5 Random Smartphone Photos, Part VII


IMG_20170521_114910

So, that number was completely arbitrary.

I’d like to do these once a week, so why not? There’s a divide between my old, beat-up phone and the new replacement. My Google photos won’t sync. So I have pictures on my new phone I can’t get to online, and I can’t get my online photos from my phone.

First world problems, right?

I’ll pick just five at random, and luckily, I have 300-plus to choose from. Amazingly, none are from the trip Camdyn and I took to Jacksonville last fall to see the Denver Broncos play. That trip has made it into every random smartphone post I’ve done!

Things can get heavy around here, so a little photographic levity is in order.

Plus tomorrow is for Go Ask Daddy. I haven’t even picked the questions for that one yet! There’s actually just about as many questions as there are photos! And the first one (I just started picking them) is about Camdyn’s concussion … come back tomorrow for more.


0713 clean car 1

Gabi, my Pontiac Grand-Am, has had more lives than Keith Richards. Once, when I thought she was done in this world, I spent a Saturday prettying her up. She’s still chugging along. I am too.


0713 mexican food 2

What would a post around here be without a shot of food, especially Mexican food? This place isn’t far from where I work, and the ambiance is above and beyond. But the food was delicious. How can a day go wrong when it contains street tacos?


0713 girls latta plantation 3

What do kids do when dad gets the date wrong (by a week) for a free day at The Raptor Center? They horse around at Latta Plantation, of course. These two knuckleheads give a whole new meaning to wildlife.


0713 asheville burger 4

More food, are you serious? This burger was serious. I think it came from a burger joint in Asheville. Camdyn was there to play, and Madison was close by, so I thought I’d show her how the other half (and those who aren’t on the campus meal plan) live.


 

0713 camdyn goalkeeper queeens grant 5

Camdyn’s middle school team plays a couple of games per season at the high school. In a blowout loss, Camdyn wound up playing goalkeeper – not her natural position by far! – on the same field her big sister made her legend. She wasn’t thrilled at the result.

ildan quote photos# # #

30 thoughts on “5 Random Smartphone Photos, Part VII

  1. as you probably have picked up by now, i love pictures too! what’s a day without a wobbling grand am, unwilling to give up? remember i had the red devil, second generation, at that. and tacos, just because. the girls come along for the ride )

    1. We’re kindred spirits that way, Beth. Those wobbling Grand-Ams have important missions in this world, don’t they?

      I do remember diabalo rojo, for whom someone should name a taco.

  2. I have a lot of random pics on my phone. I was looking for something the other day and found one of my foot?? Hmmm.. no clue! LOL! Food is always a good pic! Great! Now I’m hungry! Maybe I should have eaten breakfast?? πŸ˜‰

    1. You should share a handful of those photos, Courtney. Maybe even the one of your foot. I have a few I don’t remember taking.

      The problem I have with food pics is that sometimes I’m 87% into a meal before I think about a camera.

      That’s a sign of good food. And what about breakfast for dinner tonight?

  3. I think you should also do a series where you give the girls your phone for a week and see what random photos they would take. You have some pretty awesome wildlife there in North Carolina!

    Gabi looks like a great girl. Bonnie – my Bonneville – was a good one, too. She’s living out the rest of her days back in Ohio, super thankful that she doesn’t have to deal with Denver traffic.

    1. I have a glut of selfies from a younger set of my daughters from my first days of having a smartphone, Corey!

      We have some pretty awesome wildlife in our *house*, let alone our state!

      Gabi’s a wonderful girl. She knows Bonnie, actually. They’re related. I think she’d like to retire with her, but I have other plans.

  4. Food is my love language. I love all the food pictures. I take lots of food pictures too. I especially like the taco plate. I saw that and turned into Fat Bastard from Austin Powers “get in my belly!” I haven’t done a post like this before, but you’ve sparked my interest in doing one at some point!

    1. Food is my alpha and omega, Beth. Food pictures are the next best thing to food. That taco plate could be a topographic map of my soul. Get in my mouth, and I’ll be happy.

      I’d love for you to do one of these – I actually use random.org to pick the photos.

  5. Mexican food is my happy place. Now I’m hungry. Thanks a lot, Eli. πŸ˜‰ All kidding aside, I think it’s fun to “see” life through your lens.

    1. Mexican food is my life force sometimes, Mia. I’m hungry too, but I’ve been hungry since right after lunch. You’re welcome!

      Thanks for taking a look through my cloudy and low-resolution lens today.

  6. Ahh… knuckleheads in natural habitat. Lucky shot to see two of them! πŸ˜€ It’s 10:30 pm and now I need a taco. There’s nowhere to get a taco within 300 km!

    1. Better than a zoo, my friend. It’s a rare shot, indeed. Tacos are also good at 1 p.m., 2:10 p.m., and 4:55 p.m. Taco scarcity is probably Canada’s biggest domestic concern – or at least, it should be.

  7. I want that burger so much right now! My car’s name is Allie. I’m always glad to meet a kindred spirit that understands their car’s personality enough to ask its name. May you and Gabi the Grand Am have many more happy miles together!

    1. I could say that first sentence 234 times a day, Joey! How’s Allie doing? I always pat Gabi’s dashboard lovingly when the girls make a quip about her age or condition.

      If we can get to 300,000, it’ll be a happy miracle. #keeponkeepingon

Say what you need to say

