Dad in the Kitchen: Brown & White Sugar Waffles (For People of All Colors)


waffles lede.jpg

I love me some symbolism.

Like, red in the Colorado flag, to symbolize the state’s red soil. Or the Mandala, to stand for eternal harmony. Or even a blue star on the side of a silver helmet. This stands for a team allergic to playoff victories.

Symbolism isn’t lost on me in the kitchen, either.

Here’s the recipe for my Brown and White Sugar Waffles. They’re representative of my children, actually, part brown like dad, half white, like mom. In perfect harmony, ironed to light and crispy perfection, with a hint of vanilla.

Coach Daddy’s Brown and White Waffles (For People of All Colors)

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 capful vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups warm milk
  • 1/3 cup melted butter

IMG_20160814_090854

What you’ll do

Mix flour, salt, baking powder, white sugar and brown sugar in a large bowl. Set aside.

IMG_20160814_090102
Oops – might have used an extra tablespoon of brown sugar.

Preheat waffle iron. I’d say about 3/4 of maximum heat.

Beat eggs in a separate bowl. I find that 97 strokes works best. (Or any prime number up around 100.)

IMG_20160814_090707
If you tilt the bowl a little, it’ll be easier to beat the eggs. Plus, you look like a pro. Or feel like one at least. For a minute.

Stir in milk, vanilla, and butter. Do butter last, and start whipping immediately. If you leave butter and milk sitting without beating them together, they’ll have a hard time mixing the way they should. Like Congress, perhaps.

IMG_20160814_091147
I get my vanilla in Mexico. You can probably get it in Mooresville or Milwaukee, too, but so long as I’m there …

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, or dry into the wet. For great chefs, maybe there’s a difference. I’ve been unable to find one so far.

Ladle batter into waffle iron. Add a little butter to the bottom tray.

Don’t overfill, or you’ll have a mess to clean. Watch the waffle iron’s light indicator, or give it a reasonable time to cook, like, say, the duration of Mazzy Star’s Fade Into You is probably too long.

(Turn Me On by Norah Jones works best for me. Even when I’m not making waffles.)

IMG_20160814_095047

Norah will help you to golden, crispy waffles. They’ll look like heaven.

IMG_20160814_095925

My dad’s New Mexican heritage influences me in the kitchen. Manitos, as they call themselves, put a fried egg on everything. (The Tejanos actually gave New Mexicans that nickname. It means little brother, from hermanito.)

Manitos have the right idea, if you ask me.

waffle quote

 

23 Replies to “Dad in the Kitchen: Brown & White Sugar Waffles (For People of All Colors)”

  1. They sure do look tasty. I’ll bet they didn’t last very long! I had the best French fried toast in Mexico. I don’t know what they did, but I could never achieve the same result.

    1. Thanks, Yvonne. I usually make two batches – making a double batch yields a less favorable consistency than two.

      Maybe the key to getting incredible cuisine is to get it where it’s twice removed, as in French toast in Mexico, Italian pasta in Spain, or Peruvian ceviche in Ireland.

      (That last one might not sound as appealing.)

    1. Wait, there’s a Death Star waffle iron?? I just started my Christmas list, then.

      These are pretty easy to make, too. I’ve never had chicken and waffles, but if I were to start, I’d start here, too.

  2. I know the answer to the wet into dry or dry into wet and can share it if you’d like me to. I figure you just said yes so here…

    It depends on what you’re making. There’s the Muffin Method (wet into dry as in muffins or quick breads) and the Creaming Method (dry into wet as in cookies, butter based cakes etc) It has to do with the physics of mixing, the creation of gluten/protein strands) etc. Small batches of pancakes and waffles it wouldn’t matter. If you’re feeding Army boys or a hockey team it doesn’t matter either. I don’t know about girls soccer. We were pretty discriminating about food when I played.

    Now I want waffles. Good thing I have some. 😉

    1. I could never tell a difference between the wet-dry or dry-wet, but most often, I put the wet in the dry.

      Your stuff is like, scientific. I feel like a double batch of anything doesn’t have that good consistency throughout though … whether it has to do with the physics of mixing, or the difference in temperature on the skillet between the first and last pancake. Woah.

      I always want waffles. Now, in fact.

    1. ABC! Great to see you here. Yes, there’s a great variety of goodness around here, below the pizza boxes and stormtrooper figures! A Mazzy Star waffle would be crispier, if you’re into that.

Say what you need to say

