day, that’s for sure. I think Fan Fest would have been a perfect date. It was especially fun for my girls, because they got to come on the field with me. So many good stories happened there.

  2. My favorite is the last one with you and Marie. Oh, and the moose! And what were you guys baking or cooking?
    Well, they’re all great cause they show happy girls 🙂 I’m so glad you’ve got your phone!

    1. I like that one too, Tamara. That moose was boss, too, but can you believe that joint ran out of barbecue? We had giant cheeseburgers instead.

      Grace and I were making tortillas – and needed a bit more flour at that point. I’m grateful for that phone, for sure!

  3. love lincoln’s quote and i have many favs in this collection, but i love the one with you and marie and trying to keep a white shirt white.

  4. the last daddy-daughter shot is priceless – now you have two high schoolers! Enjoy and have fun. Remember to breathe, time moves quickly, especially during the school year.

    1. Thanks brother! Yeah, two high schoolers, and both on the same team for the first time in forever! You’re right – I thought summer flew by, but this school year will too, especially Elise’s senior year.

    1. OK, didn’t finish my comment, computer! I was going to say, the last one and then the stormtrooper. The last one, because who doesn’t like father-daughter smiles. The stormtrooper because I think the dress improves its look 😀

      1. I didn’t kill the last comment because every comment deserves a chance. The stormtrooper is all kinds of cool, not only because Grace created it!

        You know, snowtroopers had a bit of a skirt on anyway, and the Imperial guard are dressed like they’re singing backup for Gladys Knight.

  5. Great bunch of pics, Eli! I have to agree that you can’t have messy without delicious and delicious without messy! My daughter tells me that all of the time! LOL! I guess that says something about my cooking style. Have a great week!

    1. Thanks Stacey! I can’t help that the messier the kitchen, the yummier the food. I believe your kid (and I’ve lived it!)

      Reckless abandon isn’t a bad way to go in the kitchen.

  6. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! they are beautiful and their spirit leaps right out of the pictures.
    that last one of you and Marie – my heart!!! keep that one. 🙂

    1. I couldn’t be old enough for two high schoolers, could I. Good thing we Hispanic men look the same at 25 and 55. The girls are the ones who will bring ME good luck, Kim.

      They’re kind of rocking at life so far.

  7. My favorite is definitely the messy ones! They capture the good time, and the good food (without actually knowing what it was). Y’all seem to have a great time, I love that you show that with these pictures.

    1. We’re good at those, Angela. Like, pros at it! That mess eventually became tortillas, and what Marie was eating … I can’t even remember, but she seemed to love it!

      We do have a blast, every time. Great to see you here, and can’t wait to read more on your blog.

  8. The goofy ones are my favorites, of course! I always complain when my kids take goofy selfies with my phone, but I secretly love them. Gwen asked me why I don’t delete them if they annoy me, and I mumbled something incoherent.

    Your girls are lovely, btw. Lovely and goofy is a fabulous combination.

    1. 98% of ours are goofy, Dana. My kids know anything they do my phone is subject to the blog, and yet …

      Thanks, Dana, I am awed by their loveliness at times. I’m just glad to be that sidedish of goofy for them. As a role model, you know.

  9. I can’t believe you let Grace smoke like that! Just kidding.
    When I go to Asheville in the fall, I’ll find that moose. And probably get arrested for trying to steal it. My minivan might not be big enough.
    The girls are real beauties.
    My favorite picture is the last one because of the smiles, and talk of pizza.

    1. The teacher must have said “smoke ’em if you got ’em.” Or something! The moose is right there inside the barbecue joint by the farmer’s market. Can’t miss it.

      Thanks about the girls! My girls and pizza are right up there in the category of “as good as it gets.”

Say what you need to say

