Photo a Day Challenge: June 25 – Bright


challenge bright

I didn’t expect to go out.

Honestly, I wasn’t in any condition. I’d worked all day in the garage. I’d flung on a hoodie, a Broncos cap, soccer shorts and my Star Wars loafers. I’d intended to schlep free Wi-Fi at Harris-Teeter for a few hours while my two youngest kids babysat.

I took the invite to check out music at a Charlotte legend instead.

The theme at The Milestone that night: Reunions. All bands who took the stage at this historic and endangered music venue did so with at least two years since their previous performance together. “We got to dust this off,” one musician said after his set.

Why the ceiling and star?

Acts on stage such as Mr. Invisible absolutely killed it. People at either elbow and in front of you and back of the house were stellar. This light shone on reflective stars, illuminating stickers and graffiti that told unknown stories and in reverence to the passion on stage.

The stars stole my attention as I found my body moving and grooving involuntarily, a new friend in sight or behind me close to the stage as humanly possible.

The bright, then, extended wall to wall, out the back door and into a courtyard full of friends of each other who tossed that blanket of friendship around the boy who showed up without a shower but with room for song in his heart.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

bright quote

 

 

16 Replies to “Photo a Day Challenge: June 25 – Bright”

  1. Great quote to end your post! Music is one of those things that just unite people. No matter the color of the skin, their sexual orientation, religion and so on. Fantastic, isn’t it… how music can make us feel good, make us relax, forget about everything.

  2. Exactly. Something to be said for a little spontaneity and living in the moment. When’s the last time you just let go and went with it?

    1. Right? An impulse now and then is no crime. That night certainly qualifies, and I also bought a pair of Nikes the other day that were $26 – but I thought were $45! Wild, I know.

Say what you need to say

