Guest Post: Elle, of Elle Sees, on Beauty


elle lede
photo credit: generations via photopin (license)

It’s good to branch out.

I’ve done this blogging thing for a few years. I couldn’t really find my man tribe, because, well, they’re not there. I’ve gravitated toward the moms out there. I’m like the Navajo scout who helps lead the white man around in the wilderness in a Western movie.

I’ve accumulated friends of all ages, lifestyles and writing styles. Sundry genres.

Even beauty blogs. I felt strange, at first, yes. Like, when I walk into one of those mall lotion stores all by myself. But then, I’m just myself. I’ll comment on something dumb like the name of a lipstick or how I don’t know foundation from rouge.

And then I make friends in the beauty world.

That’s kind of like Donald Trump making friends with the Peace Corps. I’m as natural fit there as tofu in a Texas Roundhouse. It’s as good a fit as … well, you get the picture. Today, one of my beauty blogger friends, Elle, takes center stage.

For someone who knows the technical side of cosmetic beauty, Elle has a firm grasp of other aspects of life that make us beautiful. Please give her a warm CD welcome.

elle secondary
The 236/365 Follow my project with CClones 365-2011 on Twitter | Facebook

What does beauty mean to me?

Hi, I’m Elle, and you can find me at my beauty blog, Elle Sees. I share everything beauty, from hair to makeup to skincare to nails. I share the products that are worth splurging for, as well as my favorite cheap products, and how to save even more money by making them yourself.

ellesees3So speaking of beauty, what does beauty mean to me? I do feel more confident when I’m wearing makeup as opposed to the just-rolled-out-of-bed look (I rock this look too). But that’s not all there is to me. Beauty, to me, is whatever makes me smile the most. One thing that makes me smile the most is when became an aunt.

I have many names, but my favorite is Aunt Nanny. I am the proud aunt of two nephews and four nieces. They range in age from seven years to four months (I recently met the youngest! She and her sister live in Virginia). These six parts of my heart are officially the cutest kids on the planet. 😉

I believe it was my youngest sister who started calling me “Nanny” as a nickname when she was two. I have no idea why, but it stuck. My family even started calling me Nanny. So when I became an aunt for the first time, only Aunt Nanny would do for my name.

What makes you feel beautiful?

beauty quote

 

6 thoughts on “Guest Post: Elle, of Elle Sees, on Beauty”

  1. Color makes me happy. I can’t stand pictures of myself, but if I add color in somehow, it helps me feel a little better 🙂

Say what you need to say

