Guest Post: Number Recognition Pizza Game from Education.com


stormtroopers pizza
 nephoto credit: DocChewbacca Pizza Injustice via photopin (license)

They had me at pizza.

Today’s post comes from education.com. They offer learning programs for pre-K to fifth- grade students. I wish there were these things when I was a kid. I was a bit scattered at that age – ‘creative,’ they used to tell me.

The cool thing about the programs: They’re fun.

My girls had fun ways to learn at that age. I kind of wish I had stuff like this to help me learn new stuff at work. This game today combines a nemesis of mine (math) with a love (pizza.) Maybe it’s not too late to sharpen my own math skills.

Build Your Own Pizza!

Number recognition is an important skill for kindergartners, but sometimes mastering it and learning what these symbols mean can be overwhelming for your little one. If that’s the case, try playing building your own pizza. This fun math game will have your child use their number knowledge to put the right ingredients on her paper pizza to win. Mastering number recognition will be as easy as pizza pie!

What You Need:

  • Construction paper, multi-colored
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Markers
  • Dice
  • Clear laminating stickers
  • Pencil

What You Do:

  1. Help your child to cut out a 9″ circle from brown construction paper to create the pizza crust. Each game participant should have their own pizza crust circle.
  2. Ask her to name five different pizza toppings.
  3. Assist with drawing and cutting out the chosen toppings 2″-3″ in size. Make sure to make enough toppings for the number of crusts you have created. Some ideas for toppings are olives, tomatoes, pepperoni, green peppers, and broccoli.
  4. Draw six squares on a full sheet of white construction paper.
  5. Ask her to write the numbers 1-6 at the top of each square. One number per square.
  6. Then, below the numbers, have her draw dots from 1-6 that correspond to her numbers. They should look like the dots she sees on the face of a dice.
  7. In each numbered square, have her draw a different pizza topping ingredient under the numbers 1-5. Maybe “1” is tomato, “2” is broccoli, “3” is a slice of pepperoni, and so on.
  8. For number “6,” ask her to write “Take off one topping.”
  9. Laminate all of the pieces for durability.
  10. Time to play! Each child gets one pizza crust and one piece of each of the cut-out toppings. Have each child take turns rolling the die and putting the topping corresponding to whatever number they roll, onto their pizza. However, if they roll a “6”, they’ll need to remove a topping.
  11. Play until everyone has a finished pizza!

Education.com empowers parents, teachers, and homeschoolers to help their children succeed. Check out over 100,000 award-winning educational materials like worksheets, games, lesson plans and activities designed to help kids learn while having fun.

learning quote.jpg

22 Replies to “Guest Post: Number Recognition Pizza Game from Education.com”

  1. Paper pizzas? It’s never gonna catch on, Eli. The fiber content may be good, but I think the flavour is a little lacking 😀
    But all jokes aside, I could have done with something like this. Mathematics was my worst enemy at school.

    1. You just need a little imagination, lyn. I’m willing to stick it out. Especially if you order real pizza while playing the game!

      I wonder how well I could do in school if we’d gotten pizza involved a lot quicker. Math used to kick my arse.

  2. This is cute! I used playdough and cookie cutters to teach mt daughter colors, shapes and numbers. I also used “adult” games with both my kids, mostly straight dominoes and rummy. Son was doing three digit multiplication on a chalkboard as soon as he learned his multiplication facts and daughter learned her first algebra equations in the car with a bag of M & M’s.
    Visit me @ Life & Faith in Caneyhead. 😉

    1. Glad you liked it, Barbara! I love the creativity of using playdough and cookie cutters, too. So many games can be teaching tools (shh – don’t let the kids hear you say that.)

  3. I love that Ben Franklin quote. Also now I totally want a pizza. Mmmm… I started making one out of polenta that is really delicious, but I’m wondering if it tastes cardboard-esque. I don’t think so, but certainly not nearly as good as PIZZA pizza 🙂

    XOXO

Say what you need to say

