Where We’d Take an Alien, in 6 Words


ET stormtrooper alien

When I was a kid, I wanted to be friends with Elliott.

6 words graphicHe’s the boy who befriended E.T. in the movie. He just seemed like the kind of kid I would like to hang out with. Looking back, I believe I probably admired his loyalty and courage in all that happened when E.T. came to town.

Every month, I collect responses for a post I call 6 Words.

If you’ve been around here a while you know Ernest Hemingway inspired this idea when he said all stories could be told in six words. I ask friends, strangers, bloggers, and strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt, in six words.

This month’s prompt:

If you had to take an alien to the best place on Earth, where would you go? Think, “Wrigley Field, day game in bleachers” or “Montana. Far away from the noise.”

What would you say, in six words?


death valley stars night

1. Death Valley. To see the stars.

A.J. S., of Read All the Things!


2. Hawaii for surfing and Kona coffee!

Sandra, of What Sandra Thinks


3. A cross-country motorcycle trip with me.

Donna M., of Romance and Mystery … writing my life and Our Prime Years


4. Colorado Plateau. Greatest earth on show.

Rebecca D., of Ninja Librarian


5. Sand, surf, sun in 75 degrees.

Julie, of More than Main Street


6. Area 51, Nevada, for family reunion.

Maggie C., of What Rhymes with Stanza?


Brockway_Mtn (002)
Courtesy of McGuffy Ann Morris

7. Behold: Gichi-Gami’s majesty from Brockway Mountain!

Annie, of McGuffy’s Reader


8. Paris. Best people watching on earth.

Charlotte K., of My Pixie Blog


9. Writing retreat with a perfect idea!

Elizabeth M., of Dreaming in the Daylight …


10. Blueridge Mountains for a summer sunrise.

Carolyn A., of Carolyn Afstalk


11. The lake – beautiful sunset with s’mores.

Laura H., of Riddle from the Middle


12. Cafe du Monde, coffee, and beignets.

Mimi, of Messy Mimi’s Musings


alien roswell
photo credit: Thomas Hawk Take Me to Your Leader via photopin (license)

13. Visit friends and relatives in Roswell.

Joyce L., of Catch My Words


14. floating slowly on a lazy river.

beth k., of i didn’t have my glasses on …


15. Quiet California beach side, after sundown.

Tammie, of The Graying Chronicles


16. Aoshima Island, where cats outnumber humans.

Pat C., of New Bloggy Cat


17. Sunset cruise. Middle of the ocean.

Amy N., of Health, Home, and Heart


18. The Kruger National Park, wildlife paradise.

Kim B., of Kim


blue mountains
Photo courtesy of Jess

19. The Blue Mountains, beauty flows deep.

Jess, of Day Sixty Five


20. Newfoundland, in July. The beautiful Rock.

Susan D., of Color Me Writing


21. Vancouver, a swim then a ski.

Kelly M., of Just Typikel


22. Camden Yards when Orioles win #WorldSeries.

Eric W., of All in a Dad’s Work


23. Diving in Barbados. Heaven on Earth.

Lindsay F., of The Flynnigans


24. Hraunfossar in Iceland, my favorite waterfall.

Sara L., of Sara Letourneau’s Official Web Site & Blog


tiffany trail
Courtesy of Tiffany Maytum

25. Hike a 14er and appreciate view!

Tiffany, of Sounds Like Life to Me


26. Barking sea-lions at La Jolla Cove.

Tamara G., of Part-time Working Hockey Mom


27. Shakespeare’s Globe, London: imprinting archaic English.

Jenn L., of The Pilgrimage


28. Disney World’s Magic Kingdom Fireworks Show.

Janine H., of Confessions of a Mommyaholic


29. Daughter’s House
Mother’s Day
Nine grandchildren

Lyn C., of The Call of the Pen


30. Walt Disney World. It’s so magical.

Sarah, of Journeys of The Zoo


pacific northwest
Courtesy of Kimberly Novosel

31. The Pacific Northwest. So, so green!

Kimberly N., of Kimberly Novosel


32. La Lucia Beach Durban, South Africa.

Melissa S., of Melissa’s Southern Style Kitchen


33. The Linmar Gardens in Galena, Illinois.

Nikki, of Boldly Bravely You


34. Has to be the Jersey Shore.

Stacey G., of One Funny Motha


35. Bora Bora, the real blue lagoon.

Rachel R., of The Confused Millennial


36. Jay’s Elbow Room – Best. Wings. Ever.

Lisa L., of The Meaning of Me


chicken-shawarma-gigi-eats (002)
Photo courtesy of GiGi

 

37. Ephesus … In Turkey. Then eat shawarma!

GiGi, of GiGi Eats Celebrities


38. Okanagan Lake, summer on the beach.

Alison T., of Sparkly Shoes and Sweat Drops


39. Pepsi Porch – Royals Stadium, August 2015.

Michelle T., of Lipstick and Laundry


40. Lakeside coffee, Fenway, city view rooftop.

Court, of Baking in my Bathing Suit


41. To my kitchen, to make tortillas.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy


42. Tacos. Because it’s an earth thing.

Jen H., of Jenerally Informed


maldives
Photo courtesy of Lauren Smith

 

43. Maldives. Dry season, scuba, sun, sand.

Lauren S.

 

place quote# # #

79 thoughts on “Where We’d Take an Alien, in 6 Words

    1. It was a blast to put together, Jess. I’m glad you could get in for this one, and hope to have you around again.

      thank you for the kind words! I feel the same about your words, and I’m grateful to have found your blogging space.

  1. I love how so many answers are tied to visiting landmarks or being out in nature. And food. Some great food and drink choices there. The aliens would be well fed. 🙂

    Also got a kick out of Joyce’s Roswell answer. So clever and perfect for the theme! *lol*

    Btw Eli, I should’ve offered to send one of my Hraunfossar photos from my trip in Iceland. Totally slipped my mind, though.

    1. We’re an adventurous (and hungry) bunch, Sara. No one – not one – said a thing about Sushi. Or an oakland raiders game.

      I wonder if aliens would consider Roswell cliche or brilliant!

      You must have some incredible pictures from the trip. Have you posted any on your blog?

      1. Not on my own blog, unless you count the herbal tea photo in the “What’s Making Me Happy: May 2017” post that went live yesterday. But I’ve written articles about the experience for DIY MFA and Writers Helping Writers, and those feature some of my photos. Would you like me to email those links to you? Or is it OK to share them here in another comment?

      2. All right then. 😉

        Here’s the DIY MFA one, “Five Reasons to Attend the Iceland Writers Retreat”: https://diymfa.com/community/5onfri-five-reasons-attend-iceland-writers-retreat

        And here’s the Writers Helping Writers post, “Using Real-World Locations to Ground Your Story’s Setting.” This is more of a writing tips oriented article, but it includes photos and several setting-related “fun facts” about Iceland: http://writershelpingwriters.net/2017/05/using-real-world-locations-to-ground-your-storys-setting/

      3. I need to set my fiction-in-progress in someplace fun to visit! I hope people check these out. I learn so much when I read your posts, Sara.

  2. Great list! Thanks for including me, but lied. I’d take them to the Walmart out in the sticks 😉
    Some of the stuff you see there is just WOW

    1. Not too shabby, eh Court? I knew you were hiding something. Wal-mart in the sticks is the ultimate cultural experience.

      When Wal-mart first went 24 hours, I was waiting in a long line at 2 a.m. I turned to the woman behind me and said, “all that are in here are freaks and strippers.” To which she answered in a flash, “which are you?”

  3. Cafe du Monde! Roswell! Hawaii!! There are some incredible suggestions this month to your prompt. I think our alien encounters would be quite pleased 🙂 Also, I always loved that movie, too, but you know–it’s been so long since I’ve seen it! I really enjoyed that ride at Orlando though, it may have been my favorite 🙂 XOXO

    1. Great places, all. Well, I think so. I’ve never been. But we really brought it. Earthlings will get a rep as great hosts.

      I showed that movie to my kids, and they liked it. That was a while back. Never been on the ride, either. Clearly, I need to get out!

  4. I am not an alien (at least I don’t think so) and I am ALL in for a visit with all of these people, places and food suggestions!

  5. I love the person who came up with Area 51 for a family reunion! Fun prompt, I loved a lot of these responses, they made me smile!

  6. Thank you, Eli. This is great! Too bad we can’t all meet up and do all of this together! That would be fun! Let me know when the aliens arrive, we can all meet in your kitchen. We can start the journey by making tortillas. Hugs!

    1. Thank you, Annie. It’s a blast to put together! We could get a bus (and a plane).

      You’ll see about the aliens’ arrival on CNN and Fox News. There would be very different headlines, though. Every good journey begins with warm tortillas.

    1. Glad you liked it, Lisa! Love how these come together. The Roswell Reunion was a hit!
      I wonder what kind of barbecue they’d have. I think of these things.
      Cool that our blog universes merge a little.

  7. Reblogged this on All In A Dad's Work and commented:
    It never crossed my mind until Eli, the Coach Daddy asked his strange blogging friends where we would take an alien visitor. The catch? We were limited to 6 words! Where wold you take the strange visitor?

  8. Dang, I missed out on that one!!! Great question, Eli! I would probably take an Alien to the Great Barrier Reef because it is still stunning but also a showcases why they wouldn’t want to abduct us… (but that’s more than 6 words…)

      1. Nah. I wouldn’t disparage any American president. As unpopular as both the final candidates were this election, I wouldn’t have condoned the way he has been (or she would have been) treated.

  9. A fun edition of 6 words – in addition to my own suggestion of Newfoundland, my faves were numbers 1, 2 and the Area 51 and Roswell entries. Thanks for the world tour!

Say what you need to say

