What We’d Do With a Week of Invisibility, in 6 Words


hilary-lede
photo credit: DocChewbacca #33 Troopers for breakfast via photopin (license)

Being invisible might suck.

6 words graphicI’m just being real here. My luck, I’d become invisible and walk in front of a cement truck. Or a kale truck even. Wait, are there kale trucks? I’d think that’d be counterproductive to use fossil fuels to deliver y’all’s favorite lib snack.

I took to the web and asked strangers, friends, and strange blogger friends, as I’m wont to occasionally do, to answer a prompt, in six words. Who does that? Ernest Hemingway, for one.

Y’all, for 23,902. (Roughly.) If you could be invisible for a week, what would you do? That’s what I asked. The answers? They were out of sight.

(My question came from the site Q4Kidz.org. They’ll send you a daily email or text with questions to ask your kids. Wonderful conversation fodder for the little ones. Camdyn (formerly known as Grace) has contributed questions to the cause there, too.

[Check them out!]


If you could be invisible for a week, what would you do?

6-words-invisible-ghost
photo credit: eddy_ 31 10 2016 via photopin (license)

1. A Ghost! Yes, haunting your ass.

Julie B., of Bug Bytes


2. Nosy spy on neighborhood–perfect opportunity 😉

Meredith S., of Mom of the Year


3. Prank my kids on their dates.

Dulcinea R., of Hodgepodge for the Soul


4. If I said, I’d be arrested.

Joyce L., of Catch My Words


5. Cry at movie, sing bad karaoke.

Kathy G., of The Second Half of My Life


6. I’d spy, get naughty, go naked.

Miriam, of Out an’ About


6-words-invisible-windows
photo credit: .SilentMode Emma’s Bath House preview via photopin (license)

7. Look in all my neighbors’ windows.

Andrea M., of About 100%


8. Live in someone’s beach house mansion.

Missy F., of Midlife Margaritas


9. Be “a fly on the wall.”

Susan D., of Color Me Writing


10. Visit Iceland, New Zealand, the world…

Sara L., of Sara LaTourneau


11. Beach, book, cold drink, husband, sun.

Terri G., of Take a Walk in My Shoes


12. Free animals, erase taxes, rob banks.

Susan Z., of Everything Susan


6-words-invisible-scare
photo credit: Craig Walkowicz You never know when DEATH will be right behind you… via photopin (license)

13. Finally, scare my brother-in-law!

Aunie, of Aunie Sauce


14. Eavesdrop. Perfect excuse for writer research. 😉

Jess W., of Jess Witkins’ Happiness Project


15. Enter the men’s team locker room.

Tessa, of Finally a Writer


16. Play ghost around people I dislike…

Sandra, of A Momma’s View


17. Eavesdrop on intimate and personal conversations.

Austin W., of Writings By Ender


18. Go to school with my children.

Summer M., of Scalded Milk


6-words-invisible-crime
photo credit: davidsonscott15 Police Car Lights via photopin (license)

19. Stop crime, travel free, creep around.

Tamara B., of Tamara (Like) Camera


20. See what’s behind “Don’t Enter” doors.

Jennifer L., of The Pilgrimage


21. Watch the pets after everyone leaves.

Michelle T., of Lipstick and Laundry


22. make sure my family is happy.

beth k., of i didn’t have my glasses on …


23. Spend the week uncovering government secrets.

Danny R., of Dream Big, Dream Often


24. Visit the mall, tap people’s shoulders.

Eric W., of All in a Dad’s Work


6-words-invisible-ear
photo credit: steveleenow 05. my right ear… (part 12) via photopin (license)

25. Visit son’s school, flick bully’s ear.

Penelope G., of Penelope’s Oasis


26. Sleep all day, eat all night.

Precious and Mel, of Sex and the Single Parent


27. Invisible!

Go where no one

Dares.

Lyn, of Call of the Pen


28. Shadow my teens, especially the girl.

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd


29. Learn what my husband really does.

Tara, of An Aiming High Wife


30. Barstool, meet butt: listen and learn.

Les B., of Ink Interrupted


6-words-invisible-piggy
photo credit: 1 Fine Cookie Miss Piggy cookie by 1 Fine Cookie via photopin (license)

31.Hang out in Miss Piggy’s bedroom.

Bacon T., of Pig Love


32. Enjoy not being asked for anything.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


33. I’d pretend to be a poltergeist.

Debbie, of Random Musings


34. Reading, writing, eating ice cream quietly.

Kim, of Protean Mom


35. Hang out in the Oval Office.

Susan, of Life is a Journey, Not a Guided Tour


36. Hide in a corner and read.

Rabia L., of The Liebers


panthers-and-stuff-436

37. Love being seen, so I’ll pass.

Ann K., of The Year(s) of Living Non-judgementally


38. Flies on wall? Nothing on me.

LJ


39. Rescue all animals used for experiments.

Ellen, of 15 and Meowing


40. Watch every show on Broadway. Twice.

Dana H., of Kiss My List


41. That depends, is money an option?

Jillian S., of Jillian Loves 


42. Follow my daughter everywhere and pray!

Tiffany M., of Kisma’s Life


6-words-invisible-startle
photo credit: andrewrennie Surprise! (182/365) via photopin (license)

43. Stop by, snoop, startle, substantially surprise.

Kristi M., of Mom’s Own Words


44. I would not go to work.

Kristen, of Bye Bye Beer


45. I would play tricks on friends.

Courtney W., of Blog Me This


46. Hide the president elect’s cell phone.

Cathy J., of Just My Thoughts … and a Cup of Tea


47. Anonymously help people who need it.

Lisa A., of Life of an El Paso Woman


48. I would sit and be alone.

Lisa, of The Meaning of Me


six-words-invisible-nap
photo credit: Go-tea 郭天 Connexion established? via photopin (license)

49. I would take an uninterrupted nap.

Gina V., of The Glamorous Life of the Modern Soccer Mom


50. Tackle for the Panthers, invisible wall!

Jacquelin of One Woman, Huge World


51. Procure ‘samples’ from the taco truck.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy

invisible-quote

64 thoughts on “What We’d Do With a Week of Invisibility, in 6 Words”

    1. Glad you liked them, Lisa. Invisibility could actually be a problem. How could you go to a public bathroom or stop at the market for ginger snaps?

      Happy New Year to you too, my friend. Wishing you and yours the best.

  1. So many great ideas, Eli! With all the politically themed ones, it would be great if you could also have an invisible camera and recording device. Then deliver it all anonymously to the four most respected newspapers in the world (are there as many as four?) 🙂
    P/S Love the photo of “The Baby.”

    1. Right, Lyn? If I’m going to record someone, it probably won’t be a … politician. KnowwhatImean?

      I do love that photo of The Baby – who would tackle me if she heard me call her that! That was a fun day.

  2. I enjoyed these and some I’ve done anyway, in spite of being seen. ) thanks for including me and happy new year- p.s. I also wouldn’t mind being able to fly once in a while –

    1. You should tell us (or at least me) the numbers of those you did un-invisible. Flying wouldn’t be bad, but there’s a reason Jedis don’t fly, did you know that?

      1. Basically, they don’t like to fly, Jedis, because there’s a lot of things that can go wrong when you’re a dude and you’re airborne, in the galaxy, even a long time ago.

    1. They started off with a bang, didn’t they Michelle? You’d be a stellar poltergeist. I packed a couple of leftover tacos for you to take, but you left them on the table next to the cheese sculpture of Elizabeth Banks.

  3. I’m glad mine wasn’t the only one involving illegal activity! Although sneaking into a Broadway theater is a victimless crime, right? Fun joining you again, Eli!

    1. Are you kidding, Dana, with this crowd? I’m confident Broadway talent wouldn’t mind extra eyes in the house, even the invisible type. Thanks for playing along again!

  4. Whoa, what a cute comment box, I love it!
    Happy New Year, Coach Daddy!
    I didn’t submit anything this time. Everything that came to mind was super passive-aggressive and / or illegal, not to mention politically incorrect.
    Love the Sharks jersey!

    1. I didn’t know how cute it was until just right now, Tamara. The best responses often are super passive-aggressive and/or illegal, not to mention politically incorrect! That jersey earned Grace a hockey stick at a match a couple of years ago, actually!

      1. I think I remember. You guys attended a Checkers game? We had the pleasure to see Drew MacIntyre playing again for Team Canada at the Spengler Cup.
        I had trouble telling my super passive-aggressive and/or illegal, not to mention politically incorrect story in only six words, but here goes:
        Being invisible I’d sneak into the Donald’s office and find out all his passwords and codes.
        I’d send out a couple of tweet saying “I can’t do this presidency thing. I’ve been in over my head bigly. I resign.” And “I’ve been an asshole. I apologise to everyone I have ever offended.”
        I’d ransack his bank accounts, private ones, foundation, all of them. Donate to every charity he’s ever promised to contribute to but failed to follow through. Pay the contractor’s bills. Support schools, charity that help immigrants,…
        I’d place whoopee cushions and super glue on his chairs, place a couple of cobwebs in his bedroom. Rats, maybe?

        The possibilities are endless!

  5. Soooo, what I am seeing is that a lot of us would be naked and covered in food?! LOL Which honestly, nothing wrong with that. I do love the one about helping people who needed it… kinda like angels no one would be aware of. A very nice thought.

    1. We knew that of this tribe far before this post went live, didn’t we, Rore? It’s why you fit in. Think of the global impact if we didn’t have to wash clothes all the time. I’d definitely try to balance my invisible time between angelic and devilish. Try.

  6. I just realized now when I checked my email that my response to you for this post was sent to myself. Dang! Haha! Nonetheless, had fun reading through all these. Crazy fun!

    1. They’re great, right Andrea? And I almost cordoned off a section for you peeping Toms, but felt it best to integrate you (because most of us won’t admit it anyway.)

  7. Dang! It looks like my response got misdirected, too. Oh well, it has given me inspiration for a blog post and I’m thankful for that. I love Summer’s idea of going to school with the kids. A peek into their world away from home would be quite enlightening! Of course, I’d snag a few snacks from the teacher’s lounge while I was there… Happy New Year, Eli!

    1. I even double-checked my email, Mo. Send me a link to the post this challenge inspired? Summer’s blog is awesome and I think you’d love it – she did have a good idea, although it might not be the best for us in the long run! Teachers at our school have a cookie day, so I’d be sure to be around in my invisibility for that one!

  8. Hey Eli! What an awesome idea for sparking conversation!! The kids and I had some great laughs at the answers. Can’t wait for the next one!!!

Say what you need to say

