Photo a Day Challenge: Jun 9 – Black &White


challenge black and white
EJP

School’s out.

Marie and Grace shared art from their portfolios today, breezing past sketches and exercises and dad saying “woah! Stop! Let me see that!” I swear, I did this for more than just the pieces that fit today’s words of the day: Black and white.

My first thought was to go to Publix and snag a black and white cookie.

I didn’t though. Color pervaded my day, and I couldn’t find much in black and white – other than a cow fan in Dollar Tree. I even snapped a shot of it. Marie had this in her portfolio, every panel done in a different media.

I mean, look at it. I’m not saying this from the standpoint of skill, although I see lots of it. Other black and white in my day or thoughts – even the cookie, and the cow fan – would potential drown out from green frosting or packs of bubble gum nearby.

There’s a starkness to black and white.

There’s a contrast, but also a melding, a mixing in between, where black becomes gray and white darkens to meet that gray, too. Color would blot that out, even complicate the simplicity. I needed for no blue or green, red or yellow in Marie’s work.

I love the girls’ artwork.

It makes me wish for more walls and frames and space to put it all up. To furnish a room in green and purple because their art is in green and purple. Marie wanted to toss a stack of sketches, and I wouldn’t let her. “I don’t like them!” she protested.

“I do!” I answered. “And their from my baby.” Marie scowled a little.

You’ll see. When you have kids.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxoMumPhoto

black and white quote

12 thoughts on “Photo a Day Challenge: Jun 9 – Black &White

  1. I’ve kept almost all of my kids’ artwork. When it comes to my daughter’s output, that’s quite a feat but I’ve loved so much of it and you can’t turn back the clock.
    Your daughter’s artwork is great and I agree with what you say about black and white telling a different story.
    Every year, my daughter gets dance photos done and they always come with an 8 x 10 in B&W which shows off her freckles almost in neon. These photos look awful and last year, I actually made a comment and they re-did the photo. It was better. It’s not good for my daughter’s self-esteem to see all her freckles highlighted like that! That’s even after makeup.
    xx Rowena

    1. It’s hard to get rid of any of it, isn’t it Row? I tried to go by the rule that if it is made specifically for me, I’ll for sure keep it.

      Thanks on her artwork. Black and white just shows so much contrast, doesn’t it? Color sometimes muddles an image.

      Someday, she’ll come to love those freckles.

  2. There’s something special about black and white. Talented daughter you have. I can barely draw a stick figure. One of my favorite photos is a black and white I took back n college (photo club).

    1. There’s the black and white, and all the shades in between. Thanks on my daughters’ talent. They seem to do what I do and take it to a higher level.

      What’s the photo of?

      1. It’s an old wooden skiff with most of the paint peeled off, turned upside down in the woods behind my old house, for winter. The bow and stern are sitting on logs to keep it up off the ground, which is covered with leaves. And there is a big puddle that part of the boat is sitting in (from snow melt and rain), reflecting the hull. The wood grain of the skiff and the bark of the trees caught my eye.

      2. I wish it were. I’m not sure where the photo is, but I have the negative back home in WA. I’ll try to remember to dig it up when I get home. I’m away for a few more weeks.

  3. “Marie scowled a little” … maybe, but I bet she was chuffed inside. I don’t have any of my kids’ art anymore–eight moves and forty years tends to do that, but I have quite a bit of my grandkids’ art. Sometimes black and white can give so much more feeling.

    1. They’re tough, these girls, Lyn. I looked up ‘chuffed’ and am quite pleased with the meaning!

      Quite chuffed, in fact. Grandkid art might be even sweeter than kid art. Black and white lets you fill in the blanks as you choose, too. Or not.

Say what you need to say

