Photo a Day Challenge: June 22 – Paint


challenge paint

I hadn’t noticed it had gotten this bad.

On a Taco Bell/Dollar Tree run for two bean burritos (no onions), triple-layer nachos, earbuds, deodorant and peanut butter wafers, I noticed the damage to Gabi’s hood. Dings, that grew. Dings, that, with miles and sun and more miles, started to peel.

Gabi’s Stormtrooper-white finish, pocked with primer and rust spots.

She’s not the only one. I once could claim months, years, even, of sick-free existence. Lately, germs and conditions seem to be parading on my doctor’s file. It happens without notice. One day, you’re motoring down the highway. Next, you’re on cinder blocks.

The dings don’t keep her down, though.

I’ll need Gabi at her motoring best, which she’s best at, this fall. Elise’s home games will be in Asheville, but the schedule will likely have her everywhere from Kentucky to the Carolinas to Florida. Marie’s first tournament will be in Roanoke, Va.

That doesn’t even include Grace’s schedule.

So, the paint. It’s not a big deal on Gabi. Sure, she was Stormtrooper smooth in her youth. So was I. We’re both now a bit like the Millennium Falcon. You know, beat up and creaky, but able to bust a little T.I.E. fighter ass and hit hyperspeed when needed.

[Check out the photo challenge weโ€™re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

paint quote

The SHINE Blog Hop
34 thoughts on “Photo a Day Challenge: June 22 – Paint”

  1. Poor Gabi, she looks as if she’s been through a lot. My Harry is 16 years old now and could do with a good cut back and polish.

      1. Oh I hope not. Can’t afford a new car. I’ll just get Harry a new engine…sort of like a heart transplant ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. The new engine will be $1,400. Not too bad really, and my mechanic will let me pay it off at $100 a month. They’ve always been very good to me.

      3. LOL I know. Harry is insured for $4,000. It would cost me heaps more than that to buy a “new” car that would be any good, so a new engine sounds like a good option ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A voice of experience here–it’s not hard to get a container of touch up paint and slap it on the spots. It won’t be perfect but will keep the rust away.

  3. I got a notice when I renewed my registration last month that my license plates were 17 years old and I may need to replace them due to wear and tear. So in an effort to save ten bucks, I took a Magic Eraser to them…turns out that wasn’t just dirt, but dirty metal from where the paint had chipped off over time New plates (but same message) had to be ordered after all. Lucky for me but not so much for the car that it’s dark grey so any hood dings will be hidden for a while longer.

    Roanoke? Wow, that is a trek from your neck of the woods.

    1. Seventeen years? That’s longer than some baseball stadiums last these days. If your car’s like mine, they probably wear those scars proudly.

      We’re also going to Augusta, Ga.

  4. go gabi! who cares if you have a few dings, paint scrapes and mechanical problems. you have grit and spirit and they are everything.

  5. So I have a theory: with cars and with people, age and time takes it’s toll. We all get ugly, gravity kills, and the wear and tear starts to show on the sleekest models. This is why it’s important to look under the hood, make sure you’re signing on for something with staying power and schedule a tune up now and again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Personally, I’m partial to cars and people with a little character and history.

    1. I like this theory, Nix. We depreciate the moment we drive off the lot. Just need to change the oil and whatnot.

      I said something to this effect on another blog – a young woman might be pretty, but she’s a blank canvas; a mom, she’s a masterpiece.

  6. Like a good stormtroper, she’ll be loyal to the end. Otherwise you would have her Fin. A little character goes a long way. The stories she could tell would be incredible, I bet!

    1. Her aim is awful, which is also quite Stormtrooper, Eric. No quit in this gal, even if it is to join the rebel alliance.

      This says nothing for the cracked windshield and missing headlight. Maybe she should write a guest post.

  7. “Itโ€™s not a big deal on Gabi. Sure, she was Stormtrooper smooth in her youth. So was I. Weโ€™re both now a bit like the Millennium Falcon. You know, beat up and creaky, but able to bust a little T.I.E. fighter ass and hit hyperspeed when needed.”

    Sums up aging, especially in parenthood, very vividly! XOXOX

  8. Aw, my Jeep is over 8 years old and has its fair share of wear and tear, too, but absolutely still love my Jeep with all its imperfections and more. Oh and by the way now, I just want Taco Bell and it isn’t even 8:30 am LOL!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Say what you need to say

