Photo a Day Challenge: June 16 – Dinosaur


challenge dinosaur My dinosaur has no name.

I’m not talking given names, such as Geneva, Angelica or Noel. I’m talking a species identifier. He’s repping today’s word, dinosaur, nonetheless. He’s got a nasty disposition and major dentition going on. Who wants to mess with that?

Until science catches up with him, he’ll be known simply as The Writing Beast.

See, Elise won him at a beach-side arcade, and gifted him to me. I kept him close, and a funny thing happened: I wrote fiercely. I left him in my bag – and wrote non-fiercely. It’s a simple correlation, really: The Writing Beast begets monster writing.

He’s nearby now, in fact.

In the photo, which Grace snapped for me, he’s stalking out his next victim in the midst of a succulent plant I planted myself. Gorgeous, isn’t it? Bad boy needs watering like once a month to survive. I can get behind a plant like that.

Plus, it’s prime dinosaur habitat.

It’s not those fearsome tusks or shroud of mystery in his makeup that give him mystical powers. It’s his source. My kid gave him to me. The one soon off for college, who’s navigating life transitions like a champ.

Once, when she was about 8, an old man called her “little one,” and she took exception.

I didn’t. She was my little one then, and is, now. I still call her that. So when she’s off studying and eating at the student union and tracking through the snow in her moccasins at Warren Wilson, her prehistoric gift will power me on.

My fingers, anyway.

dinosaur quote

14 thoughts on “Photo a Day Challenge: June 16 – Dinosaur

    1. Right, Eric? He lies in wait there, looking for good posts with strong SEO. It’d be criminal to waste those chompers on salad and fruit cups.

      Pteradactyl burgers, perhaps?

  1. Netflix has the first three Jurassic Park movies on streaming now. We ended up watching them all one day last week, which just reaffirmed my love for the stegosaurus and whatever they call the brontosaurus these days. I like your non-specific one too! 🙂

  2. I’ve discovered I have a writing spot. Kinda like Pooh’s Thinking Spot I reckon. I haven’t sat in that spot for awhile now, probably because the kids deposited their year end mountain of dead tree upon it and I have to sort it all out. And by that I mean find someone who is having a bonfire. I am not sentimental about dead tree crafts. Well, maybe one or two will survive…. and just maybe one will become my “dinosaur” and get me back on spot.

    1. We all need one or two writing spots, Rore. Probably even Caroline Wozniacki has one.

      Can’t you simply sit on the tree? Or have your own on-spot bonfire. Just let the ashes cool before you sit.

      Dinosaurs sure don’t hurt the cause.

      1. With 3 kids (as I am sure you have experienced), I would feel rather like I am sitting on Everest itself!! LOL And alas, no open fires allowed around these parts. I need to get me a country abode. 🙂

Say what you need to say

