Guest Post: Grace (Yes, Grace!) Shares Her Favorite Websites


grace lede
photo credit: “listen up…” via photopin (license)

One thing – sometimes I ask the universe for just one good thing.

guest postUsually, it’s a word from someone I love, or a gesture. I feel like if I can get just this one thing, I can carry on. I get it sometimes. It’s a well-timed text, a smile from a stranger. Maybe it’s a Norah Jones song on the Pandora or the biggest slice of pizza at the café.

Lately, that something has come in just the nick of time has pretty almond eyes and killer soccer shot.

Grace has been a life-saver. At times I feel downtrodden or can’t figure out why people do what they do or say what they say or why the universe seems to have left me at the terminal, Grace comes through. She plans time for us together. She texts me.

She picks out my outfits. Marvelously.

Today, she’ll make her blogging debut here on Coach Daddy. She wanted to share some of her favorite websites. Grace has talked to me about starting her own blog, and even penned the text for her about page, including shout-outs to her daddy’s blog.

Please give my loving girl a warm CD welcome.

# # #

conductor 2We all know that time in a kid’s life, when you are sitting on the couch, bored. You are just looking at the Google screen, wondering what to type in, but … nothing.

I did the research; let me tell you a couple I know.

Dan Ball

First, Dust the Game, as I call it. In this game, there are different solutions, I should call them, such as magna, gun powder, C-4, water, stuff like that. You mix it together to make… EXPLOSIONS!!!

This is Sand

Now, This is Sand, well, that pretty much covers it. It’s sand you can pile up, I guess. You need to have concentration, and a LONG attention span. Sometimes, I get frustrated and want to punch the computer screen, but, that’s me. Most of the time, it’s really fun.

Fun Brain

Let’s define that, for the website, Fun Brain.

‘’Fun’’: mostly fun, for little kids, but an older kid’s part.

“Brain”: Not At All. That’s the fun of it, No education needed!

Okay, two more, my favorites.

Poptropica

You make an avatar, then, you go around on missions, on Poptropica.

You can meet people (no, not online dating), and you can shop for clothes for your person. Best part yet, almost, kind of, mostly free. If you want a full membership, or outfits, pay for that, but you can live without it.

Science Bob

Last but not least (my favorite) Science Bob.

My favorite thing to do is experiments. I’ll look on a ton of websites, and they all have kid-ish, baby experiments, like, a homemade snow globe, or, silly putty. Science Bob has really cool experiments, like a soap-powered model boat, or a hovercraft you can ride.

All these websites are easy to find, and fun to do, so why are you still reading this?

Go exploring!

What sites do your kids like the most?

internet quote

53 thoughts on “Guest Post: Grace (Yes, Grace!) Shares Her Favorite Websites

  1. Welcome, Grace. My nieces and nephews love Poptropica and Science Bob, too. They also did Webkins and were very upset when they were grounded from the computer. They made such a case for caring about their pets that my sister made an exception and let them log in. Hope to see you again.

    1. I hope to log Grace in here later so she can respond too – her sisters had a pet program back in the day that, if you didn’t visit regularly, you’d log in and be told that your pets ran away or died of hunger.

  2. Aw, so happy to see Grace here today and after reading her inaugural post, I think she totally needs to create her own blog, because I truly enjoyed reading her take her on her favorite websites and could see her sharing more of her own thoughts and words in her own space now! 🙂

    1. I agree – her idea was for a site called “It’s Sports,” with video of cool plays. But now, I think she wants to write more. I’d be honored to share the blogosphere with her.

  3. Great first post here, Grace!

    My son really liked Club Penguin when he was around your age. Sure, it was a little young then but something about the cute penguins and puffles kept him and his friends going back for a while.

    1. It’s an awesome website, you have to try it! I’ve seen amazing art from that, if you search ” this is sand art” there’s really cool pictures!

  4. This Grace isn’t a child from Faraday’s Candle blog is it? She ended her post the same way “Let’s go exploring!” Either way, great post Grace! Crash was into Moshi Monsters for a bit but it didn’t last long. I’m curious about that Sand game. I’ll be back in a bit. Hopefully not hours.

      1. No kidding. Once I started I couldn’t stop until I had the screen entirely filled. I showed it to Crash this morning and he did the same thing. The screen has to be filled!

      1. I only played it once, but once I started I played until the screen was full. My 8 year old son then wanted to try and he too filled a screen. We quit after that 🙂

  5. Hi Grace, it’s so great you are taking the plunge and publish your first post! And you did an awesome job, too!

    I feel very old because I didn’t know any of the games you are talking about, but I guess that’s OK.

    My boy who is 7 likes to play Minecraft, Smurfs, Big Win Hockey, Big Win Soccer, Big Win ANYTHING 😉

    Looking forward to reading more of your writing! (How proud your Daddy must be!)

    1. Thank you! I’d really want to do more posts, and, don’t feel bad my dad (and other people) will always be older that you! 🙂

  6. My daughter used to love Poptropica! Eli, you referenced another site in the comments – that’s Webkinz. Both of my kids were obsessed with that one too.

    I just spend five minutes playing with sand. Thanks Grace!

  7. Ah crap. I’m already addicted to This Is Sand. It appeals to my creative nature.
    My kids are all about Mindcraft these days. The boy still takes Lego breaks, but then it’s back to Minecraft. And something called 5 Nights’ at Freddy’s has come up recently. It scares me. I don’t know who this Freddy is, or why you can only stay 5 nights…??? 🙂
    Welcome to the Blogging Club Grace.

Say what you need to say

