3+ Uncommonly Good Gifts for a Happy Father’s Day


IMG_20170521_113456
Stormtrooper in a pickle at Brookgreen Gardens in Murrells Inlet, S.C.

I just wanted them to pretend.

Kids are busy, though. There are church camps and chicken fajitas with friends in restaurants way past the dinner rush. There’s a whole day spent with a friend from school, laying out at the pool and baking chocolate chip cookies.

Kids my kids’ age don’t have time to pretend anymore.

So I will. My friends at Uncommon Goods have the coolest stuff you could possibly get your dad (outside of one of those sweet Rockies jerseys.) Uncommon Goods has some uncommon traits going for them as a company, too, in an effort for sustainability.

HANDMADE, RECYCLED, AND ORGANIC | Uncommon Goods purchases merchandise from artists and small manufacturers. Nothing in their product line contains:

  • Feathers
  • Fur
  • Leather

B CORPORATION | Uncommon Goods certifies suppliers who meet criteria for:

  • Giving back to the community
  • Lessing impact on environment
  • Providing a living wage

FOREST STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL | It’s an effort to minimize strain on the earth’s resources in producing catalogs by:

  • Limiting number of mailed catalogs
  • Printing catalogs on recycled paper (mostly 30% post-consumer waste) or paper sourced from FSC certified forests (sustainably harvested)
  • Shifting more business online

It’s not just Father’s Day gifts, although there are tons of them – Uncommon Goods is an awesome place to find something for your guy 12 months a year. Uncommon Goods’ line of anniversary gifts is stellar, too.

Also, if I ever get invited to a bridal shower (hey, it’s 2017), I’d check out the gifts appropriate for one on the site, too. I’d need the guidance.

Here are the three wish-list items I’d select from each of my girls to me, for Father’s Day.

My Father’s Day wish list

From Madison

Whiskey and Rum Making Kit

Age scotch whiskey, spiced rum, or a full-bodied Kentucky bourbon to your taste with this personalized cask. | $25-$75

Forgetting the Great Panini Maker Disaster of 2002, my 19-year-old daughter might give dad new life. If I had a coffee table, this beautiful artisan whiskey and rum making kit from Virginia would make a gorgeous centerpiece.

It takes just two weeks to age rum to perfection, before adding it to slightly chilled Coke Zero, with a wedge of lime, and a grilled cheese sandwich. (Or, hope that dad forgets and the daughters can reap what he tried to sow.)

From Hayden

Personalized Compartment Valet

This personalized wood valet has multiple compartments for organized storage. | $80

How many times do my girls hear, “where the hell’s my wallet?” when we’re headed out the door. Right. That many. This might cut down on that. The personalized compartment valet has spots for my glasses, my change, and my keys, at least.

That doesn’t necessarily solve the problem of my wallet, though. But if I could reduce the stress of having to dig up those other things, maybe my wallet wouldn’t stray far.

From Camdyn

A Hole Paperweight

Just kidding! (I think.)

Beard Pack

 

Sweet! But wait. I’m getting ready to shave the rest of the beard …

Mixtape Card Game

This game tasks players with finding the perfect tune to back past, present, and future memories. | $25

Yes! I do this in my mind, anyway. Players must find just the song to document the past, present, and future of their lives. (How could I narrow it down?) There would have to be some Bob Seger and The Beatles cards in the mixtape card game deck.

Probably some 303? (Kidding, kidding.)

It sounds kind of touchy-feely, but Camdyn knows I dig music and know 73% of all songs that come on the radio. People vote on the best match per round. This game relies on emotions, memories, and life experiences. Finally, an edge for being old!

These gifts were also cool:

Couch Arm Table | It’s just big enough for a Totino’s pizza and Coke Zero. #cosmicconvergence

Planisphere Watch | Tells time and shows constellations. #stargazingtime

Taco Socks | You are what you feet. #tacotime

Bioluminescent Dino Pet | Extinct, yet bright, and no mess to clean up. #MesozoicLife

Large Baseball Stadium Blueprints | For Coors Field! #HomeOfTheFutureChamps

Men’s Ultimate Travel Jacket with 15 Features | It’s basically a home that zips up. #DadLife

The end? No, wait a second!

Hayden, at the last moment, sent in her picks!

The avocado tree starter kit so you can have your own guacamole and not get mad when us white people put salsa in it.

Home run beer pong so I can learn baseball better, in a fun way.

And a portable grill so you don’t struggle so much when we go camping.

I love it, kid! You’re spot on about the guacamole. I hate when it’s tainted with store-bought salsa, and I could use all the help I can get grilling at the campground, and baseball, I love baseball … but hey, wait.

I’m the only one playing pong, right? You’re a spectator?

Hayden?


Uncommon Goods compensated me for this post. Opinions all my own. 


shakespeare fatherhood quote

34 thoughts on “3+ Uncommonly Good Gifts for a Happy Father’s Day

  1. Hubby is getting nice thin, cool Fruit of the Loom white T-shirts from me. It’s his favorite summer round the house yard work shirt. Cool cotton comfort. Who knows what Hannah will come up with?! She usually makes him real happy. Bubba will likely be put of town for Father’s Day; the downside of pipelining for a living.
    Visit me @ Life & Faith in Caneyhead. 😉

    1. Now, that works, Barbara. I’ll spill on them at the first chance, but for a day, at least, they’ll be pristine! I just look forward to a day with my girls. That’s a helluva gift.

  2. We will be out of town for Father’s Day, so it will be interesting to see how everything shakes out. I suspect, based on past experience, the boys will all send their dad Amazon gift cards.

  3. Mmmmm taco socks. I saw BigMac and fries socks, too. I have Guiness socks (pints of stout on them), but when I wear them to school I call them my Coke socks. I also have rooster socks that I call my…. nevermind. Socks are awesome!

  4. LOL at this list! Sounds good! I am going to have to look into that card game for my husband. He is a music fanatic and that would be right up his alley! Thanks 🙂

    1. Nice, right? So many great things, makes me want to have more kids. Kinda. There are a couple of cool card games in there. But that music one … feels perfect to me.

    1. Isn’t it a cool company? I could love about 80% of what I saw on the website. The only thing better than a glass of whiskey might just be not having to go to the liquor store to buy the whiskey!

  5. “Might cut down on that.” Shouldn’t it eliminate it altogether?

    Those baseball stadium blueprints are pretty cool, and they have one of the original Comiskey Park. I spent many happy hours there, even when the White Sox were getting beaten like a rented mule.

    1. I’ve learned to hedge my bets, John! “Might,” “could,” “could help” … all in a dad’s army of safety. Didn’t Comiskey have the exploding scoreboard?

    1. Thanks, Lisa! It definitely makes for a diversion from the same old gifts, right? I would so play that mixtape game. I’ve often considered a post about the soundtracks of our lives.

  6. Love the list!!!! My husband actually has that bioluminescent dino pet (an xmas gift) … it’s cute for about a week, then it just becomes a largely boring paperweight. :/ Also, you can grow an avocado tree just with a pit! We did last summer and now it’s 2′ tall with ginormously long leaves… I challenge you – do it!!
    But seriously, that mixtape card game … WINNER!!!

    1. Thanks, Katherine! I’d settle for a week of awesomeness out of a dinosaur. I am definitely going to grow an avocado tree – my mom does with a glass of water, a few toothpicks, and an avocado pit.

      that mixtape card game would be the kind that you could play until 4 a.m., then take a nap, and then have pancakes.

      1. Yeah, it just struck me as an expensive thing. 🙂

        That’s what we did too!! Good luck! It took longer than we thought it would and had to change the water a lot to keep mold at bay, but it was worth it. Now just impatiently waiting for the fruit….

      2. Haha … I know! It’d be better to win it by knocking over plates or something at the fair. I wonder how long it takes for the tree to give us avocados for my tacos?

      3. Too long … According to google it’s 5 years… Ugh. 4 more to go for us! Also, fun fact: their flowers bloom for 2 days, and the first day it’s female while the second day it’s male. Wowzers!

  7. This was a fun read! I got a few good chuckles out of it, especially with the A Hole Paperweight. XD

    June is pretty much my dad’s month. His birthday is on the 27th, so when he sees me next weekend (I’m not able to go to the Cape for Father’s Day weekend, unfortunately), I’m going to shower him with gifts. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Sara. The A Hole Paperweight is the funny gift that every dad prays he never gets! Or boss. Or coach.

      June’s like Christmas to your dad! What kinds of things do you give him? Besides yourself, as a stellar daughter?

      1. Awww, shucks. *blushes*

        Dad is getting all gift cards. He’s a pretty simple guy; he doesn’t need or want a lot of things, and now that he’s been retired for almost 2 years, there’s no point in getting him clothes unless Mom says he needs them. So the gift cards are for restaurants he likes and home & gardening stores on the Cape – all things that will come handy in the future.

  8. These are all awesome gift suggestions and I will keep them handy for birthdays and Christmas because my hubby is one of the hardest people in the world to buy for! He got a FitBit Blaze for Father’s Day and I sent off for DNA on both of us. He was thrilled with both. Hope you had a great day Eli… 😀

Say what you need to say

