#AtoZChallenge: K is for the 7 Women I’d Sing Karaoke With


stormtrooper guitar singer
photo credit: Nukamari Just voice and guitar via photopin (license)

I get crushy.

KAlways have. At first, it was Judy Jetson, then Ms. Truesdale, the kindergarten teacher’s aide. All of a sudden, I’m drinking whiskey, eating sunflower seeds and writing blog posts about seven famous women I want to sing cheesy duets with.

Just like that.

Two years ago on the company trip, I sang La Bamba. Sally, the tall, winsome blonde from our Dallas office, swayed back and forth, stage left, and let me take center stage. I might as well have been the Mexican Mick Jagger. (Meek Yagger, as it were.)

I’ve chosen seven women you’ve heard of, and cheesy ballads from my childhood that I’d read clumsily up on a tiny monitor in a Motor Inn lounge, in a heartbeat.

Sing along if you know the words.

1. Shannon Adams

Love Will Keep Us Together

Captain and Tennille

She’s the blogger behind Radio Chick’s Reflections. She also actually sings, which makes one of us. Check out her work on YouTube. She’s a thoughtful writer and loving mother. I promise I’ll sing quietly. We’ve supported each other in blogging through thick and thin.


2. Elizabeth Banks

You’re the One That I Want

Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta

She’s more than just a pretty face. I first discovered Lizzi for her compelling role in the football movie Invincable. You might know her as Effie Trinket of Hunger Games lore, or those adorable Realtor.com commercials.


3. Connie Britton

Islands in the Stream

Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers

She’s the coach’s wife. Sigh. Friday Night Lights would be a favorite even without her, but with her? She’s so cool and supportive, and my god that hair. Because of her role in Nashville, I chose a song from that we’d totally rock in a country kind of way.


4. Kaitlyn Cody

Don’t Go Breaking My Heart

Kiki Dee and Elton John

She’s the Queen of the Queen City meteorologists. And trust me, the competition – at least in my heart – is fierce. I’ve tweeted her a weather-related photo or two, and she always retweets. Once, she even put it on the morning news. True story.


5. Kesha

You Don’t Have to be a Star

Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis, Jr.

She’s brilliant and mischevious. She’s matured so much that she took the dollar sign out of her name. I think she’s ready for me. I think she’s a bona fide genius. I picked this song because I envision it as the message she’d send a boy like me.


6. Laura Linney

Knock Three Times

Tony Orlando and Dawn

She played Charlotte on Frasier, and actually asked him out. Laura Linney! I always thought her character was the swooniest. Intelligent, beautiful, willing to take a chance. Admittedly, this song is mostly me singing, but maybe it’ll win her over.


7. Hope Solo

Reunited

Peaches & Herb

The greatest keeper who ever lived (next to Elise, of course.) She’s the exiled star of the U.S. Women’s Soccer team, and word is, she isn’t happy I’ve been making googly eyes at former teammate Kelley O’Hara. This is the perfect song for Hopey and me.

karaoke quote

69 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: K is for the 7 Women I’d Sing Karaoke With”

    1. Elizabeth would be a blast, wouldn’t she, Elena? It was tough picking a single Grease song for her.

      I have to check out your post on Kim Possible. I have a KP figure sitting just above my monitor at work (she is my animated muse!)

    1. Glad to do it, Jz! Actually, we’ll be paying people to come listen. My work firewall won’t let me access your page, so I’ll have to find another way in.

  1. OMG! How old am I that I know all of these songs??? Or did you purposely choose ones from the 70’s? I love all of them and I have very specific memories for all! Thank you for taking me back! 😚

    1. We’re none of us old, Courtney. I meant to choose only from the 70s because it had such an array of the stuff of legend (mostly of the cheesy kind.) I listened to them over and over while I wrote it, which is the best part.

  2. Singing karaoke is one thing but a deeper commitment is forming a girl/boy synthpop duo. For some reason my wife is resistant to that idea.

  3. Ha. I’m pleased I’m not infamous enough to make this list although I do a fine rendition of Letter’s to Cleo’s I Want You to Want Me and Blood Hound Gang’s Bad Touch among some other fun that won’t see the light of day again. Ever.

    And I won’t tell you how many of these songs I don’t know.

  4. I thought this was great fun. I would have to put my wife on there someplace If I were to make a list, or I would be killed. I don’t know some of the people… but Connie Britton for sure 🙂

  5. love this – and i would like to do a karaoke quintet with the avett brothers. my favorite musicians. and we could do holiday music, — halloween, christmas, and ???

  6. I need to see those performances!!
    Islands in the Stream was one of my favourite duets when I was a kid.
    Oh, and why am I not surprised to find Kesha on your list 😂

  7. I love this list! Also I crush on people all the time, too. I never thought of singing karaoke with anyone, but probably because I did this once and broke bottles. Wasn’t a good look for me 🙂

    I love all these songs. I didn’t know Kesha removed the dollar symbol! Did you know she’s doing a country thing? Apparently she’s reinventing herself.

    XOXO and hope you have a great weekend, my sweet!

    1. Thanks, Charlotte. Crushes go around, don’t they? Karaoke seems a natural next step.

      These songs came from my childhood. And yes, Kesha is trying to strike a new look, and I like it.

  8. This is quite an eclectic list but I dig it! I bet Elizabeth Banks would be super fun to duet with. If you asked my husband he’d probably choose Anna Kendrick. But don’t ask him to sing please, he’s terrible. 😉 Have a wonderful weekend!

    1. Thanks, Lauren. Wow, I just imagined singing with *both* Connie Britton and Elizabeth Banks.

      Hold on. Still am.

      Okay.

      What did you sing when you were little, Lauren?

  9. Oh my gosh! I love this list soooo much! Both the songs and your duet partners. I especially love Connie Britton, Laura Linney, and You’re the one that I want. Great picks!!!

    1. Hey, Shann. Glad you liked it! I felt like they were the perfect blends of songs and ladies for each. Now I’m picturing singing with Connie Britton *and* Laura Linney …

      Hold on. Still thinking. Still … thinking.

      Okay. Glad you liked the pics, Shann! I love your blog.

    1. Hi, Mary. Glad you liked the choices, when I shaved down to seven. If you paid to watch me sing, I’d feel compelled to offer you a refund. Or at least a discount.

      Glad to make the connection, too.

  10. Now that I am no longer upset with you for not choosing me….I liked this blog post. I actually sat and listened to all the songs and some brought back memories. This also gave me a “light bulb moment.” I do Musical Monday and I think that I might try posting random people who are singing hits instead of the original artist, on occasion. Thanks!

    Cheryl
    Plucking Of My Heartstrings

    1. Glad you came around, Cheryl. You know, the board had a lot to say in final decisions. Palms were greased.

      That’s a great idea for your Musical Monday post … be sure to send me a link when you do it.

    1. I believe the 1970s was the golden age for karaoke songs, Sara. I dare you not to groove silently even if you even get “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” stuck in your head!

      Glad you liked this. Some choices were harder than others!

    1. Thanks, Louise – my crushy mind goes off on tangents sometimes. Karaoke isn’t so bad from my end, but I don’t want to know what it’s like for innocent bystanders.

      1. I always reflect on the fact that there’s no quote about singing like no one is listening.

        That said, I too love a good Karaoke session – so rock on!

      2. I, sadly, “chicken out” more often than not on Karaoke night. But I can do a good mid-range Tiffany “I Think We’re Alone Now”. I’ve done any number of group songs over the years – and once, with a few too many in me, with a friend tried, I Like Big Butts. Let’s just say, if I ever get another change, I think I could now pull that off. I’ve practiced since that night …

      3. I feel that way about the Eagles’ “Take it Easy.” I could so see you doing the Tiffany song. The I Like Big Butts rendition might change my life.

      4. It wasn’t my finest moment. But at the same time, gave me a really good appreciation for the skill involved there which I clearly hadn’t grasped. I like your Eagles choice.

Say what you need to say

