On the Road Again: This Time, at All in a Dad’s Work


lede for eric
photo credit: Walking toward todays adventures via photopin (license)

So, I’ve switched teams a few times.

No, not those teams. I’ve signed a lifetime contract on that front. I’m talking God teams. Or, creator teams. Call it what you’d like. Raised Catholic, then transformed to Episcopalean.

Tried out Lutheran.

Now, I spend Sunday mornings meditating in a Buddhist center. I get to wear soccer coach pants. I absorb some of the best lessons from my teachers there. But that’s just today’s chapters of my faith.

Today, I’m at Eric’s blog, All in a Dad’s Work, to tell how I pray as a dad, and the role my dad’s death played in my walk of faith.

[read my guest post at All in a Dad’s Work here]

Eric’s a new blogging friend you might already know. Could you check out my guest post there? Then, stick around. Eric’s got some good stuff going on over there.

In comments here, I’d love to hear how you pray, as a parent.

prayer quote

20 Replies to “On the Road Again: This Time, at All in a Dad’s Work”

  1. I was raised Lutheran growing up but as I grew up I started liking the non denomination churches…until they wanted to start healing me. Now, I am learning more so about the relationship and not the religion. I’m not a parent yet but when I pray I like to talk to God like I would one of my friends. Like a normal conversation.

    1. I’m with you Katy, it’s not about “religion” it’s about a relationship. I feel perfectly at ease talking to God like I would a very close friend. I live with constant pain from osteoarthritis, and yes, I ask God to heal me, but if that would mean me not relying on Him as much, than I’d rather have the pain.

      1. Could not agree more. It took many years but I can finally say that I love who I am disabled and all. I’m not saying I don’t believe that God can’t heal me because I know he can but I am the type of person that if it is going to happen it will be between God and I and not with 20+ people in tow.

    2. It’s tough to find a place to worship where you can find what you want and not have a price to pay.

      I feel like spirituality is a do-it-yourself project you don’t always need a house of worship to construct.

  2. I was born and raised Catholic, too, but not very religious and definitely don’t do the whole church every Sunday thing as we spend Sundays as you know on the soccer field, but can also relate on a more deep level as when I do pray it is for the important things in life. And I also prayed back when back when for my grandfather, who was a bit more like a dad at times than my own father (another story for another time). First like you to not lose him, before I was ready and then to let him go in peace when the suffering was just too much. But now, my prayers are more the mothering kind, as well. Beautiful and very though provoking here today. Hugs and Happy New Year to you!

    1. Yours is an efficiency of faith, Janine. Especially when you pray for others. Prayer sometimes helps us through the transition of hope for recovery to hope for peace.

      Glad you liked it. Happy New Year.

  3. Thanks, Eli. I raised Catholic and my boys are being raised at Catholics, but when I talk to God I think of God as Mother Earth. Kind of like Gaia. I often ask for strength, wisdom, and good fortune 🙂

  4. This is beautiful and I think as parents, the best thing we can do for our children is let them discover their own way in all things including faith. It is a personal decision. I have learned to stand on the sidelines and reassure each of my kids that I am always here if they need me, but that I won’t influence something they feel strongly on in all matters. I just give them insight and pray that it will guide them to the path I already see them walking down. It can be hard, but they have yet to disappoint me, so I am doing soomething right..right? Raised a little bit of everything, for a spell I found a place in the catholic church only to leave years later because it became “work”. Now I just pray that each day is a successful one and what will be, will be. LOVE this post. Happiest of New Years to you and the girls my friend.

    1. It does have to be a personal journey, doesn’t it? We’re just here to guide. It’s like when they’re toddlers, and they play a while and check back in with us – they’re testing boundaries while they know we’re here for them.

      Sounds like you’re doing great, Tiff. Exposure to many walks of faith strengthens our concept of the universe, I believe.

      What will be will be … that’s the toughest thing to pray for,.

  5. I was raised Roman Catholic, but during college/young adulthood didn’t really practice. Some things that happened over the years (including an awesome retreat program at my church) caused me to return. Now I go to mass not out of a sense of obligation, but because I want to.

    1. I think many of us walk away from organized religion around that time. We sleep in on Sundays. We need a reawakening to the religion we practiced – or to a new one, or something different all together.

      That you’ve arrived at mass out of your own conviction is exactly how faith should work, Kathy.

Say what you need to say

