No Guest Post Here. How’s About 10 More Random Smartphone Photos?


smartphone 8 24 lede
Who just went 2.7 seconds on a parrot named Fumanchu?

Another week, another guest post lost.

My inbox contains buried treasure. In it, correspondence from friends far and near. Agreements to guest post. Inquiries into soccer teams. Catch-ups, and rundowns. It’s tons better than anything found in Al Capone’s vault, even.

I’m getting closer to taking up shovels and those little whisky brushes like Indiana Jones.

I hope when I return to emails I’ve yet to return, you haven’t given up on me. I’m coming around, I promise. It’s not a brushoff – rather, you’re swept up in a convex twister than relies on randomality and the universe to sit you front and center.

When the time comes.

Instead today, please enjoy another random pictures from my smartphone post. Apologize if some seem repetitive; yes, there’s a shot from Boston, and another from Elise’s graduation day, but they’re all fresh.

I promise.


smartphone 8 24 1

It’s not easy being cheesy. I picked up a Cubano sandwich at work, by passed the salad cart and hummus and sushi and nabbed this bag on a slightly trying day. I actually muttered out loud, “eff it. I’m getting Cheetos.”


smartphone 8 24 2

Turns out a water buffalo and an ostrich eat the same chow. And both make a stellar burger, too. I kept this one on the happy end of the food chain – for a day at least – during a team outing at Lazy 5 Ranch.


smartphone 8 24 3

No one – not even the woman at the U-Scan ahead of me at Harris-Teeter buying cheese with her son – thought it odd I would snap photos of my G2 while waiting. I picked this one to go with the June Photo Challenge – the word? Pink. [Here’s what I did.]


smartphone 8 24 4

I miss this kid. She’s at college, studying in the library with two boys. Yes, I believe her. Her first game featured a few shots on goal, a sweet service ball or three, a couple of saves, one goal allowed and some tense moments I thought a fight would break out.


smartphone 8 24 5

Let’s break this down. Those’re buckwheat pancakes with a side of bacon. That’s a mimosa, from which I sipped every time the millennial across the table used the word legit. There’s a fried egg and a Diet Coke because that day, I was royalty.


smartphone 8 24 6

Another Boston shot, from my hotel room. I love the melding of old and new in Boston. I also love the burger place across the street where I had dinner. All on my own, with a server-suggested side of onion rings. I was sick as hell, but happy in the moment.


 

smartphone 8 24 7

Elise and Marie made the Uwharrie Athletic All-Conference team. Here’s Elise’s certificate. I got one of Marie’s too. That’ll be another Wednesday. The girls also made the Matthews Mint-Hill Weekly Super team for girls’ soccer. I’m kinda proud.


smartphone 8 24 8

Me, chilling with Guilford, the largest grasshopper in North Carolina. Unofficially. He’s the Greensboro Grasshoppers official mascot, and anatomically, is as grasshopper-like as me, which is to say not at all. I also had a funnel cake that night.


smartphone 8 24 9I love this one. Grace usually rouses me up early on a rare soccer-free Saturday for some fishin’. This time, Marie came, too. My hope: When they’re all grown up and giving boys a chance, they’ll still have the inclination to fish with dad on a Saturday morning.


smartphone 8 24 10

This kid manages to make it out places with me quite often. She rides shotgun and always suggests a stop for snacks. I can’t even remember what Grace and I were up to that day. I’m just glad she came along for the ride.

brain photo quote

16 thoughts on “No Guest Post Here. How’s About 10 More Random Smartphone Photos?

  1. I love the pictures and adore the quote at the end because imagine if we could print the pictures we capture with our eyes and mind!! How cool would that be???

  2. aaww great pictures my friend. My dad read your post too. I think I lost him at Cubano sandwich cause he went yum and started staring at me with glassy eyes. XOXO – Bacon

    1. It’s a thing then, the Cheetos Effect, right Audrey? I felt instantly better, and I’m probably 2, 3 months from needing such a fix again.

      A few more of these, and we’ll have to develop a secret handshake. Yes, the smiles are the common denominator. I wouldn’t trade it!

  3. I had an ‘eff this week’ moment and started drinking Coke again. It’s delicious. I can quit any time. I’ve quit a hundred times already. Great shots. And I totally agree… sometimes we need to experience life through our eyes not through a lens. Now I’m off to Google Cubano sandwich.

    1. It happens, brother. Especially that first sinful one, is delicious. I’ve quit many times. It’s easy.

      Glad you like the shots. The ones I never took are even better.

      p.s. Cubanos are the Belinda Carlisles of sandwiches.

  4. I will not complain ever when you show us more of YOU… and those lovely girls. This feels like being in the moments – such great moments and Life just being enjoyed to the max, I could hardly be offended over a late email reply. This is the good stuff that fills your Love Tank up to the brim! 🙂

    1. Hey thanks, Rore. I miss the interaction, though, and need to catch up. I’d like a day for email. An entire day, and it could also include a binge session of Friday Night Lights and some frozen pizza.

      You’re so right about filling the tank with all the right things.

Say what you need to say

