Where We’d Go and What We’d Do, in 6 Words


passport-lede
photo credit: DocChewbacca #26 Let’s go surfing II via photopin (license)

Passport awareness to me means knowing where the dreaded thing is.

GAD GRAPHICIt’s a viable fear, losing my passport in another country. Not that I jet-set. Were it not for Red Ventures’ annual company trip, the extent of my worldly travel could be summed up in a drive down Charlotte’s Central Avenue, with its Mexican bakeries and Mediterranean restaurants.

I compile a monthly post called “6 Words.”

Ernest Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in six words. I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt. September was National Passport Awareness Month.

In six words, tell us where you’d go, and what you’d do. Think “To Croatia, to get a tan” or “England, to change Pippa Middleton’s mind.”

What say you? Where would you go? What would you do? Here’s what my strange blogger friends say:


passport-italian
photo credit: wwwYnand! Gnocchi_L1080111 via photopin (license)

1. To Italy and eat Italian food.

Lisa, of Blondie’s BEARista


2. Italy to shop, eat, drink wine.

Hilary G., of Feeling Beachie


3. India, to MODIfy the rape laws.

Patricia C., of New Bloggy Cat


4. Ireland, to find my soul’s roots.

Rhea M., of Life is Messy, Life is Marvelous


5. Paul, Jenn and Poutine in Montreal.

Jenn L., of The Pilgrimage


6. Italy, eating pasta and drinking wine!

Tiffany M., of Sounds Like Life to Me


passport-pho
photo credit: jpellgen Go Go Pho via photopin (license)

7. For the love of Pho, Vietnam.

Michelle D., of The Complete Savorist


8. To Ireland, to see the view.

Charlene A., of Thinking Outside the Pot


9. To England, to blackmail Prince Harry.

Deb R., of Deb Was Here


10. To Thailand, to taste life more!

Trina T., of Anything, Everything, All Things That Make Life


11. Banff. Kids should experience white Christmas.

Sandra, of A Momma’s View


12. To the Bahamas, to escape winter.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


passport-lottery
photo credit: chrisjtse 41:366:2016 via photopin (license)

13. Win lottery, move to Hawaii forever.

Teri B., of Snarkfest


14. To Rome, to run a marathon.

Lauren B., of Lauren Boldizar


15. Giraffe Manor in Kenya, bucket list.

Michelle N., of A Dish of Daily Life


16. An African safari, to honor Joey.

Kathy G., of Kissing the Frog


17. Machu Picchu, to enrich my soul!

Julie M.


18. Sail the world to teach kids.

Josie L., of A Family Afloat


aunie
Photo courtesy of Annelise Rowe

19. Overseas to battle, fighting for freedom!

Second Lieutenant Aunie R., of Aunie Sauce


20. Everywhere! Just to experience different cultures.

Rox, of Unintentionally Brilliant


21. To Sweden, to celebrate our 25th!

Susan D., of Color Me Writing


22. Bonjour Mickey! Disneyland Paris with grandkids.

Mo L., of Mocadeau


23. Bath, England, to find Nicholas Cage.

Ellen, of 15 and Meowing


24. Around the world to beat Verne.

Diana T., of Creating Herstory


passport-wine
photo credit: Jacopo Marcovaldi Wines via photopin (license)

25. To Italy, to drink the wine.

Susan, of A Woman’s View of Hunting … with Men


26. Forgot passport, can’t board the flight.

Clay W., of Making the Days Count


27. Oh, Paris! Bonjour, ma belle baguette!

Lulu, of The Real Adventures of Becoming (Whatever This Thing is That I Am Presuming is the Authentic and Genuine) Me


28. Peru, Uganda, Tanzania: Visit my children.

Casey A., of Hypervigilant.org


29. To Germany, I’d visit loved ones.

Lisa A., of Life of an El Paso Woman


30. Anywhere, barefoot, with my sweet girls.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy

passport-quote

70 thoughts on “Where We’d Go and What We’d Do, in 6 Words

  1. Not all who wander are lost. (HA! It’s 6 words!) This has been my motto pretty much for forever. Usually I am lost, though, I just don’t mind so I keep wandering. The only country I’ve been to (beside the US and Canada where I’ve lived) is Costa Rica. It was amazing!

    1. Perfect, Eric. I’m so glad it’s true, because I wander. Lots. I don’t feel lost. Costa Rica would be cool. I’m going to want to check out the soccer in any nation to which I travel.

      1. That would be a scene, Eric. I’d pack a backpack and ride the train across Europe to see as much football as I could. I’d wear an All Blacks jersey proudly, too.

  2. Love it! Thanks for including me again! Everyone has such great ideas. It seems like Italy is a pretty popular choice. Maybe I should bump that up my list. Of course, your quote at the end sums it all up beautifully. Wherever you are this weekend, I hope it’s wonderful and wholehearted!

    1. Thanks, Lu. And I’m glad you were with us. I get to see the sentences come together all month …

      Italy and wine came up the most. We wound up in Roanoke for the weekend, for a tournament they canceled, because we were on the hook for the hotel. we made the best and had a decent getaway! Hope your weekend was great, too.

      1. Making the best of it… I like it. Sorry the tournament was cancelled, though! I did have a good weekend. It was delightfully long, because my office got Monday off for Columbus Day, and I wasn’t expecting a three-day weekend, so it was nice!

      2. It’s a way of life, really, Lu. I would have loved to see my daughters play, of course. One got hurt playing anyway that weekend.

        I don’t think they know about Christopher Columbus here in the south, Lu. I could have used the three-day weekend!

      3. Hope everyone is healthy this weekend and there is good weather for some soccer matches, even if it is only a short two days. They are still the best two days of the week!

      4. It was a good weekend for it all, Lu.

        I’ll take any day of the week with these girls (I got to spend some time just playing around on the field with the younger two today – and it was just a Tuesday!)

  3. Right about now, the Bahamas doesn’t sound too good to me with the recent hurricane, but sure once that dies down I will be back on that kick again as winter is surely on its way and truly not happy even thinking about it. Thanks for the inclusion once again this month 😉

    1. Thanks Clay – Matthew washed out a soccer tournament for us, but that was about it for us, close to home (and not even, really – the tournament was in Roanoke, Va.)

      Thanks friend!

  4. Honored to be one of your “strange blog friends!” This is one of my favorite 6 words so far… the responses say so much about each person! Thanks again for including me… Aim High! Fly, Fight, Win!

    1. Oh, you’re one of the strangest, Aunie. It’s cool when we can answer these with the sky as the limit.

      I really appreciate your response, too. I had this photo from a prior six-words response of yours. Hope you don’t mind me pulling it out again!

  5. Australia is my dream trip… but lately every time I see photos of Ireland or Scotland; something stirs deep within and I can hear Celtic music in the background. But I love your barefoot idea most of all.

  6. It looks like Europe for the win. I can definitely get on board with all of the folks interested in going to Italy, especially for the food and wine. I will add that on after my time in Euro-Disney with the little guys. A special shout out to #19. Thanks, Aunie, for your service.

    1. No one said Zambia, Hong Kong or Guinea, did they Mo? Is Italian food and wine really better in Italy than it is in Aurora, Colo.; Newark, N.J.; or Long Beach, Calif.?

      Makes me wonder what Zambia-Disney might be like.

      This nation is in protected, strong and capable hands with the likes of Aunie, Mo. She’s an American hero.

Say what you need to say

