Photo a Day Challenge: June 18 – Pink (Plus a Monday Music Blog Hop)


challenge pink
HMP

My kids have developed an aversion to pink.

It’s partially because the entire toy section seems to be divided along pink vs. camo lines. My girls bring ferocity, in a pretty way. That’s the best way to describe it. Not hair-bow pretty, but just enough eye makeup, usually painted fingernails pretty.

Yet, they come to kick some ass.

My sport Saturday: To watch a handful of 3v3 games Grace played in, while keeping my germs at a distance, as the only guy at the field with a chill and long sleeves. I downed a couple of Gatorades on the day, one of them pink, to wash down Ibuprofen.

Marie snapped this shot as I watched Grace do her thing.

I got home exhausted. I didn’t want her to miss her tournament, though. She learned quirks and rules with a new brand of soccer, and played well enough to make the finals. Grace brought home another finalists’ medal, and you know how she feels about those.

As we walked to the car after the final, I told my girls how much fun it was to come watch them play.

No matter how big the field, how big the stakes, how big the team or how big the opponent, how many rules are new or how many decks are stacked against them, they always find a way to come out and kick ass.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

… And a music challenge, too

I can’t turn down a challenge lately, it seems.

Tiffany at Sounds Like Life to Me has a Monday Music challenge. This week: Summertime. I told Tiff I’d come up with a mini playlist of summer songs that don’t include the word summer. Here’s my three:


Lowdown, Boz Skaggs

In the 70s, I had the coolest aunts, uncles and cousins. Strains of the Rolling Stones, Boz Skaggs, George Thoroughgood, Rod Stewart and the like spiced my life soundtrack. This is among the coolest of songs by one of the coolest cats in the decade.


Sailing, Christopher Cross

A Hispanic kid in landlocked Northeast Colorado doesn’t know a lot about sailing, but this song still says summer to me. There are summers in a boy’s life when he notices the girl at the campground store register more than what he could catch in the lake.

 


Interstate Love Song, Stone Temple Pilots

This one comes from my college years. I couldn’t, perhaps, identify with the drug-use angle of songs like this, but the angsty parts? Most certainly. Still do. It’s a driving, badass kind of song that brings my summer playlist into more modern times.

What would go on your summer playlist?

pink quote

27 thoughts on “Photo a Day Challenge: June 18 – Pink (Plus a Monday Music Blog Hop)”

  1. LOVE the music, LOVE the quote. I’m NOT a fan of pink myself but that’s okay. That’s why the color black was invented, for girls just like me. Happy Musical Monday, Eli.

    1. Glad you liked the picks, Nix. My girls aren’t big on pink, either, but they do seem to like P!nk.

      So maybe black can be the new pink? Because I think my girls could support that cause.

      1. P!nk was amazing in concert. Just have to say she’s a tremendous live performer and really, if we have to say any of them can be used as role models, she’s one of the better ones in my opinion. She’s strong and unapologetically just WHO she is. I love that.
        Black as the new pink? I can completely get behind that.
        Hope you’re feeling better!

      2. I bet she puts on a good show. I want to see Diana Krall live. I do like P!nk’s individuality. Plus, when my girls sing “na na na na na na na I want to start a fight,” I feel a little proud.

    1. I thought of about 10 more that could have gone on the list today, Holly. Good thing the summer is long.

      I’m feeling slightly better than yesterday, which is all any of us can ask, right?

  2. And one of the best and MY favorite Audrey quotes! Well done my friend on the songs and the photo! What a fabulously bright spot in my day.

    Thank you!

    1. Audrey has several good ones – this is the second one I’ve used in the past month, I think. Glad I could wrap in your challenge today … I think it’s awesome, and I hope to get in another time too.

    1. I couldn’t miss it, Stacy! She’s gotten to where the only medals she wants are the champions – but the experience of not quite getting there has value, too. Maybe more.

      Glad you liked my song choices. I look forward to checking out your post!

  3. So glad you decided to take our challenge with summer tunes. We have this challenge every Monday, and next Monday is a Freebie so you can Post whatever songs you like. The Monday after that I will give you a sneak peak and the theme shall be songs too float your boat regarding the 4th of July! WOO HOO! Truly hope you can make it. Rocked out to your tunes today. You’ve got fabulous choices. My new friend you have totally rocked the house! WOO HOO YOU ROCK!

    1. I’m glad too, Dolly. I’ll see about tying it into my Monday post next week, too. Can’t believe it’s almost Independence Day, too.

      I’ll be sure to join. Glad you liked my playlist – I will add more tunes next time. Thanks again!

  4. Congrats on the win!
    I love when kids are part of a team and learn to bring the spirit, no matter what.

    And I courage the love of all colors, so the kids don’t begin to despise a color 🙂 I think it’s working….maybe. hahaha.

  5. Love all three songs, especially the last as I am still a huge Stone Temple Pilots fan even after all these years. Oh and I saw the pink Gatorade and thought of Emma’s soccer games as this is all she drinks before a game now here!! 🙂

    1. Stone Temple Pilots, Blind Melon, Spin Doctors … all that stuff brings back college memories for me, Janine.

      The pink is Emma’s secret sauce? Marie picked that color for me.

Say what you need to say

