What We Control, in Six Words


6 words control lede
photo credit: Sardines via photopin (license)

One of my life lessons – certainly the biggest of my life lessons – is to learn that I have control over way more than I suspect in life.

6 words graphicThis doesn’t mean I’ve perfected it. I’ve sharpened and polished my sense of place, and acknowledged there’s still plenty to do. There are plenty of paths I’ve not yet discovered. But lest I get too new-age Zenny on my crew …

Every month, I compile a post called “6 Words.” Ernest Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in a six-word sentence. I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt.

March 30 is I Am in Control Day. Clearly, most of us are not. Tell us a lie about something you’re in control of right now. Think, “I don’t NEED Girl Scout cookies” or “No calendar: It’s all up here.”

What would your six words be?


1. Chocolate doesn’t sway me, puny mortal.

Charissa S., of Joy in the Moments


2. A quick trip to Hobby Lobby.

Tiffany M., of Sounds Like Life to Me


3. I work best on the fly.

Lindsay F., of The Flynnigans


4. I can resist building Lego models.

Erik W., of This Kid Reviews Books


5. Nope. No chocolate for me today!

Sara L., of  Sara Letourneau’s Official Website and Blog


6. My day’s more than 24 hours!

Kimberly N., of Bring Your Brave

6 words control on time
photo credit: ten seconds via photopin (license)

7. I’m always on time. Yeah, right.

Clay W., of Making the Days Count


8. Planning; I can realise my dreams.

Lizzi L., of Considerings


9. Have kids – sleeping soundly through night.

Rebecca B., of The Kid’s User Guide to a Human Life


10. I control people’s thoughts about me.

Jacquelyn, of One Woman, Huge World


11. I am never scared being alone.

Juliet W., of Tails from the Road


12. Mastering crazy voices in my head.

Jenn S., of Jenn’s Midlife Crisis


6 words control wrapped
photo credit: close-up mother embraces a foot of the baby via photopin (license)

13. Kids … wrapped around my little finger!

Ritu B.,of But I Smile Anyway


14. Alarm rings, I pop out of bed.

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd


15. I don’t eat the whole bag.

Lisa T., A Girls’ Guide to Leaving a Marriage


16. Six weeks travel; carry-on only.

Rhonda A., of Albom Adventures


17. Going to the gym? Every day!

Jenny, of Peace From Panic


18. I still fit into these jeans.

Julie G., Young Adult Author


greys anatomy
photo credit: L’abc rinnova Grey’s Anatomy: ci sarà una tredicesima stagione via photopin (license)

19. I won’t cry during Grey’s Anatomy.

Katy W., of Stereotypically Able


20. ADHD does not run this house!

Lisa, at The Meaning of Me


21. What deadlines? I always submit early.

Kelly M., of Just Typikel


22. I’m present when my wife talks.

Austin W., of Writings by Ender


23. Wait long enough, steamer will auto-decalcify.

Tamara G., of Confessions of a Working Mom


24.Yes more burpies! I love burpies!

Les B.,of Ink Interrupted


money
photo credit: Coin via photopin (license)

25. Money is always waiting for me.

Lisa, of Life of an El Paso Woman


26. Just one last bite. I promise.

Shantala, of Shanaya Tales


27. Ready or not, time will tell.

Joyce L., of Catch My Words


28. Food glorious food – I am master!

Lyn C.,  of The Call of the Pen


29. My desk is tidier than yours.

Deb, of Deb Runs


30. I’ll get everything done before midnight.

Sabina, of Victim to Charm


weight watchers
photo credit: Lörrach 20140416_141611 via photopin (license)

31. I CAN do Weight Watchers properly!

Jenny, of Accidental Hipster Mum


32. Just one spoonful of peanut butter …

Annelise, of Aunie Sauce


33. I’ve got my to-do list covered.

Hilary, of Feeling Beachie


34. My daughters always listen to me.

beth, of i didn’t have my glasses on …


35. Haven’t binged on Cadbury mini eggs.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


36. Lesson plans? Got it covered – right …

Cricket, of Cricketmuse


planned
photo credit: Was nun? 65/366 via photopin (license)

37. I have it all planned out.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy


Boys: Do they fail to plan, or plan to fail? For every question you’ve ever had about boys, here’s the place to get your answers. Send questions to Ask A Boy, at bloggingeli@gmail.com. I’ll compile an occasional post with the caliber of answers you just can’t get anywhere else. You feel me, Doctor Oz?


 

control quote.jpg

61 Replies to “What We Control, in Six Words”

  1. thanks for letting me be a part of this crazy crew. i see some common themes, kids, food,workouts and getting things done. all ongoing and out of our control of course, but at least if we think we have a handle on them for a moment at least we feel better )

  2. A quick trip to Hobby Lobby, haaahaha! Yesterday I went to Michael’s Craft Store for the first time in my life! 1.5 hours later my friend’s kids, who were being super patient, asked ‘how much longer?’

  3. Look at your shiny new look! Looking good Coach!
    I don’t have it all planned out either. I got some planned.. because otherwise you end up in the parking lot of Walmart with a toddler in a dirty diaper and no diaper bag; and a preshooler crying with hunger and no snacks in your purse. Also, where is my purse? Yeah… some things I gotta plan because Survival… spelled SANITY. 🙂

    Another great turn out!

    1. It was time for a cool change, Rore. Glad you like it!

      There just is no plan. I’ve been there, with the toddler and the preschooler – maybe not *right* there, but there, you know?

      No wallet, cellphone battery nearly dead, and I really have to pee. Yes, survival. Not a bad turnout this time around, eh?

  4. Eli, thanks for the inclusion. Here’s another six words for ya’ – ‘Woke for sunrise, stayed the day! posting from the keys, not far from ol’ Hemingway’s haunts. Enjoy your week.

    1. I’d have invited you earlier, Lizzi, but I felt strange about stealing your email address from your comment on my blog. I got over that!

      You got sandwiched between Clay and Rebecca – great digs, there. And I fixed your name after having jacked it up the first time.

      1. LOL well I saw no problem with it, so hooray 😀 And I’m glad you stole my email address but…are we not friends on Facebook? That might be an oversight!

    1. The email I meant to send from gmail, I suspect, didn’t go through. I didn’t hear from anyone on it!

      I’ll never hold in contempt anyone who doesn’t like a food I do. More for me! Or whoever wants chocolate.

  5. It is interesting that so many of the entries relate to food with parenting as a close second. Reacting to our roller coaster weather I’d say, “Snow is good for the daffodils.” Have a great week, Eli!

Say what you need to say

