Old School Blogging: The ABCs of M-E


1 18 lede
photo credit: Alien vs Stormtrooper via photopin (license)

 

There’s this concept of Old School Blogging – but how old school could blogging be?

It’s like the Carolina Panthers wearing throwback uniforms. There’s only a couple of decades to harken back to, and just one real uniform modification. A while back, my friend Andrea Mowry took a shot at an Old School Blogging challenge called The ABCs of Me.

(Not me, of her.)

So, what the hell? I’ll take a stab at it. Maybe you should, too.

A: Age | 44

Grace wants me to dye my gray. She doesn’t understand that snow on the roof is a final vestige of distinction for a middle-aged man. (A boy in her class said I looked 30, though. Great kid.)

B: BIGGEST FEAR | My girls growing apart

No one is closer to you in genetic makeup than your siblings. My lifelong wish is that my daughters never let any wedge push them apart. They should always have each other.

Tamales at 10 should make for interesting dreams.

C: CURRENT TIME | 9:45 p.m.

I just ate a second dinner, and I’m okay with that. Tamales at 10 should make for interesting dreams.

D: DRINK I LAST HAD | Can of Coke Zero

How else will a post get done at, now 9:47 p.m.? If you mean the last DRINK drink, it was a rum and Diet Coke in a hotel lobby after a Panthers game that set me back $10. That’s, like, a week of groceries.

E: EASIEST PERSON TO TALK TO | My team

Erin, Chelsea, Brittany and Allie tolerate me as the odd man in. They’re spirited, talented women who know the value of quality time over a beer and a good burger. Love you girls.

F: FAVORITE SONG | Mr. Blue Sky

It’s the anthem I share with my girls. It’s on an old MP3 player that bounces around the house, from one girl to the next, in various stages in life. I hope they’ll always think of me when it comes on.

G: GROSSEST MEMORY | Post-movie projectile vomit

Fourth grade. Cute-girl Alicia was making shadows after a school film (remember those?) on the screen. Eric White upchucked all over her back. I mean, all over. Waist to head, fingertip to fingertip. She cried and walked with arms outspread to the office.

H: HOMETOWN | Charlotte, N.C.

It’s because that’s where I went to high school. (Garinger, class of 90). I’m a native of Greeley, Colo. But if I played collegiate sports, my high school town would be my hometown. (Did you know?)

There’s also daughters, ideas that flow from mind to fingertips, and pizza.

I: IN LOVE WITH | So many things.

I heard once that you never stop loving someone you’ve loved. I can see an argument for that. There’s also daughters, ideas that flow from mind to fingertips, and pizza.

J: JEALOUS OF | People whose pants fit.

You know who you are. How’s it feel to have your cuffs not fray like a scarecrow’s? That a rainy day isn’t an automatic 4 inches of rain-soaked pant leg right above your shoes?

K: KILLED SOMEONE? | Softly, with my song?

That’d be the way. I haven’t even food-poisoned my kids yet. I did once trample one of my middle school soccer girls. She folded under me like a bag of batons. It wasn’t pretty.

L: LONGEST RELATIONSHIP | This is heavy …

It’s me. It’s an ocean of ostracizing and a river of ruminations. I’m coming to peace within me that isn’t as horrible as the things I’ve heard about – and propagated – for myself.

M: MIDDLE NAME | Jon

Cool story. My mom was to choose a middle name for me after a saint. She chose San Juan. Juan was also her father’s name. The church said it had to be an Anglo saint! So she chose John, but spelled it with no H out of spite. I love that, actually.

N: NUMBER OF SIBLINGS | 1.

My sister loaded up that MP3 player with the good stuff. Los Lonely Boys in memory of dad; Electric Light Orchestra, Paul McCartney and Wings. Pretty much the soundtrack of our youth.

I’d wish for peace within myself, and see how far I could take it.

O: ONE WISH | Peace.

Sure, and end to gunfire in places like Afghanistan and Iraq and Somalia and Yemen would be nice. I’d wish for peace within myself, and see how far I could take it. I’d try my best with it.

P: LAST PERSON YOU CALLED | Lisa.

She’s a friend who I didn’t mean to call. She was making a difficult choice – to buy a beanie or a beer at the Carolina Panthers game. I called her when I meant to text. #DadProblems. (She bought the beer.)

Q: QUESTION YOU’RE ALWAYS ASKED | You’re in for it, aren’t you?

I want to write a whole post. People assume because I have three daughters that I’m awash in hormones and bitchiness. Just because they’re girls? And what does that say for boys?

R: REASON TO SMILE | Grace’s game.

She concocted a yet-unnamed board game (who among us hasn’t done this as a kid?) that includes a jail and a deck of cards labeled “circle of doom.” I so can’t wait to play it.

S: SONG YOU LAST SANG | Always Something There to Remind Me, Naked Eyes

Not well, I might add. It came on the radio after Grace and I took a run in the snow flurries this morning. I struggled with the high notes. Grace struggled with the auditory torture.

T: TIME YOU WOKE UP | 7 a.m.

It left just enough time to get Grace for a morning run. We turned some laps on the figure 8 amid snowflakes. I then got myself together in time for the Panthers’ win against the Seahawks on Sunday.

[My arms and mobile phone were on espn.com!]

Yellow and green M&Ms? Green Bay Packers.

U: UNDERWEAR COLOR |Jesus Jones …

Plaid. Blue and yellow, like the Rams. Not to change the subject, but this is how boys see things – in team colors. Yellow and green M&Ms? Green Bay Packers. Now you know.

V: VACATION DESTINATION | Charleston, S.C.

Nowhere else has the culture, history, familiarity and wonder as this coastal town. I long for days I’ve spent there and pine for the ones I wanted to.

W: WORST HABIT | Depends on who you ask!

I have so many. How about self-propelling myself down blog-reading/writing holes? Losing track of pizza slices or not checking my blood sugar? My worst lately has been skipping meals by stretching out the one before it.

X: X-RAYS YOU’VE HAD | My hand

I saw one once of a broken bone in my hand. The cast on my jabbing hand was a trashy look. No one believed I broke my hand getting caught up in a baby rocking chair.

Y: YOUR FAVORITE FOOD | Kale chips.

I kid! You guys know this. I feel like talking about pizza in this space becomes a throwaway. Did you know I also like cheeseburgers and enchiladas?

Z: ZODIAC SIGN | Scorpio.

Let’s see what today’s horoscope says:

Interpersonal dynamics are more complex than they seem now. But your extrasensory antennae are so attuned to invisible mysteries that you won’t be fooled by the physical world. Nevertheless, you still may try to step around the scary shadows if you’re frightened or confused by what you don’t understand. There’s no time to waste clinging to the familiar because you’re feeling insecure about the future. Let go of anything that robs you of your self-confidence. You need as much faith as you can muster because today’s dreams are building the foundation for tomorrow’s castles.

From LovetoKnow.com

Woah.

How about you? Might you take a stab at these ABCs?

self quote

51 thoughts on “Old School Blogging: The ABCs of M-E”

  1. Kale chips, really?

    This is great and congrats on the Panthers win yesterday. I was in a room FULL of Bronco’s fans watching that and it was entertaining to say the least.

    1. I don’t think I’ll ever eat an actual kale chip – unless there’s a bacon & cheese dip on it.

      That Panthers victory came with lots of angst – their conservative approach in the second half made Ted Cruz look like the president of the ACLU.

  2. Yeah, probably going to be stealing this post idea, whenever I can stop sneezing…

    Kale chips are very overrated.

    1. I’ve missed you too, Ashley. Welcome back – that jump from one to two kids is like hyperspace, on a greased rail.

      I promise never to change that much. If I ever have a kale chip, it’ll be covered in cheese. Covered.

      When you do your ABCs, send me a link so I don’t miss it.

  3. I’m probably going to borrow this post idea as well. My answers will also be rife with references to pizza because it is, after all, the perfect food. My kids, a boy and a girl, were never close growing up but now live very close to each other and get along famously. Their kids are all growing up together and I couldn’t be happier.

    1. I hope more than probably, Mo. Pizza should sustain throughout. I love that your kids as adults are close. Cousins are like brothers and sisters you don’t have to share a bathroom with.

  4. My Charlotte friend went into labor last night. No doc was available due to the Panthers game!? How rude. That little baby boy of hers wanted to see the game, too!

    Colin would very much agree with you on the team colors. His whole world is logos and team colors.

    Tell us more about your invisible mysteries, Mr Scorpio 😉

    1. She should name the kid Cam. Or Luke. This whole city seems to be wrapped in Panthers blue lately.

      Colin does love the logos, doesn’t he? As a boy, I always noticed uniform changes, too.

      As for the invisible mysteries – as soon as I figure them out, you’ll be the first to know, Tamara!

      1. The unknown, the unexplored and the inexplicable fascinate me the most, you know.

        The baby boy’s name is Anthony – I understand there is a #46 on the team roster?

  5. I love these and did this one (I think!) a few months ago. Why is it that parents – especially dads – with multiple daughters always get asked those questions? I mean, I don’t have teenage boys, obviously, but I can’t imagine they are all sunshine and roses either. It’s really annoying.

    1. You’re like me Lisa – written today, forgotten tomorrow. And that’s just my grocery list. I can think of 17 better things to say to a parent of daughters. At least 17.

    1. Gross, right? I had kale salad once, and was afraid I’d next buy a smart car, or, worse, call a Uber ride.

      At least we don’t h it our heads on chandeliers, Eric.

      1. No ducking through doorways or banging our head getting into the car, either. The tallest blade of grass is the first to be cut by the mower. Glad the kale salad didn’t make you “crunchy”.

  6. I would’ve given anything to heard you sing “Always Something There To Remind Me.” Poor Grace!! lol As for Kale Chips. I went to Inion’s apartment right before Halloween. As I approached her front door, I grabbed my nose and gagged. Once I was inside the smell became worse. I said to her. “Jesus Ging, what the hell is that smell?!!” She smiled and with excited eyes said. “I knew you were coming so I made a surprise for you mom. It’s homemade Kale Chips. I’m baking them now!”
    I’ll never get that smell out of my mind. And she still hasn’t gotten that smell out of her apartment!! lol 😉 Great idea for a post Eli. Sharing this now. xo

    1. It wasn’t William Hung bad – but it was close. Grace also had to tolerate me doing a cha-cha on the track after I finished the first week – I’ll celebrate the little victories.

      Isn’t kale for whales? They strain it through their specialized mouths, right? Just pass me the Ritz crackers.

      Thanks so much for dropping by and for the share.

  7. I’m a Scorpio too! I think you may be a few weeks younger than me, though. I won’t hold that against you.

    I’m visiting Charleston for the first time in March – so excited! If you have any places/restaurants that are must sees, let me know.

    1. Are you the typical Scorp, Dana? That’s another unfair question. What’s typical about Scorpios?

      Charleston is awesome. You’ll love The Market. Trust me on this one. Buy me something nice there.

      The Battery is cool, and for sure take a ghost tour. There are too many great restaurants to name, but there’s one that has brass nameplates where celebrities sat when they visited.

      1. Thanks for the suggestions, Eli. And I have no idea if I’m the typical Scorpio – are you? I’d prefer to be atypical.

  8. And yet again you made me smile! Kale Chips??????? hahaaha!!
    I think I might just give this one a try- sounds like great fun- but I am not so sure anyone wants to know the color underwear a mom of 6 boys and 3 girls are…..
    By the way- boys are just as bad as girls as far as moodiness goes. Yes, they are drama queens just as much as girls!! DRIVES ME NUTS!!!!!!!
    Vicki

    1. Glad to be able to pull it off, Vicki. Kale chips didn’t even feel right typing in. My fingers protested until I treated them to a pile of garlic and Parmesan wings.

      I think teens of either influence can have their swings. I’m just learning how to coach an all-boys team. It’s been a blast.

  9. Ahhh, first – HESSE – LOVE!!!
    I was avoiding all light and sound because my temples are angry with me today… but I couldn’t sleep and I knew I had this post waiting in my To Read folder and honestly I just needed the combination of some wit and wisdom that I know only you can bring to allow my teeth to unclench even if it’s only a temporary relief. Sorry, not sure if that was worse in the complimentary department, or the poetic one… but the sentiment stands. Thanks! 🙂

    1. Thanks Louise. I think that’s the only way, outside of food poisoning, I could kill someone – but my song might not be softly, no.

      Mr. Blue Sky is the ultimate song for my girls and me. I hope they’ll always think of us when they hear it.

  10. Hmm.. I think I have done this one before, but there’s no shame in trying again with different answers.
    Yours made me hungry and made me want to listen to music.

    1. My answers would have been different even a week before. I was hungry and wanting to hear a thunderstorm instead of music while writing it. (I love the site Noisli.com!)

Say what you need to say

