Photo a Day Challenge: June 15 – Birth


challenge birth

First of all, this is Grace’s photo, not mine.

When I see something beautiful to photograph, before I can even find the stupid camera icon on my $20 Android, one of my girls will inevitably whip out an iPhone or iPod and say, “dad, I got this. Your phone camera sucks.”

I wish they were this way about laundry and dishes.

Today’s word, birth, wasn’t easy. I’m glad for that. Flowerspuppies and bacon? Too easy. Evoke thought, struggle. I wanted a shot of Marie’s first real training session with this crazy good team she made for the fall. A birth into something new, right?

No way in heck I’m getting that picture.

Grace sat with me as we waited for training to end. She pointed out this cloud formation, and told me just why it’d produce a considerable storm. She spouted out words I couldn’t remember (why are so many cloud words so similar?)

See that strip above the cloud, that looks like white bacon?

It’s ice, I think. If I understood right. Or icy or ice-like. The combination of that and the puffy clouds that look like mashed potatoes (no gravy) mean there’s a storm. We were looking at the birth of a storm. My little meteorologist.

“On TV, know what the most popular words they say are?” Grace asked as she ran around in socks, firing a half-flat soccer ball at a stone wall. “Um, and uh. I wouldn’t do that if I was on TV.”

“Kaitlin Cody doesn’t do that,” I pointed out.

“Yeah,” she said. “Your girl.”

We talked about Hope Solo and Laura Linney and Kaitlin Cody and Christina from Skullbuster Challenge and it occurred to me I have a lot of girls. Grace kind of giggles over that fact.

Guess what happened when we left practice, toward that cloud?

We got rained on.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

birth quote

13 thoughts on “Photo a Day Challenge: June 15 – Birth

  1. You have some really smart kids! I would never look at that cloud and think, “hmmm a storm’s coming.” I’d think, “ooooo look, so pretty!” At least I’d have a happy thought before being electrocuted by lightning. 😋

  2. Yeah, when it comes to gadgets, kids usually are pretty helpful 😉 I like the picture, and I can relate. We are getting rained on all the time these days. Today (it’s the 16th already here) is my Dad’s birthday.

    1. They know more than me – and they also have nicer gadgets than I do, Tamara! Glad you liked Grace’s shot.

      We’re in the season of afternoon thunderstorms, although right now, it’s puffy white clouds and blue skies. Happy birthday to your dad!

Say what you need to say

