Photo a Day Challenge: June 2 – Sunshine


junesunshine
Photo by MEP

I got a little help with today’s photo.

I won’t call it stealing, or cheating. I’d waited all day for sunshine, and when it came, I was inside. I drove through angry storms from Mooresville to Charlotte, through flooded streets and below thunder-crackling skies.

I picked Elise and her friend up from the mall.

The sun shone through and my phone battery died. I told her about the challenge, and that I needed a shot of sunshine if she could manage one. She’s a creative photog herself, so I knew I was in good hands. She took Elise’s senior photos, in fact.

“It doesn’t count to take a picture of your face and call it ‘sunshine,'” Elise said.

Her friend leaned back and got this one. It’s sunshine through heating coils on my back window that haven’t worked since I got the car. It gives the sky grill marks, doesn’t it?

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxoMumPhoto

sunshine quote.jpg

 

23 Replies to “Photo a Day Challenge: June 2 – Sunshine”

  1. Love the picture! Love the quote! I especially love the story behind the photograph. There’s something charming in a little band coming together to capture something so simple to meet a goal.

    Speaking of goals… I broke out my drawing pencils and sketchbook on May 31st! Just under the wire! Success!!! 😀

    1. Thanks, Lu. The quote was perfect, too. I fear some of these posts’ stories will fall short of compelling. These two girls were fast friends on the first day of kindergarten – and next week, they’ll graduate together.

      Are you going to post some of your sketches? that’s awesome!

      1. I do love the quote. 😊 Congrats on the upcoming graduation in the family! Exciting!
        I think I’ll be saving my sketches for me for now. Just something relaxing to broaden my creative mind.

      2. Thanks Lu. It’s going to be a helluva party this weekend. Hard to believe I could be old enough to have a high-school grad as a kid.

        Totally understand on the sketches. I’m glad it’s happening.

    1. They do look like power lines, Cricket. Every time the sun peeked out, my battery died. I think the universe was messing with me. did it make an appearance for your party?

      I heard you can book the sun if you know the right person.

  2. Great photo! I love how naturally creative kids are – they don’t “over-think” things like some of us tend to do as we grow up. We’re expecting 90 degrees this weekend in Seattle!

    1. Thanks Sue. Well, for her sake! I knew I was in good hands with her taking the shot. I had to take my own today … stay tuned. It’s going to be hot down this way too …

  3. Neat pic, even better quote. As a self proclaimed smile ninja, I heartily approve it’s message and I love your ability to find your sunshine Eli.

  4. Teamwork goes a long way. Great shot by Elise’s friend. Faces do count as sunshine though. Maybe not our own to ourselves, but other’s to us. Especially if they make us smile.

    1. I tell my players there’s a ‘me’ in team, because each player must take account. She’s got a keep photog eye, that one.

      Smiles universally rock. They told me people in Boston are universally rude, but the first woman I saw come off the train smiled.

Say what you need to say

