Our Dream Jobs, in 6 Words


photo credit: Time to clean the TIE IV via photopin (license)
photo credit: Time to clean the TIE IV via photopin (license)

I kind of have my dream job.

6 words graphicI write, all day. There’s food around. I love my team. Did I mention the writing and the food? And the laptop. And the company trip to Cancun tomorrow, and the bowling alley. And I get to write. All day. With food.

I think it’s more a dreamy job.

A dream job, maybe, is one that you know exists or hope exists or have dreamed up to exist. Not one you find, then fall in love with. So the dream job would still be a reporter for NPR. I have a jacked-up enough name for it.

Every month, I compile a post called “6 Words.” Ernest Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in a six-word sentence. I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt.

Want to receive an email with monthly prompts? Just send an email to bloggingeli@gmail.com, with 6 words in the subject line, to subscribe.

Today is Punch the Clock Day. What job – real or imagined – would fit you? Think “doughnut taste tester at Krispy Kreme” or “Jennifer Lawrence’s personal yoga mat toter.”

social media
photo credit: via photopin (license)

1. Social media whiz for music festival.

Katy, of Stereotypically Able


2. Official nature photographer for Canon camera.

Susan, of Life is a Journey, Not a Guided Tour


3. 24/7 personal assistant to Mike Rowe.

Teri B., of Snarkfest


4. Hello? National Geographic? Yes, I’m ready.

Les B., of Ink Interrupted


5. Professional online bargain shopper–budget unlimited 😉

Meredith S., of The Mom of the Year


6. Elephant caregiver at The Elephant Sanctuary.

Beth T., of Beth Teliho


photo credit: Under The Umbrella At Serenity Bay via photopin (license)
photo credit: Under The Umbrella At Serenity Bay via photopin (license)

7. Book reading worthy beach umbrella tester.

Megan B., of Super Commuter Couples


8. Jimmy Fallon’s first-chair xylophone player.

Stephanie J., of When Crazy Meets Exhaustion


9. Saviour of furry and feathered creatures.

Dorreen A., of The Mother Hen Diaries


10. Being Mark Harmon’s underpants. Pure bliss.

Stephanie-May, of 50 Shades of Me


11. Stormtrooper squadron leader and Cheese Czar.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy


12. World Renowned International Coffee Taste Tester.

Rhonda A., of Albom Adventures


13. The keeper of Cam Newton’s towel.

Kara R., of Clemson U.


14. Worldwide Coffee Bean Taster and Collector.

Tiffany M., of Kismas Life


15.Author of the Netflix movie descriptions.

Raine V., of Pursuit of Peace


16. Traveling backstage concert-goer, just listening.

Kimberly N., of Bring Your Brave


17. A fry taster at delicious McDonald’s.

Amber M., of Airing My Dirty Laundry


18. Like John Green, with less profanity.

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd


page sniffer
photo credit: Die Bücher und das Denken The books and thinking via photopin (license)

19. Quality assurance new book page sniffer.

Leah V., of Little Miss Wordy


20. Purveyor of smiles, used and new.

Nicholas R., of Nicholas C. Rossis


21. Bottle feeder of tiny baby goats.

Julie N., of Three Chickens and a Boat


22. Ice cream and chocolate tester? Yessssss.

Kathy G., of The Second Half of My Life


23. Personal photographer for sexy Sean Connery.

Naila M., of Just the Stuff Ya Know


24. Keeper of all sentimental things.

Tricia M., of Raising Humans


pet photographer
photo credit: A cat is posed seated on a chair in front of another cat operating a camera. via photopin (license)

25. Pet photographer and cookies for cats.

Kristen, of Bye Bye Beer


26. Brownie taste tester – calories don’t count.

Kim, of Protean Mom


27. Food critic for New York times.

Lisa, of Life as an El Paso Woman


28. Helper of Até, goddess of mischief.

Joyce L., of Catch My Words


29. Anthony Bourdain’s younger female travel host.

Jess W., of Jess Witkins’ Happiness Project


30. Spiritual growth coach, journeying with you.

Jennifer L., of That’s a Jenn Story


31. Joy and happiness through dance classes.

Cristina, of Exhale Joy


32. Jigsaw Puzzle Putter Togetherer … errr, yup.

Aunie, of Aunie Sauce


33. My job and passion; group therapist.

Ann K., of The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally


34. writer who talks to everyone everywhere.

beth k., of i didn’t have my glasses on …


35. Albino moose photographer for National Geographic.

Tamara B., of Tamara (Like) Camera


36. Whale stalking blogger, shopper, and sleeper.

April, of Stories of Our Boys


dream job
photo credit: The Dream via photopin (license)

37. I made my dream job, fortunately.

Jamie, of C.R.A.F.T.


38. Making videos while traveling the world.

Emily L., of Bit by Wanderlust


39. Professional couch potato and snacker extraordinaire.

Katy C., of Experienced Bad Mom


40. Lead actor for stage and screen.

Courtney, of Blog Me This


41. Sports marketing for the Dallas Mavericks.

Nicki L., of Lewis Lane Designs


42. Bacon correspondent for the Food Channel.

Ned H., of Humor at the Speed of Life


writing til
photo credit: Frank teaches me respect for the eszett via photopin (license)

43. Writing to my heart’s content, daily.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


44. Professional Chocolate Croissant Quality Assurance Engineer.

Cassandra, of The Next Delusion


45. Freedom Fighter for the Follically Challenged.

Momus, of The Next Delusion


46. Howler generator for Ron Weasley’s mother.

Elen G., of Elen Grey


47. Food photographer for exclusive French chocolatier.

Jennifer S., of Jenn’s Midlife Crisis


48. Muse at 19th century salon.

Elizabeth M., of Lapidary Prose


49. A 2016 PricewaterhouseCoopers Oscars balloting co-leader.

Kelly M., of Just Typikel


50. Official book reader for the kingdom.

Lisa, of The Meaning of Me

dream job quote

 

 

68 thoughts on “Our Dream Jobs, in 6 Words”

  1. Aaaaah! #17! Yes please. McDonald’s fry’s are laced with crack I swear! I may have to cave today and lose a point on my diet to have some!

    As always, a fabulous line up. Thanks for the work break read Eli and have a great trip!

  2. Your employer sounds great except the retreats and such sound like a lot of networking and socializing. It would be this introvert’s nightmare, no matter how nice it was!

    “Just pay me to be lazy!”

  3. Great list again Eli!! Some really fun jobs listed here. Love the resort tester and the Beach umbrella tester! That one might be my dream job- along with sniffing new books under that umbrella. Maybe add taste testing yummy drinks with umbrellas brought to me by a nice young man who does not speak English… heeeheee….. Mine doesn’t fit in 6 words I guess… Sorry.

    1. Thanks Vicki. There are budding careers here. Some are posher than others. Unless book page smell like vanilla. It’s okay that your six words don’t just blend in.

      I speaka the English, and I’m not too young, so I’ll see if I can get someone else to deliver those drinks.

    1. Thanks Claudia. I apologize for having dropped the ball in getting back to you. Glad you found some friends here – I’ll email you details about the next go-round, okay?

  4. Great list, thanks for including me. Some very entertaining answers here. I might like Kim’s dream job as well, “Brownie taste tester – calories don’t count”.

  5. thanks, once again, eli. both for including me and for introducing me to all of these people and their great ideas. i may switch of to baby goat bottle feeder now, i never even considered that career path. )

  6. So many awesome jobs that really should exist out there! Especially the shopper, blogger and sleeper, and of course those that include chocolate 🙂

    The coolest is “Jigsaw Puzzle Putter Togetherer”, though. Aunie should, in addition to this, also become a word inventor!

    What does it take to work for NPR?

    1. We need to talk to HR, Tamara. Chocolate seems like it would fall under your area of expertise.

      Can you imagine punching the clock to do puzzles? Aunie would probably line up the pieces all orderly-like.

      I’m not sure what it takes to work for NPR – maybe they’ll find me here, or at a pizza joint, next time they report on changes to the food pyramid.

    1. Glad you liked it Courtney. You should sign up for the updates! I’m sort of amazed that was the only underwear reference. but a lot of stuff happens in underwear … not all of it’s good.

  7. These are so great! Many of them I actually would love to do. And I kinda want to change mine because I saw that there is an actual job where you just hug panda bears all day. Hug. Bears. Get. Paid. Genius.
    Or, someone actually gets to spray water on Captain America’s abs when he is “sweaty;” so that might be pretty cool too. 😉

    1. Glad you liked them, Rore. Not a lot of bad ones in the bunch. I wonder how pandas smell, though – or how hugable they really are.

      I wonder if that’s hourly or salary, and what the benefits are like.

      Speaking of Steve Rogers – I tossed my sled the other day like he does his sled, but the kids weren’t impressed.

      1. I saw a panda bear rolling in the snow the other day, so I think we would be meant to be. 🙂
        And Steve Rogers abs ARE the benefit! LOL
        I am dully impressed though by your sled slinging skills. 🙂

      2. Just, in the wild in Canada, Les? Are you talking Steve Rogers’ abs before or after the treatment?

        I can do a decent Hulk impression, but I’m still working on my Tony Stark game.

  8. I missed this the other day! Been buried in a deadline (not a bad thing because paycheck). These are fantastic. I always love seeing the answers, but also the writers. I’ve found some good friends here and recognize some I didn’t know were connected through you! Awesome.
    Hope you’re well.

    1. Luckily I keep crap around over here, Lisa. Hope the freelance is treating you well. I’m go glad you’ve made some connections around here. So glad you’re part of it.

      1. You know what, though? Life happens. 🙂 We all get it – and we’ve all been there. (and we’ll all be there again sometime soon, I’m sure)

  9. You are behind? Look at me weeks later! Thanks for including me! I almost mentioned Mike Rowe in mine too! It was almost something to do with showering or something… 🙂

    1. I’m still behind! I’m glad you chimed in, and you are right on time, really. Two Mike Rowe references might have caused a civil war.

      Wait, showering *and* Mike Rowe?

  10. […] So, the paint. It’s not a big deal on Gabi. Sure, she was Stormtrooper smooth in her youth. So was I. We’re both now a bit like the Millennium Falcon. You know, beat up and creaky, but able to bust a little T.I.E. fighter ass and hit hyperspeed when needed. […]

Say what you need to say

