#AtoZChallenge: H is for Hayden, headphones, and happy hour #GratitudeAndShit šŸŽ§


Just grateful to be kicking it with Western Conference All-Stars.

Is it possible that being grateful that Iā€™m not THAT far behind in life sounds sarcastic?

Or that Iā€™m grateful the Rockies havenā€™t lost ALL their games? Or that the pollen hasnā€™t ACTUALLY killed me? These are all viable items of gratitude if you ask me.

Itā€™s the day for giving thanks for stuff in my life so letā€™s get on with it. Oh, crap. Today has to start with Hs, too.

disc golf reedy creek park
Madison, me, Hayden, Camdyn, and Sutton at Reedy Creek disc golf course.

Hayden
Camdyn and I got to see her play on a school night Wednesday and kill some queso together afterward. She plays with such heart and lives with such heart, too. One more week of school and my middle kid will come home for the summer.

Photo by Vlad Bagacian on Pexels.com

Headphones
Hayden gave me the pair I wear now when she got Beats. I love them because theyā€™re noise (and dog bark) cancelling, while letting me listen to Chuck Mangione all day. This is how I jam.

Happy hour
Half prices appetizers and drink specials. Itā€™s been a long time, actually, and I miss meeting friends for cheap eats and great discourse. Or affordable eats and decent discourse at least.

Having internet problems
Itā€™s forced me to take breaks I wouldnā€™t normally take. My internet goes out intermittently and doesnā€™t come on no matter what I try ā€“ until it does. In the meantime, Iā€™ve read a couple chapters in a book, polished off some salt-and-black-pepper peanuts, or composes a sonnet.

Home
Itā€™s small and kind of cluttered, but itā€™s got plenty of windows for me to watch for Jayda to come back for lunch. It has plenty of spots for my girls to stretch out and watch scary movies with me when theyā€™re around. And itā€™s not lost on me that a roof over my head is a very good thing to have.

What about you? What are you grateful for? Bonus points if it starts with the letter H.

-30-

A to Z Challenge

A is for A new name for this blog

B is for B is for Bibster, baseball, and a spot by the birdbath #Gratitudeandshit

C is for Cassie Klein, actress and model; an interview for #GirlsRock

D is for Dusting off and writing again

E is for Energy, Facets of: An interview with crystal healer and healing jewelry maker Amanda Fitzsimmons, for #GirlsRock

F is forĀ Football questions for Go Ask Daddy

G is for Getting behind a cause

31 Comments

  1. Tamara says:

    Definitely grateful for a home that is so much more than a house. Very happy about stable internet service, too
    More importantly though I’m thankful for my family and friends being healthy. It’s an H word, too!

    How miss happy hour… Found a meme today that said

    “Once Covid is over” is starting to sound a lot like “when the Leafs win the Stanley Cup”

    https://thethreegerbers.blogspot.com/2021/04/a-z-2021-home-is-where-your-heart-is.html

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Yes, healthy! And a home is much more than a house. It’s like a pizza box with no pizza in it, a house.

      COVID will go and come again before the Leafs hoist Lord Stanley!

  2. Liam says:

    I grateful for Hybrid education because my kids are at their school buildings and not here at home today. It’s good for them. And it’s a nice break for my mother and I.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s good for them to get back, isn’t it Liam? I agree, and I know my kids would like to do that, too. I had a quiet house for most of today!

  3. 15andmeowing says:

    Those are all wonderful things to be thankful for- especially a house. Great photo of you and your daughters.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks – some Hs were very easy to come up with something for! That was just before Madison moved, for Father’s Day, so it was a special day.

  4. Happy hour in the title will always reel me in and you reminded me that it’s high time my husband and I enjoy a margarita. It’s Friday and your timing is perfect… I type as I sip on said margarita.

    I’m grateful for our home, that our adult children live nearby, and that they love to visit.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s 5 o’clock somewhere, Debbie. I’ve been breaking for a cold brew at 6 p.m. every night. I have to wait this time, because I’m definitely going out to get a pizza in a while.

      Great gratitude list! I’m grateful you’re here.

  5. I’m also very grateful for home and headphones One day I might even get some noise-canceling ones. And even though it doesn’t start with an h, I’m grateful for Lorenzo’s and their killer pollo ranchero.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m afraid of the noise-cancelling ones, Susan. I might miss something! Although when the neighborhood kids engage in screaming contests and the dog on the next block attempts a world record for consecutive barks, there’s a lot I’d like to cancel out!

      I had to look up pollo ranchero because I’ve never had it. I just bookmarked the recipe! Yum.

      1. With a bunch of food allergies, eating out is challenging, but there are a few dishes I can order if they hold the dairy. I really miss enchiladas.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        I will dedicate my next enchilada excursion to you, my friend. We’ve just gotten used to asking, but Hayden says she’s not as allergic anymore. I better look that up.

  6. Kathy G says:

    I’m grateful for the fact that after getting frustrated and blowing my top today I was able to work out the reasons for my frustrations and make amends to the people that happened to be around when I spewed.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s not what happens, but what we do after it happens, Kathy. Well done.

  7. Houses to clean, so i can earn a living.

    Wonderful list.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Yes! Thankful for a chance to work, too.

  8. beth says:

    grateful for my clan of daughters, sons in law, and grandies. and for flamin’ hot cheetos

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I wondered why the cheetos didn’t make the front of the list, but it’s totally understandable!

  9. claywatkins says:

    I only have one daughter, so I know how you feel. Our kids are growing up and my daughter is off to college in the fall. I have a pair of hand-me-down headphones, too. They’ve come in handy the past year when I ZOOM from the basement… hopefully that’ll be ancient history soon. Stay upbeat and well. Peace.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      One is all it takes, Clay! Incredible that yours is in college, when you (and I) haven’t aged a bit. I might keep my headphones around long after covid … I like the serenity. Right now, it’s piano jazz and it’s got me feeling allright.

  10. I miss happy hour too. Just going out with friends and relaxing. I’m grateful that those simple moments seem more in reach than they have for a while. Weekends In Maine

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Just, not having to go back to the car to get a mask (why can’t I always remember?) I’d even not mind getting stuck in a big crowd somewhere if no one had to worry about viruses. We’re one step closer every day, right?

  11. Oh yes, I’m grateful for my Home! And for my Hands, and for Health and Humour (even black, if need be). Grateful that my daughter introduced me to Harry Styles and that we have tickets for his Amsterdam concert, whenever the pandemic makes it possible to happen. Chocolate (has an H in it), morning coffeeh… Grateful you asked, it’s good to stop and think about this for a moment!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Home, hands, health and humor are great Hs for gratitude! I see concert dates and am hopeful by the time the calendar rolls around to them, we’ll be able to attend.

  12. Hair – I have too much of it (it hasn’t been cut in 18 months) and it’s turning green. I really need to dye it again (it’s supposed to be blue) but we’re in lockdown so who gives a flying fart! But I have it. Hubby has been “balding” since his teens. And it was one more thing cancer stole from a close friend. So I’m thankful for my mop, and the friendship we shared & the many things I am blessed to have.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I had to get my hair cut at some point … the fly away look doesn’t suit me anymore. Not that it ever did. It’s good the thankful for the mop and all our blessings. You’re definitely one, Jenn. (A blessing, not a mop!)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.