On the Road Again: This Time, at Literary Musings, Talking Faith


musings lead
photo credit: May the Force be with you via photopin (license)

You gotta have faith.

This goes for when your football team falls behind against a team they should beat. Or, when you get a faulty pie at your favorite pizza joint. You need it, when you’re a kid and you’ve begun to question life.

Important things.

Like, were dinosaurs real?

Will vegetables really make you grow up big and strong?

brittnei marie
Marie is our unofficial tree selector. It just works out that way. The kid has an eye. I asked her the other day if she could give me a makeover (she’d just disapproved of my sweater choice.) “Dad, I’m good,” she said, “but I’m not a miracle worker.” I love my kids.

 

Is Santa Claus really watching?

Today, I’ve written a guest post for Literary Musings, a linkup I found recently. It’s about the time Marie had her own little watershed moment when it came to Saint Nick – and how a wayward reindeer played into it.

Come check it out, and see some of my newest blog friends, too.

Merry Christmas, y’all.

faith 2 quote

 

14 thoughts on “On the Road Again: This Time, at Literary Musings, Talking Faith

  1. Read it, loved it and definitely would make a believer out of the most nonbeliever ever in my honest opinion seeing those hoof prints – just saying! Merry Christmas Eli to you and your family now!!! 🙂

  2. Again, you fail to disappoint. Read it and enjoyed it. The day I stop believing is the day Santa stops coming to my house. I’m not taking that chance. Merry Christmas to you and your gang, Eli!

    1. Too kind, Eric. I’m glad you enjoyed it, though. I still believe in magic and miracles because I’ve seen them at work. Always will leave that plate of cookies for Santa, too. Always.

      Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  3. Dasher – that was a good off-the-cuff explanation. Love it! They do question things and I’ve always wanted to be honest, but sometimes that’s in conflict with the part of me who wants them to hang onto their innocence for just a little longer.

    1. Gotta think fast, right Janna? Thanks. I’ve come to that crossroads so many times, like the day Grace saw me take my daily pills and asked what they’re for … to go through them, I felt, wasn’t probably best for her.

      But it strengthened my desire to work my way out of them for good.

  4. One Christmas — just before I turned 9 – I’m positive i heard sleigh bells around midnight. And you know, I’m now 67 and I haven’t changed my mind.

Say what you need to say

