5 Blog Post I’d Recommend You Read


stormtrooper tie fighter pilot log cabin

I gave blood on Sunday.

Not a big deal. I love that I can. I’m O positive and have some special particles or sorcery in my blood that makes it good to give babies. Who doesn’t want to give good stuff to babies? I’d rather give baby crackers or baby nunchucks than my blood, but …

If they need it, I’m glad mine is compatible.

I watched my blood – which looks not surprisingly like barbecue sauce, in those little bags – go out of my arm, and clear saline solution flow in. I do something called double red cell donations, so they take the red stuff out and wash me out with the saline.

It feels all cool and tingly when the saline stuff comes in.

If they did nothing but take my barbecue sauce, it probably wouldn’t be so good for me. I should have asked what would happen, but I wasn’t thinking ahead. See, I don’t know a lot of what’s happening, but I do know that the saline stuff is necessary for my own good.

A good writer needs to read

It made me think of blogging, actually.

For good blogging, it’s kind of like that barbecue sauce – blood, I mean – to saline ratio. A good blogger should be a good reader. No, a great reader. I’m not a great reader, but I do try, and I learn a ton when I do.

For that, I’m thankful for such a diverse blogging tribe.

I don’t mean the showy kind of diversity they strive for in commercials or those pamphlets for colleges. You know, the smiling white dude in the official school T-shirt with a pretty Indian girl and his black friend and also his Asian buddy.

For me, it’s millennials and retirees, Americans and friend a world away, who comprise a tribe I’m so proud to be part of.

Today, I want to share five posts you should check out. Mind you, it’s five, really randomly, from a sample batch of about 32,927, give or take 17. Many of the 32 big are from the A to Z Challenge, but just as many are from blog friends I’ve had since Day 1.

Or at least day 17.

5 post you should read

Check them out. Let me know what you think, if you’ve read these, or have just found something new and awesome. The one downfall of a growing tribe is less time to cavort with people I really do love. But y’all know I love you, more than provolone, even.

1. Water

I didn’t have my glasses on …

Beth has a way of conveying brilliance with an economy of words. I’ve known her since the days we both chiseled our posts out of stone. Her photography elevates this poem.

2. Using Archetypes to Learn More About You and Your Characters

Sara Letourneau’s Official Website and Blog

Sara’s posts focus on gratitude, thoughtfulness, and writing guidance. This post melds introspection with reflection, a look at self and development of characters in fiction.

3. April Wrap-Up

Read All the Things!

AJ is all kinds of awesome. A voracious reader, wonderful writer, pizza eater. Pizza for breakfast! She’s a fellow Coloradan (still there, I’m not), and encapsulated so much of the good life in this one post.

4. Capturing a Light That Leaves Too Soon

Lipstick and Laundry

I’ve watched Michelle’s considerable writing talent reach incredible heights. That’s the beauty of reading a blog for years; you take part of the journey with the author. You’ll see it in this post.

5. Germany Bucket List

The in Between is Mine

I found San’s blog through the Peaceful Posse Facebook group. This post spoke to me particularly because of the types of things she’d do on a visit to her homeland. Read it and you’ll see.

I could do five hundred blogs with five blogs each I recommend. Let me know what you think of these as you check them out! Thanks for being in this tribe. Don’t forget to bring snacks next time.

reading quote king

18 thoughts on “5 Blog Post I’d Recommend You Read

    1. That Stephen King quote should be required for anyone who writes (did I tell you about the time I carried his bags at a Hilton?)

      I’m not a bit surprised you’d love Michelle and Sara like I do. I bet they’d love you too.

    1. I should have knOwn, Pat. The pOsitivity (or is it pawsitivity?) shines through. Beth does a bangup job over there, despite being a red wings fan. You’ll love the others too, I’m sure of it.

  1. thanks for including me, eli, i know your tribe is huge, so i’m honored. i follow a couple of the others and will check out the other two. thanks for sharing new friends with me )

  2. Hi Eli – thanks for the recommendations … I will click through and check them out – but you’ll be here and I’ll check your posts as they come in … this tribe of bloggers is one amazing group – it’s great to be around … to learn from, to enjoy, to see new parts of the world … cheers and thanks again – Hilary

    1. I think people would really enjoy your words, too, Hilary. Thank you. And thanks for being part of this tribe – we come from all over but all have this crazy affliction: blogging.

  3. Stephen King speaks a great deal of truth in that quote. I’ve learned so much about writing from the books I’ve read that I know I wouldn’t be a writer had I not been a reader as well.

    Thanks so much for sharing the Archetypes post! I’m still surprised that people enjoy that one so much, mostly because it’s one of those “nerdy things” that’s part of my writing process. But I’m glad readers are getting something out of it as well, for themselves and/or for their characters.

    Btw I got your email. Just haven’t had a chance to respond to it yet. Will do so this week. 😉

    1. Stephen King’s words are simple and brilliant, Sara. Even the subconscious learning we do while reading impacts how we want to – and don’t want to – write.

      I loved the archetypes post! I will use it often as I get into my fiction writing. Nerdy is the new cool, haven’t you heard? I’m not surprised to think it would a wildly popular post – we can also learn a little something about ourselves.

      Email has no expiration date. I know you’ll get to it! (I purposely never send sandwiches with mayo on them for this very reason.)

  4. Thanks for giving my post a shout-out. Also, I’ve thought about donating blood many times, but I’ve always chickened out. I guess I’m scared of the poking and bleeding. Some places give you cookies after you donate, so that should be sufficient motivation for me, but I still haven’t done it.

    1. Thanks for writing a kick-ass post, Aj. The donating isn’t so bad. The blood, as I said, looks like barbecue sauce (or is that just mine?) I got two packs of Oreos, which means I scheduled my next appointment the moment they plugged up my arm hole.

  5. AJ had me at “pizza for breakfast”.
    It’s interesting that you describe your tribe as transient. I (presumptuously) consider myself a member of your tribe and certainly am one of those flighty, a bit unreliable, here today but gone for a while, folks. What I love, though, is that your space feels like a cozy spot to which we can always return, knowing we will be greeted with the virtual equivalent of, “Come on in. So glad to see you again! We’ll pull over another table and more chairs.” Thanks for your kindness and genuinely warm welcome.

    1. I’d get behind any kind of pizza-for-breakfast movement, even if it’s a band of us three, Mo. I do consider my tribe beautifully transient – I know that life and circumstance sometimes create gaps in our visits, but as you said, there’s a welcome when we do return, a spot at the table, or at least a beanbag chair.

      Flighty and unreliable don’t do it justice. Busy but always somehow connected drives it home, I think. Whether it’s one or 10 or 37, we seem to always have space and so far, the snacks, to accommodate.

Say what you need to say

