Photo a Day Challenge: June 5 – Bubbles


bubbles cam

I just wanted to blow bubbles in my milk.

The word’s bubbles for June 5 in the Photo a Day Challenge from Ashley. Rather than the Hubba Bubba or wand-and-soap-concoction variety, I wanted to step back and enact a defiant act from my childhood. (Why do parents get so pissed at this?)

At the risk of teaching my kids another act of defiance, that was plan A.

My creative girls came up with something better. Elise and Grace snapped shots of bubbles spewing not out of dad’s milk straw but into their fish tank. They captured beauty in a 10-gallon enclosure with all of $2.97 worth of tropical fish like it was Jacques Cousteau.

At some point in this challenge, I’ll have to step up.

I’ll need to take a photo that’s wholly me, by me, from me. I have some time. Hell, dinosaur will be here before I know it. Contrary to what my kids might say … that won’t be a selfie day. Dang kids.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxoMumPhoto

bubbles quote

 

20 Replies to “Photo a Day Challenge: June 5 – Bubbles”

  1. That’s a goodly amount of bubbles, Elli. Whenever I hear “bubbles,” I’m reminded of that scene in Finding Nemo where the little French fish goes troppo over the bubbles 🙂

  2. I like the bubbles and like Lyn, immediately think of “Finding Nemo”. I also think about the very large, very $$$ liquor store down in Castle Rock called Bubbles. Makes me laugh every time we drive by it and of course I have to pretend I am the fish from Nemo and sing “BUBBLES”. I can feel the eye rolling from the back seat from both kids.

    1. I still think milk bubbles would have been stellar, Tiff. Bubbles was an accidental nickname for a tough guy I worked with that didn’t last long. The name, not the guy.

  3. I am a bonafide bubble lover. I still blow bubble gum, I take off with the bubble wands meant for the kiddies at the staff picnic, and my screen saver is bubbles cavorting about. I do draw the line at milk bubbles. Beats me why parents go nuts with them. Somehow it seems oh so wrong to play with one’s food–maybe that’s it.

    1. There should be a society, Cricket. You could be president. Milk bubbles get a bad rap.

      Parents just kill all the joy – I thought that when I was a kid, and my kids will pull that card on me when I try to discourage screaming and wrestling in the backseat as I drive the highway during rush hour. In the rain.

    1. Fish don’t shed and they eat their own poop, so there’s that, Sue. Yes, those are Mickey Mouse platys, for their tail markings, presumably, and not their flaky nature.

  4. A friend of mine has a FB photo challenge and bubbles was the challenge one day. I did use the bubbles made in my glass of chocolate milk. I like the fish tank picture.

    1. Maybe it’s the same challenge, Eric. You’ve more courage than me, and I won’t pass on chocolate-milk bubbles ever again. Thanks on the tank picture – amazingly, we got the fish to stay still for it too.

Say what you need to say

