Go Ask Daddy About Berry Leaves, Mascot History and Hard Landings in Insurance Ads


gad led 11 27

Thanksgiving messed with my head, y’all.

GAD GRAPHICI missed out on a chance to watch the Bears-Packers game in the best company while eating chicken wings, because I forgot there was a late Thanksgiving game. I don’t know where my phone charging cord is.

And at 1:37 a.m., I realized it’s Friday – time to answer your Go Ask Daddy questions.

Let’s see if I can finish this sucker. Fueled by two rows of monster KitKat and a good liter of Food Lion’s answer to Diet Mountain Dew, I at least have a puncher’s chance. I am feeling punchy, though.

It’s 50/50, even with Sweet Child of Mine currently on the Pandora.

1. Is the green stuff you find on strawberries good for you?

Strawberries
photo credit: Fraises via photopin (license)

You can brew strawberry leaves in tea.

Just toss in dried leaves with stem and flower pieces. Strawberry leaf tea is good for gastrointestinal distress (how many of you have this right now?) and joint pain.

It aids in the balance of acids and bases. You should check with a doctor first, but it’s also good for arthritis relief.

Can you pick out the lie among these strawberry facts?

  • Overripe strawberries make excellent jam – and also can be pickled
  • Strawberry plants are perennials, which means that unlike the Colorado Rockies, they come back year after year
  • A strawberry isn’t technically a berry, because its seeds are on the outside
  • Lori Laughlin is actually allergic to strawberries

*See the end of this post for the answer.

2. Why do Mexican restaurants sponsor our soccer team?

reset 147

First, we should make a distinction between Mexican restaurant and casual dining American restaurant with a Tex-Mex theme.

Mexicasa, one sponsor, is the first. You’ll see Mexican staff on the floor and Mexican recipes in the menu. It’s home to maravilloso street tacos and deliciouso enchiladas de queso. A dude named Armando runs the place, for Chucho’s sake.

On the Border, also a sponsor, is the second. While tasty, they serve firecracker stuffed jalapenos and border bowls. It’s the place a waitress named Heather once corrected my pronunciation of ‘enchiladas.’

I mean, it’s all good. I appreciate the tastiness of both spots, and the support they’ve given to our club.

If I had to choose which place to go Monday/Wednesday/Friday and which joint to visit Tuesday/Thursday, however, Mexicasa would be the three-day-a-week choice.

I’m so ready for a plate of cheese enchiladas right now.

Feeling me, Heather?

3. Were the NBA team the Charlotte Bobcats named after their owner?

Charlotte Bobcats
photo credit: Charlotte MLK Day Parade via photopin (license)

Officially no, but it feels like a strong coincidence, doesn’t it?

Bobcats, a name now dropped into the permanent freeze (the franchise last season took back the name Hornets from the New Orleans Pelicans – confused yet?), emerged as one of three finalists in 2004 when the NBA awarded Charlotte an expansion franchise. The Charlotte Hornets had bolted for New Orleans.

The name Bobcats beat out Dragons and Flight in the final round. Bob Johnson became the first NBA owner since 1941 to have his name as part of his franchise’s.

(Fred Zollner named his team the Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons.) 

No owner named Dick or Peter has insisted his name be part of his team’s.

4. Are Lance and Neil Armstrong brothers?

Lance Armstrong
photo credit: Lance Armstrong cornering via photopin (license)

Not exactly. Although, both were American heroes and icons for a minute. Neil, for longer.

Lance Armstrong’s most familiar to you for the Tour de France dominance he enjoyed that led to seven consecutive titles. He’s the man behind Live Strong and the iconic yellow bracelets that symbolized a fight – as he’d experienced – to defeat cancer.

Neil Armstrong appealed to an earlier generation as the first man to walk on the moon. During the weekend of Aug. 25, 2012, Neil Armstrong, whose quote “One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind” became American legend, died at age 82.

Meanwhile, Lance, not his brother in any stretch, gave up his fight against the U.S. Doing Authority amid mounting evidence he cheated en route to his moments of glory.

Neil rose on the strength of the U.S. space program; Lance found his fuel in the laboratory, and tipped the playing field in his favor.

So, no. No brothers. Not even like that.

5. In that Allstate commercial, is that a dummy that falls down the stairs?

You mean, this one?

This one was freaky. In the world of television advertising, however, freaky is the only way.

You have to make a splash. These, known as the Mayhem ads, did the trick. In this one, actor Dean Winters of 30 Rock fame, details the antics of a careless cleaning lady.

Ultimately, Mayhem trips on a loose rug near the top of the stairs, and topples to a crumpled mess at the bottom.

Internet speculation turns to stunt doubles and special effects, but no official explanation exists that I could find. Dude might just be ruthless enough to fall down the stairs himself.

As ruthless as a famous cycling Armstrong or adamant On the Border waitress, even.

*Lori Laughlin isn’t allergic to strawberries. That I know of.

99 quote

 

26 thoughts on “Go Ask Daddy About Berry Leaves, Mascot History and Hard Landings in Insurance Ads

  1. Punchy or not you did the girls proud her today answering their questions, but never any doubt in my mind. That said hope you all had a great Thanksgiving and an even better weekend ahead now! 😉

  2. Hey, you did it! Thanksgiving didn’t completely trip you up and your Friday post is great as usual 🙂 Strawberries are a favorite of mine and I’m happy I’m not allergic to them (developing an allergy to chocolate, however, would be a huge help.)

  3. The Bears won the game and I do believe I heard the roar from my Father’s apartment 15 miles away. The Packers are his team, always have been and always will be. They have not been doing well, I have heard.
    Great post! Kit Kats and strawberries in the same post, nicely done….
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your wonderful daughters!!

    1. It’s been a rough go for the Packers, Vicki. It’s compounded when it’s a nationally televised game, at home, against a rival, and you lose.

      Glad you liked the post! Kit-Kat and strawberries happen to be champions in their particular food categories.

      Happy thanksgiving to you and yours too, Vicki. Thankful that we’ve crossed paths.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving!
    I will have to try making strawberry leaf tea, as strawberries are just coming in to season here.
    Watched that video a few times and I still can’t decide, it certainly looks like the man fell down the stairs, but that would be the intent.

  5. Funny that you use an Ogilvy quote. One of the blogs I follow, Alice Whitmore (to do some name dropping)is about her adventures when she worked for Ogilvy shooting commercials. Thanks for the lesson on strawberry tea. And so many pwople got Buzz and Neil confused when Buzz died. It was almost comical.

  6. No idea how you pulled that off to 1:37am!! i would have been unable to keep my eyes open at that point, but you did a great job!

  7. Pickled strawberries? I don’t know.
    Do you have Lori Loughlin on the brain too? I just saw her in Northpole 2. She is still a fine specimen. (what’s wrong with me?)
    Why doesn’t the Mellow Mushroom sponsor soccer games??

    1. I’d try it once, Tamara. Maybe on a waffle? I don’t really and never have had Lori Loughlin on the brain … she’s aight, but I think in my younger years, Melissa Joan Hart registered more on my radar.

      A fine specimen … can you imagine if I called January Jones that in a post? You can get away with it though.

      The Mellow Mushroom would be the greatest soccer sponsor ever. Did you see the mascot??

  8. Mexican food…yum…I lost a bet on a blog where i contributed stuff and had to change my gravatar to the Ohio State mascot…I still have chills. Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving.

  9. Those commercials are the best. Love that guy. I’d say stunt double takes the fall.
    I haven’t made strawberry tea, but here in the back woods of the valley, we do know how to make Strawberry wine.
    If the LCBO asks, I was never here. 😉

  10. These are my favorite posts. I suppose they are your favorite too. It’s funny to see Tamara above me since I also do the Secret Subject! Anyway, I’m catching up on my favorite blogs tonight. I’ve been in your neck of the woods twice this week. Once at a Boston Market that I probably should have avoided since I think I may be coming down with food poisoning and the other was at 2 in the morning after a marathon drive from Maryland. Hope all is well. I’m still curious about your last email. I wrote you back that I didn’t understand and you didn’t answer.

    1. Thanks Rena. They’re fun to put together. There are a lot of familiar names in the Secret Swap.

      How often do you get to Charlotte? I wonder if you went to the Boston Market on Independence Blvd. (or South Blvd?)

      I’ll get to your email! It was about helping out caregivers.

Say what you need to say

