Sunday Reads II: Records, Discomfort, and Mama’s Boots


IMG_20170502_123450

It’s actually Sunday morning, now.

My goal for this Sunday post feature is to finish it before midnight Saturday night, so i can go to bed and hope for those of you so inclined can open a link or three and read something good I discovered during the week.

Not to be up another night of the week fending off sleep to finish a post.

(Did you know that sometimes, I read my posts the morning after, and it feels as if that’s my first go through? It’s true. I’ve found the same photo in twice, or sentences that jumble together, and once I even found that I forgot to title the damn thing.

Some posts are meant to entertain on a surface level, and honestly, we all need that.

But some, some get us thinking. And discussing. I hope at least one of these resonates with you, and I want to hear what you think. I want to see what these posts say to you, and maybe even for the authors to check in on the conversation.


Week 2: In with the Old | Everyday Nostalgia

Corey, of Nostalgia Diaries

The first element that softened the blow of my parents splitting was how they decorated their new spaces. It became apparent to me that the elephants were my mom’s, all the Southwestern-themed items came from my dad.

I love how Corey is doing this. We want something familiar in a new setting; we also want something new. She’s introduced a record player that will become part of the fabric of her daughter’s childhood.

Because my daughter and I both love music, I knew one of my fist purchases would be a record player, which one might think odd since I didn’t own any records myself. But because I grew up listening to my parents’ records, I had an appreciation for how a song sounded on vinyl—warm and inviting.


O-o-h Child

Spearfruit

What happens when a song just comes to you when you need it?

Some day, yeah
We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day
When the world is much brighter

Here’s to the new day for my friend.

My mornings are usually the same; wake in pain, about a level 5, drink coffee in silence to reflect and ponder about myself, my cancer, my life and my upcoming day.

This particular morning as I was doing my usual morning routine, a song popped in my head for a reason.

Was someone or something sending me a reminder?


The Truth is

Trish, The Trish List

The most uncomfortable part of that uncomfortable journey is that space when you’re uncomfortable, and have no idea when you’ll feel comfortable. This, as painful as it feels an anxious, too, is such an important portion of it all. Hang in.

You must let it go. You must not let anyone else guide you to do something that does not feel comfortable to you. This does not mean the journey itself will not be uncomfortable, but it must be your uncomfortable.

I Love Having My Own Car

Charlotte, My Pixie Blog

Ride on, wild one. I love my Pontiac, with her lack of get-up-and-go. She’s perfectly made for me, and me, for her. She was made when cars were cars. beep beep.

There are many times when I get behind the wheel without a set destination in mind. I just want to get away and so, I follow my gut. And then there are times when you end up in Monsey, NY, when you really wanted to go to Nanuet, NY, and sometimes your inner GPS needs to be reset 🙂

Mama’s Boots

Jaye, of Jaye Street

Jaye spins an incredible story. There’s something about the relationship between mother and daughter that I, as a dad, can only appreciate with observation (and posts like this.)

They had a ½ inch heel and silver buckles. They were really pretty. I put them on fearing they would be too small; yet, they fit like a glove. I felt a bit like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. I peered at my reflection in the mirror and thought I looked pretty snazzy.

nicholson reading quote

# # #

13 Replies to “Sunday Reads II: Records, Discomfort, and Mama’s Boots”

  1. i love when you share links, these always lead me to somewhere i’ve never been, like discovering a cave. in a good way. p.s. when i write at night, it often is a bit off when i read it in the morning too )

    1. Thank you, Annie, for coming by so faithfully. I’m fortunate to run across words I’d love to share with people I love.

      Which post especially resonated with you?

  2. Awww, you are the best for sharing your weekly favorites in your space 🙂 Thank you. I feel honored to be in such great company! Hope you had a lovely 4th!!!

    1. Thanks for making this necessary by writing kickass posts, Charlotte. It’s a good batch, isn’t it? Fittingly, I sang “La Bamba” in karaoke for Independence Day!

Say what you need to say

