Photo a Day Challenge: June 19 – Sand


challenge sand

This is sand.

It’s a time-wasting website Grace featured on her guest post here. It hit me as I struggled to find sand in my mind, let alone my world, for the next word in the photo challenge. A great excuse to get to the coast, germs and all, right?

I began trying to replicate a beach scene, with a sunset, or a sunrise, whichever it happened to look most like.

As “Let it Be” strained over my Pandora, I began to just that. I’d changed mindsets, seeing my native Colorado western sky for a moment, then the old-school Milwaukee Bucks uniforms in the next.

I shook sand and changed colors (you must try this site) to the beat of Rufus Wainright’s “Hallelujah,” then to nothing at all.

Sand like most things in a day didn’t go exactly where I intended. No matter. I could do nothing about sand in the frame, but I could change colors and pour more here or less there. It became more about what I could do next, than what I’d done.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

sand quote

28 Replies to “Photo a Day Challenge: June 19 – Sand”

  1. Love those sand scenes you can get in glasses or jars. Couldn’t get that link “this is sand” to work. Could be my internet though, it’s been very spasmodic the last couple of days 😦

      1. Nup, not working. I think it’s definitely my internet. It took five minutes for your page to load. We’ve had so much rain lately, the junction box at the end of the road is probably full of water again. It happens every time… about a week after we have flooding. Might be time to get some naked DSL 😦

  2. So many fantastic insights, here! I love your sandy pic, and all of your reflections on your sand-finding process. Reminding myself today that it won’t go as planned, and I can only change the next thing, not what already happened. Take care, Eli! Hope you have a great weekend!

    1. Thanks Lulu! The site was therapeutic in the moment. I write my day list in pencil so that I can erase and add the better stuff that comes along (although I recognize it isn’t all better stuff.) Have a great weekend, Lulu. Look forward to reading your post on kindness next.

      1. I learned that when I used to design the front page for the sports section at the Tallahassee Democrat. It was when Mark McGwire chased the season home run record. I drew the front page design in pencil the night he tied the record. It meant we had to tear up the front page – but what a blast that was.

  3. Lovely. That site has become my go to Zen place when I need to hit “pause.” There’s something soothing about placing coloured sand in neat piles… or completely random ones. I usually have Astral Weeks by Van Morrison playing in the background.

    1. Cool, huh Les? I thought about trying to count the grains of sand for the ultimate in serenity.

      My piles never come out neat. Can you imagine a control freak trying to sand? Add a little Van Morrison to the mix (or Diana Krall) and you can’t help but get all Zen AF.

Say what you need to say

