Weekend Reads I: Travel, Nostalgia, Love


stormtroopers skeleton jungle
photo credit: Chris Blakeley “I’ve got a bad feeling…” via photopin (license)

Who skips over a weekend, honestly?

I did. Not intentionally. There’s sometimes just not even cable cars to carry everything. I’ve tried to recognize just how many cable cars I have a day (or to-go boxes, whatever), and not overfill. Last weekend, that meant leaving Sunday reads behind.

I’ll share seven this week, spanning last week and the week before.

I’m doing this Friday afternoon, so those of you so inclined can check things out Saturday morning. I’ll be back at the soccer fields with Hayden’s team camp, grateful for a random stray Wi-Fi signal that allows me to turn the picnic area into an outdoor office.

What are your weekend plans?

I’d love to take a road trip, but I’m still without wheels. Gabi’s going on Week 2 in the shop. I’m not sure whether to get her last rites or be ready for her to be good as new. The more times she goes in, the less likely it is we’ll be riding off into the sunset together.


road rage
photo credit: “Dont stop believin’ ” Anakin Skywalker… just another emo teenager on a weekend night. via photopin (license)

Arizona Road Trip

Aunie, Aunie Sauce

Aunie’s husband did a bang-up job planning a trip for them! They could definitely do worse for states to have to drive through, and then there was Mexican food, too. I think I could take a trip visiting every town’s No. 1 Mexican restaurant in *every* state.

The week was so magical. I didn’t share photos of all our hikes or every adventure we took… but each one was one for the memory books. … The trip was exactly the vacation I needed to bookend my training prior to going back to work. – Aunie


snacks lede
photo credit: Pumkin Duty via photopin (license)

Enough With the Freaking Snack Bags!

Alyson Herzig, Scary Mommy

My girls might not remember scores or standings from seasons gone by – but they do remember some snacks. (Especially the mom who used to bring McDonald’s biscuits, says Camdyn.) Alyson has a point here about how we take things too far sometimes.

Raise your hand if you got a fucking snack bag after your sporting events and you were raised in the 1980s or before. Yeah, I thought so, not a damn hand up anywhere. You know what? We all lived. No one died of hunger. No one passed out from malnutrition. – Alyson

 


#TBT: Do Not Underestimate the Power of Nostalgia

Corey, The Nostalgia Diaries

Nostalgia happens in sports, too. Specifically, with the Denver Broncos. When they revealed new uniforms, fans noticed the distinctive D was missing, and assumed it meant the team intended to move! They didn’t, and we came to love the new kits.

You haven’t thought about it in years, but when that wave of nostalgia crashes over you and you are suddenly swept out into a sea of youthful memories, you immediately forget the new and relish in a celebration of the old, the vintage, retro, the classic. – Corey


star wars
photo credit: The Death Star™ via photopin (license)

These 5 Star Wars Cocktail Recipes Come From a Galaxy Far, Far Away

Amy Zavatto, Liquor.com

Now and then, there comes a time when my Star Wars affinity catches up with my middling age. It’s awkward, to whip out a stormtrooper action figure at a dinner party, and another grown human sees it. The Remedy: A cocktail that looks like Yoga, perhaps.

While you probably wouldn’t be super stoked at the quality of drinks served up at Chalmun’s Cantina in Mos Eisley on planet Tatooine, we have found a bounty hunter’s breadth of Jedi-worthy drinks to keep your spirited adventures from dipping into the Dark Side. – Amy


love
photo credit: JD Hancock via photopin cc

Remember Reminder #16: There Are Many Ways to Say ‘I Love You’

Corey, The Nostalgia Diaries

I love you is a presence, too. Next to you, in the same room, on the other end of the line. In comments (for sure), and gestures, whether it be a warm blanket or a cold drink. Even a bottle of hot sauce if there’s enchiladas on the table.

It can be whipped up with home-cooked meals and passed around with plates of fresh-baked cookies … It can be playful—‘Who loves ya?’—and serious—‘I do’—and span continents—‘Te quiero,’ ‘Je t’aime,’ ‘Ti amo’… – Corey


This One’s for the Dreamers

Ashley, Happy. Pretty. Sweet.

Someday, I too shall taste an In and Out Burger. Dreams are so crucial. I mean, if we don’t have dreams, life is just mortgages and sore hamstrings, and with them, life is extra cheese and January Jones movies.

We all have dreams that didn’t come true. We all have choices we wish we could go back and change. But, the beauty of life is that all of the good things and all of the bad have led to who you are in this moment. And, if you don’t like who you are, there is time to change. – Ashley


yoga
photo credit: JD Hancock via photopin cc

Yoga

Beth, I Didn’t Have My Glasses On

I wish I could see all of these poses, especially of the author. I always wonder about the soul who comes once and never comes back. Maybe crow pose got in their craw. Or maybe they’re like me, who has now missed two straight weeks!

our instructor

a sweet hippie fairy

with a lyrical whisper voice

leaves me guessing

watching the others

trying my best to follow

lee quote reading# # #

8 thoughts on “Weekend Reads I: Travel, Nostalgia, Love

  1. hope gabi is better and home soon. i’m sure she’s missing a road trip as much as you. 100,000 more miles, you can do it! and thanks for including me on the ride once again )

  2. Great shares! I recognise some of those names and will check out some of the ones I don’t know. I hope Gabi returns good as new soon! Get well soon, Gabi 🙂

  3. Somehow I have missed all your August posts. Wt heck? I think that Scary Mommy post about snack bags is spot on. I detest them so much. Probably a reason why most kids are addicted to snacks in general, right?!

    1. There weren’t as many as usual, Katherine! That might be a reason you didn’t see them. I’m all for taking care of the kids, but when the snack becomes the focal point (and I’ve seen it happen) then it’s tough for a coach to compete (especially with Oreos.)

      I mean even I can postpone snack nirvana for a game!

Say what you need to say

