#GirlsRock: An Interview with CRO (and so much more) Jen Friel


friel lede
EJP

Some girls rock to the extreme that they could have a sequel to their #GirlsRock post.

CD INTERVIEWSJen Friel fits the bill. I can’t even give her a proper introduction, because where do you start? You know that person at the party who has done literally everything? This is Jen. yes, she’s CRO of Dropin Inc., a live video platform.

Yes, she’s creator of the relationship blog called Talk Nerdy to Me, where nerds, tech and sex collide.

She has an Imdb page, guys. She’s a passionate entrepreneur, animal lover and total goofball (I ganked that from her site.) She has this kickass blog, too. She’s a LinkedIn contact I sought out for a possible freelance piece for a feminist magazine.

(“I am 100% a feminist,” she said when I asked. Me too, I said. And she still went along with this.)

Just … read this post. This girl follows her heart, and is there really anything more than that? Click the links. Trust me on this one. She shows us all how much #GirlsRock and is unapologetic for being textually active. And here’s her Twitter.

friel2

CD: When you were little, what did you think you’d be when you grew up?

jenmuJF: I wanted to be Kelly Kupowski. I also started typing when I was 2 and had my first computer “company” at 8. I’ve always done my own thing and built my own way.

CDAt age 8, my biggest ambition was to get all the Star Wars figures. Impressive! What did your computer company do, and what was it called?

JF: It was called Computers Anonymous, and I taught adults how to use WordPperfect, Juno, and basic word-processing skills.

CD: How did grownups take being taught by an 8-year-old?

JF: There was no judgement. They were happy to have the help.

CDWhat’s one lesson you learned from that first endeavor that still impacts how you work today?

JF: At age 8? I carried business cards everywhere with me as a kid. It taught me to be prepared – and kinda freaked adults out.

CD: Probably because you were more prepared than they were! How much did that preparedness help you to land the gig with Snorg tees, and beyond?

JF: Every step of the way was because of social media, or something that I just found interesting. It was never this big moment of holy shit! The opposite. After I crashed the Grammy awards and actually found Pete Cashmore, I went home and did laundry.

jen5Every adventure prepared me for something. i just didn’t know what while i was doing it.

CD: Wait, what? Let’s start with the Grammy awards crashing, and get to Pete Cashmore. I follow that cat on Google Plus.

JF: Yeah, that’s what started everything, realizing “where there was a will there could be a way.”

CD: Okay. Everyone MUST stop reading here and read your story about crashing the Grammys. I’d suggest someone make a movie about this, but who would believe it? If they did, though, who would play you?
JF: Jerry Bruckheimer bought the life rights. It’s a TV show 🙂
CD: Of course it is! How did that happen? (Don’t let me forget to ask you about the 129 dates in 365 days thing, either)
JF103 dates in 9 months (accidentally while couch surfing) That’s how i met the modern- day shaman.
CD: I don’t even know how to describe you and your life. Help me out?
JF: I’m just on an adventure. I follow my heart, and I’ve turned it into a career. Still don’t know what I’m doing, but I’m learning.
CD: We all should be able to say that, Jen. So what advice would you give to girls out there, on finding a life of adventure?
JF: Say yes. It’s really that simple. Nothing that I’m doing is rocket science, or even particularly interesting, I’m sure, to most people – but i enjoy it and that brings in more and more experiences.
  jen quote
8 thoughts on “#GirlsRock: An Interview with CRO (and so much more) Jen Friel

  1. Girls do rock! The Canadian ones, too. Of Olympics, Canada has won 13 medals and 12 of them were by women! Jen sounds like a great gal to be buds with for great adventures. Crashing the Grammys!!

Say what you need to say

