Posted in 6 Words, Dad Moments, the signs of battle

Who We’d Give a Million Dollars to, in 6 Words


t-words-million-lede
photo credit: DocChewbacca Greed via photopin (license)

One million dollars.

6 words graphicNotice: This post won’t reference Dr. Evil’s famous demand for one million dollars in the Austin Powers movie. I’ve never seen the damn thing. Seems kind of dumb. It’s one of those pop culture things a curmudgeon like me just didn’t get into.

Kind of like the Harlem Shake, The Walking Dead, and anything to do with Kobe Bryant.

The fine citizens listed below in this post, however, know just what to do with a million dollars. In six words. I asked strangers, friends, and strange blogger friends, “If you had $1,000,000 but you had to give it to other people, who would you give it to?”

Not a single damned one of them said, “to Coach Daddy’s Fund for Totino’s Pizza and Ginger Snaps,” of course. (Ingrates. Plus, that’s more than six words.)

Ernest Hemingway asserted that any story could be told in six words. In that spirit, every month, I ask the chosen flock to respond to a prompt in six words. I post the collection here every last Wednesday of the month.

Enjoy. Check out their blogs, which are, incidentally, worth way more than a million bucks. Also, let us know what you’d do with that cool million, should it be bestowed upon you to distribute.


6-words-million-veterans
photo credit: DVIDSHUB Fallen heroes remembered on Memorial Day [Image 1 of 5] via photopin (license)

1. Give to our great U.S. veterans.

Nina, of Nina Says


2. My kid’s school and food bank.

Erika, of That Anxious Mom


3. I would give it to hubby…

Sandra, of A Momma’s View


4. Establish 20 scholarships for single parents.

Roxanne P., of Unintentionally Brilliant


5. Alzheimer’s caregivers & research, kids, animals, & homelessness!

Rena M., of The Diary of an Alzheimer’s Care Giver


6. Moms needing childcare for sanity breaks!

Meredith S., of The Mom of the Year


6-words-million-adopt
photo credit: Geraint Rowland Photography Familia, Oaxaca via photopin (license)

7. Families who want to adopt children.

Kimberly N., of Kimberly Novosel


8. Carleton Varsity Swim Team and literacy.

Louise H., of Baby Gates Down


9. Parents, to thank them for everything.

Belle T., of One Awesome Momma


10. Think Local~Give Local~Share Love.

Mary Lou Q., of Me in the Middle


11. Random hard working, yet struggling families.

Tamara G., of Confessions of a Part-time Working Mom


12. I’d MAKE IT RAIN at church!

Aunie R., of Aunie Sauce


6-words-million-nonprofit
photo credit: Beyond The Rim Beyond the Rim – Fall 2016 Week 4 via photopin (license)

13. Start a non-profit for the needy.

Elizabeth W., of Autism Mom


14. Split it between: Oceana and GEF.

Claudia W., of Images by CW


15. Local charities, university scholarships, my wife.

Eric W., of All in a Dad’s Work


16. Every police dog gets bulletproof bests!

Lisa, of The Blondie Barista


17. Help young travelers explore the world.

E. Chloe, of The Girl Who Clicked


18. Donate beds to dogs in shelters.

Charlotte K., of My Pixie Blog


6-words-million-god
photo credit: ericmillergarcía A brief overlook via photopin (license)

19. God, parents, nieces, nephew, needy children.

Shannon B., of Whole Foods


20. Free day for Dillon’s grocery shoppers!!

Kim T., of Day with KT


21. Redeem lives – displaced, exploited, vulnerable people.

Jenn S., of Jenn’s Midlife Crisis


22. My parents. I’m in the will.

Sheri M., of When the Kids Go to Bed


23. a refugee family to live again.

beth k., of i didn’t have my glasses on …


24. My kids, to secure their future.

Miriam B., of Out An About


6-words-millions-fight
photo credit: pburka Taekwondo via photopin (license)

25. Fight against stigma of mental illness.

Raine V., of Pursuit of Peace


26. Twenty bloggers from 20 different countries.

Pat C., of New Bloggy Cat


27. My choice: Everytown for Gun Safety.

Ann K., of The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgementally


28. Education Is a RIGHT: For ALL.

Leslie B., of Ink Interrupted


29. H&R Block to leak Trump’s returns.

Stephanie J., of Where Crazy Meets Exhaustion


30. To the care of ocean life.

Debbie T., of Heartbeats~Soul Stains

6-words-millions-dog
Tianna’s dog!

31. My Dog; Canines for Equal Education.

Tianna S., of Storybook Apothecary


32. St. Jude’s to find a cure.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


33. To the contractor renovating my house!

Lisa W., of The Golden Spoons


34. Food for people, shelter for animals.

Cristina, of Exhale and Enjoy Life


35. Adopting Families. Kids need good parents!

April S., of Story of Our Boys


36. I would give it to my mom.

Frugie, of Frugalista Blog


6-words-million-self-sufficient
photo credit: Geoff Livingston Timeless via photopin (license)

37. Self-supporting college-bound kids – $5k to 200.

Dana H., of Kiss My List


38. Money is energy that should work.

Alex M., of A Life Answer


39. I’d help fund Planned Parenthood — indefinitely.

Norine M., of Science of Parenthood


40. I’d build homes for the homeless.

Cathy T., of Just My Thoughts … and a Cup of Tea


41. Big bucks. Big responsibility. Prayerfully consider.

C. Muse, of Cricketmuse


42. Acronym soup: ILRC, NCADV, ASPCA, NEA(rts).

Elizabeth M., of Lapidary Prose


epis
photo credit: gregfriese EpiPen Auto Injectors via photopin (license)

43. Education, epis, food for allergy families.

Daniella K., of Smart Allergy Friendly Education


44. Children’s charity, children’s hospital, women’s shelter.

Shannon A., of Radio Chick’s Reflections


45. Stop hunger. Donate to food bank.

Jennifer, of The Deliberate Mom


46. Teachers: they deserve fancy cars too!

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd


47. Establish a snow day snack fund.

Eli, of Coach Daddy


48. www.Cleanslatela.org many programs that change lives

Megan B., of Super Commuter Couples


buffet-love-quote

 

81 thoughts on “Who We’d Give a Million Dollars to, in 6 Words

    1. People here want to do good, Tamara. I do love the company. The great thing about the snow day snack fund is that it doesn’t even have to be snowing to partake in it. I just want plenty of capital to buy animal crackers and Coke Zero and frozen pizza to sustain my children and help them to consume them.

  1. All great causes to give to and happy to say though that almost the end of January and haven’t had to use any snow day snack funding just yet as we haven’t had much of the white stuff yet. So that is something at the very least 😉

    1. Glad you liked it, Mary Lou! When it comes to required bestowing of tons of cash, this group knows what to do.

      “My parents. I am in the will” was classic, don’t you think? I do love compiling these.

      I need the world more than it needs me!

    1. Someone should give us $50 million just to put these suggestions to good use. Glad you were part of it, Claudia!

      Thanks on the comment box – I didn’t know how cool it was until after I’d picked the theme.

  2. Lots of worthy causes indeed. For me: Get hypnotherapy training, heal the world. I know the training wouldn’t use up the million dollars, but the healing center I’d open would take $$. And it would have a sliding fee scale, so everyone who is truly motivated could take advantage. And getting word out to groups of people who suffer from PTSD (veterans, victims of domestic violence, victims of assault, rape, child abuse, etc), would likely mean opening centers across the entire country. I don’t think a million will be enough for my dreams. But we could definitely cover your snack fund.

    1. They did good, these folks, Susan. I’d sign up for the hypnotherapy. You could do a lot with a cool million.

      I like the idea of the sliding fee scale, too. The worst part of mental health care in this country is that it’s often not for everyone, because of financial constraints. Even me, as a guy with a job, would struggle to pay for it.

      A million could get the ball rolling, and get others on board with your cause. I’ll manage the snacks fund for you for free.

      1. One thing I’ve found is that places like Unity Chuches and Centers For Spiritual Living often have events where they offer Reiki and other forms of alternative healing (I laughed when I wrote alternative, because these modalities do things like cure cancer every day), either for free, for a small donation, or offer a short session for $10- $20.

  3. It is SO FUN to read these answers and see how other bloggers would spend their money–so many great responses! Thanks again for inviting me to participate in this prompt. A pleasure, as always ❤ XOXO

  4. So fun to read this months ideas! So many great ones!! Looking forward to next months challenge- gonna do my best to join in!! In the mean time, here’s mine: Update my kitchen, Shopping Spree, Charity!

    1. Glad you liked it, Vicki. Great to see you here! Email me if I haven’t sent you a message yet (I thought it, but did I do it?) I could join you on the shopping spree, right?

      1. Yes you did send an email. I am working on it!!!
        Shopping spree???!!! For the kitchen?? You may have to turn in your man card then!!!! Hahaahahaaaa!!!! Just kidding!!

  5. So many great responses again, Eli 🙂
    I particularly loved
    # 6. Moms needing childcare for sanity breaks!
    # 13. Start a non-profit for the needy.
    # 16. Every police dog gets bulletproof bests! (this is my favourite)
    # 22. My parents. I’m in the will. (the cheekiest)
    # 40. I’d build homes for the homeless. (we could combine our million $s )
    # 41. Big bucks. Big responsibility. Prayerfully consider. (the wisest)

    1. Always great to have you, Louise. When they’re all in one place like this, it makes me wish I could sneak it into Jesus’ hand as we shake hands, and hear him say, “Eli, I’ll see what we can do.”

      Bloggers are the cheese on life’s enchilada, aren’t they?

      1. Oh I know what you mean there… But, hey – if you ever get that hearing with JC … [and here’s where I deleted my original comment because I remember other peoples’ comment feeds aren’t about me and my issues].

        Yes, bloggers really are the added awesome on life for those that find this world. I love (the generally safe) space it give to both read and share thoughts. I’m better for blogging.

      2. Well, my comment feed is here for you, Louise, so please never hold back. Without bloggers, the web would be nothing but Victoria’s Secret catalogs and The Onion.

        I’m better for blogging, but even more so for the paths that have crossed with mine, such as yours.

      3. Ahhhh -thx. As for comments – I hit a point where if I cross into the “paragraphs vs sentences” realm – I cut and paste out and consider a post of my own 🙂

  6. So, my first question is, do you eat the pizza and ginger snaps together? Because that’s an interesting combination. Seriously, though, there are some wonderful suggestions here. Some people had some really clever ideas!

  7. Reblogged this on All In A Dad's Work and commented:
    I’m a little late with the reblog, but it’s still just as good. My “strange blogging friend” asked what we’d do with a million dollars if we couldn’t keep it for ourselves but we can only use 6 words. Think about what you would do with it, then head over and see what’s Eli’s “strange blogging friends” would do.

    1. It’s a good crowd for that kind of thing, Cathy. What matters most is what we do in our own worlds, because side-by-side, just that sort of action can spread in the best possible ways. I believe in that.

Say what you need to say

