I Believe … VI


i believe lede 7
photo credit: Rollertrooper via photopin (license)

Sometimes, it’s an uphill battle. Isn’t it?

But not always. And momentum shifts. A friend implored me a while back, over alcoholic ice cream, to “cheer up!” I explained it like this: Mood can be represented by pebbles. Pebbles are easy to move and shift on the fly.

State isn’t so mobile.

Boulders represent your state. They’re tougher to move, and take prolonged effort to change. But they can change. We have to brace and push the boulders when they don’t sit in the state we want them to.

When boulders shift and roll the right direction, you must be patient.

You also must enjoy the struggle. Yes, enjoy it. Enjoy the progress, the effort, the times you slip, and the surges forward. And the character it builds or reveals when you push your shoulder against the immovable and shove it the hell up the hill.

What do you believe in?

i believe spirituality
photo credit: Stained glass via photopin (license)

1. I believe spirituality is a do-it-yourself project you don’t always need a house of worship to construct.


2. I believe strength, wisdom and good fortune are admirable things to pray for, but sometimes, you just have to pray for a premium cheeseburger.

3. I believe any day you can put the world on hold and just be with your kids is crazy stupid awesome.

4. I believe the best way to take care of myself is to keep writing.

5. I believe squirrels and churros should always be celebrated.

6. I believe I’ll always hope for hope.


world soccer
photo credit: A young start via photopin (license)

7. I believe in those close connections that give our world at large its shape and scope.


8. I believe anger and yoga don’t mix.

9. I believe we should, at any age, allow imagination to lead the way sometimes.

10. I believe it’s a sure sign of delicious food when, in the Instagram age, we eat our food before we photograph it.

11. I believe this fatherhood thing is tougher than passing a fullback through the head of a needle, but … the rewards! Holy hell. So.worth.it.

12. I believe if ‘glitch’ is prominent in your dating vocab, you’re doing it wrong.


i believe twinkies
photo credit: 365.066 via photopin (license)

13. I believe it’s weird that God didn’t make veggies taste like Twinkies.

14. I believe I’m a grown-ass man with a lot of problems – but never having tasted Nutella shouldn’t be one.

15. I believe I can become of more utility to my children than any app.

16. I believe Lionel Richie’s “Hello” is the only “Hello.”

17. I believe any game controller that has a button for ‘turbo’ is too high tech for me.

18. I believe coaching soccer to be 30 percent the game, 70 percent life.


i believe breakfast dessert
photo credit: French Cruller via photopin (license)

19. I believe breakfast should have dessert.


20. I believe dabbing is the tuna casserole of touchdown celebrations.

21. I believe you can learn so much about yourself by stuffing all your belongings into boxes and carrying them to a new home.

22. I believe there’s always a blues song playing in my heart. The best days are those that have a bitchin’ harmonica solo.

23. I believe decorative towels become shop towels in 2.2 seconds with kids around.

24. I believe team allegiance should rank among the most steadfast genes in the DNA strand.


i believe slow cooker
photo credit: crock pot via photopin (license)

25. I believe I’m a slow cooker of words – sometimes on low, sometimes on high, but always on.


26. I believe the less time you spend fussing on why and try to understand how, the better.

27. I believe we need a Boys to Men Symposium, for boys – not for the R&B group, but they’d be invited – to guide young men toward what they should be.

28. I believe acceptance, friendship, compassion … all that … they’re from the same spice rack, aren’t they? It’s all love.

29. I believe tacos upgrade anything, anywhere, any time. Seriously, try it.

30. I believe piranha biting must be awful. Naked piranha biting must reach new levels of hell.


baseballs
photo credit: HckySo via photopin cc

31. I believe baseball hits closest to our souls than any other sport – it allows us to foolishly renew hope every dang-blasted spring.


32. I believe there’s a difference between childlike and childish; the first, marked by inquisitiveness; the second, by obnoxiousness. Dads, take note.

33. I believe kids are the cheese on top and the dessert in life.

34. I believe my biggest hope and dream for my girls is that when they’re grown up, I wish them to be close enough to conjure mischief together still.

35. I believe bacon and chocolate cake can motivate incredibly. Don’t get it crooked.

36. I believe working from home is hard, because you know where the cheese is and a nap on the couch feels like the right thing to do.


i believe queso dip

37. I believe you need a lot of queso to counteract the effects of whole-grain tortilla chips, but I’m motivated like that.


38. I believe there’s beauty in being a work in progress – regardless of how much work lies ahead.

39. I believe challenge is good, unless it’s a struggle to get a bag of animal crackers open.

40. I believe time you’re not productive or efficient can often be the most productive and efficient time you can spend.

41. I believe it’ll be training camp time soon, and I haven’t gloated about the Denver Broncos winning the Super Bowl nearly enough.

42. I believe Trump vs. Hillary is the worst thing for America since the Patriots vs. Seahawks Super Bowl.

believe quote 6

24 thoughts on “I Believe … VI”

  1. 13. I believe it’s weird that God didn’t make veggies taste like Twinkies. Oh I don’t think it’s weird at all. If veggies tasted like Twinkies, imagine how much extra potty time we’d need 😀

    1. Right Lyn? I think He might have had that idea, to make veggies taste like Twinkies, until the whole Garden of Eden incident.

      If I were God, I’d have considered it. It could, as you pointed out, create a potty usage epidemic, though.

  2. Yes to so many of these and the food one, I sadly do often take pics of food before I even get to eat it and post to Instagram. Ode to the technological world we live in now LOL!! 😉

    1. If it’s really good, I just don’t have the time to waste in photographing my food, Janine. What if a raven swoops in and steals it? I can’t take that chance.

  3. “I believe there is beauty in being a work in progress.” I believe that we are a work in progress from the moment we are born to the minute we die, and beyond. And there is most definitely beauty in it all. Stellar post Eli. Lots of cheese, dessert, and family love. Yum!

    1. Glad you liked that one, Sue. I hope I’m still – and always – in progress. Beauty is everywhere. I collect these over time, and it’s interesting to see how they change as I transition from here to there. Cheese, dessert and family love never go out of style.

  4. I believe Steven Tyler hasn’t been reading our blog. I also believe #31 was a gentle reminder to check the score of the O’s and Red Sox game. I further believe that just because we’re losing in the 3rd it doesn’t mean we’ll be losing in the 9th. Great stuff here, Eli!

  5. I love these!! When I find myself nodding to every single one, I can only think but “damn girl who got some amazing souls in your life.” And if that isn’t something to be grateful for, I am doing Life wrong.
    Sorry I am so far behind… the sunshine and warmth distracted me. 🙂

    1. Thanks Rore! Glad some resonated. I’m grateful to have the words here and at your place that bridge the gaps.

      Not behind, at all. The words even have reverence for the sunshine.

Say what you need to say

