Guest Post: Aunie, From Aunie Sauce, on Fatherhood


photo credit: Infiltration: Jawa In Disguise via photopin (license)
photo credit: Infiltration: Jawa In Disguise via photopin (license)

My girls have the best mom for them.

I knew that early. You could see it. Motherhood was a calling for her, and so much that she did before becoming a mother indicated that: Her desire to make a career of being a mom, woman-upping for natural childbirth, advocating for minimal vaccines and a loving connection with our girls.

The strong, loving girls I get to coach today are a result of that.

My guest poster today has that look of rookie promise, too.

Welcome Aunie, who writes the blog Aunie Sauce. She’s a fantastic writer and lover of life who has all the makings of becoming an amazing mother. Her blog is chock full of style, faith, beauty, fitness, thoughts, and travel posts you’ll love.

Today, she’s here to write about an important dude in her life: Her father.

# # #

Fatherhood. This is something I will never experience. Motherhood, sure… but never fatherhood. And I’m OK with that. Were I to be a father, I’d have big shoes to fill!

Let me introduce my dad—the one with the big shoes. He’s Norwegian, a successful businessman, and has such a giving heart. He would do anything for his kids. He taught me to mow a lawn (I only destroyed two sprinklers my first time), he taught me how to golf, and he was always on the sidelines of our high school and college football games, not cheering the players on, but cheering for me and my sister—the cheerleaders 


He’s a pretty neat guy, and no—not just because I’m his daughter.

Just last month, that neat dad of mine got engaged. It’s so wonderful to see someone who you look up to and respect make one of the best decisions of his life. When you choose love, it’s just beautiful.

My dad always handled tough situations in life with grace. Moving his family all over the United States to accommodate his job? No problem (in fact, we grew to enjoy moving!). Getting through a divorce in one piece? Not quite as simple, but he did it never-the-less! Getting your kids through a divorce and still having them love and respect both their mother and their father? Now that’s the hardest one, and again, he did it. And not only are we closer to him now, but we couldn’t be happier for the new official (and beautiful) addition to our family in the form of his fiancè.

The idea of being a dad and managing so much on your shoulders is terrifying to me. But it’s so refreshing to grow up with a dad who protects you and does everything in his power to see you succeed. I may never have the chance to be a father, but thankfully I had the chance to have a father like mine. And hey, I have a husband who can’t wait to have kids… and thinking about all this makes me so excited to see the father that my husband will become. Don’t even get met started on thinking about what kind of mother I will become… yikes. Once again, big shoes to fill!

Are you a father? A mother? Any advice to a newlywed with kids on the brain? What did you learn from your father?

Annelise writes at Aunie Sauce: a blog about daily life, personal style, fitness, beauty, and faith. She’s training for her first marathon, and is a newlywed to a man who someday will make an amazing father. But until that “someday” arrives, she won’t have any idea of what being a parent is all about! So until then, she’ll keep on learning from her dad… and of course, Coach Daddy. Find her here: Blog, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube.

aunie quote

46 Comments

  1. Hiya Eli.. HIYA AUNIE!

    I just got to say, I follow Aunie’s blog.. RELIGIOUSLY.
    We have formed such a great friendship over this blogverse.
    I find her, her words and the stories she shares inspirational. Plus, she’s got KICK BUTT Style!

    Okay.

    I’m a mama. And, my advice to you and your husband, with your brains on babies is… GO FOR IT. You will never be 10000000% ready for a baby. It will never be the “right time” … If you wait for all the stars to fall in line, it just WON’T happen.
    Let it happen, when it happens… not too rushed, not too turtle’s paced. Let your journey guide you.

    You guys will be great parents.
    I just know it.

    And… not to totally overlook your dad.. He seems pretty cool. And I wish him the best with his new LOVELY LADY!

    My dad taught me a lot of things… I get a lot of my strength and endurance from him.. not too mention my OCD (but that’s a story for another day).

    Love you Aunie.

    Wuv you too Eli!

    1. Awesome advice – who’s ready for parenthood? No one. I’m still not. But you have to love the journey.

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you, Kat! It’s such a blessing to have met you along this online journey. I am so thankful for your advice… we definitely have kids in mind (sooner rather than later) so I really appreciate that! 🙂 Thank you for allllll your support-always.

      1. Eli is a kickass name for a little boy.

  2. What a lovely tribute to your father! And I would have to agree with you that Eli has it going in that dad department too!

    1. I just hope my kids are taking nice about me when they grow up!

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thanks Dish of Daily Life!! When I thought about what to post, I thought… wow, Eli and I have NOTHING in common. I’m not a dad, and I’m not crazy about soccer! So fatherhood was the topic and it just fit 🙂 thank you!

      1. I’m more than just dadding and kicking, after all.

  3. Kim says:

    What a great post – so much love here!! The love of Eli for his wife as the mom to his kids, the love of Aunie for her dad – overall beautiful post.
    Off to check out Aunie’s blog – thanks for the intro to a new blog.

    1. AunieSauce says:

      Thank YOU Kim! The biggest BIGGEST thing I have learned in life is to love, and I’m so glad you saw that through this post today. You are wonderful!

      1. Your dad really did good.

    2. Kim, you’re going to love her stuff!

  4. AunieSauce says:

    Thank you so much, Nicole! I can’t even believe that just a couple years ago, I thought I’d NEVER want babies. Now I’m getting to that itching phase and looking forward to what the future brings. Seeking out your blog now!! 🙂 Thanks again!

    1. I had a friend in college who got to that itching phase, so I took him to the student health center. That’s a different story.

  5. AunieSauce says:

    Eli, thank you again for this opportunity. I’m blessed to share the love for my dad 🙂

    1. Glad you’re here, Aunie! Good stuff you’re sharing, too.

  6. tamaralikecamera says:

    I think the most wondrous thing I learned from my dad, and most parents really, is the selflessness. My father passed away when I was four, and I was raised by my dad. He was (is) a hardworking guy who suddenly found himself with five kids, through a blended marriage. He loves the finer things in life – expensive clothes, cars, houses, etc. but he gave it all up to parent five kids. I can’t imagine that was easy but you’d never know it talking to him.

    1. Kids are cooler than Corvettes and caviar.

    2. AunieSauce says:

      This is beautiful. Being selfless. Thank you Tamara!

  7. You know you did something right when your daughter pays a tribute to you like this! So beautiful!

    1. Sounds like a great dude, doesn’t he?

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you, Leah 🙂 My dad wrote me the nicest text of thanks for this tribute 🙂 He had no idea I was going to be doing it!

  8. I have a soft spot for fathers in general. I’m not particularly close to my dad, but I was very blessed to have a wonderful step-dad who stepped in and took on three kids when he didn’t have to. This is beautiful tribute to an amazing Dad! I’m sure he is going to love being a grandpa. And Aunie I can totally relate to you the babies on the brain thing!

    1. I love to hear about dads who step in and do the job. It’s an incredible job. Aunie’s dad must have done a good job, don’t you think?

      As I told Aunie … Eli is an awesome name for a boy. Awesome.

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thanks Stevie! Your step-dad sounds like a real stand-up guy. So happy for you and him and that you’ve built a strong relationship together.

      An about the babies on the brain… it’s kind of fun, but totally scary to think about!

  9. Rorybore says:

    a loving and lovely tribute.
    Sorry that I can’t give any “daddy” advice – my own wasn’t worth the lick of a stamp. but I can tell you that as long as you do grow up knowing that you are loved beyond all measure by Just One parent — you still have a great chance of turning out just fine.
    (although, there may be some rocky years in the middle there while waiting for Mr. Right to just show up already!! ha)

    1. Les – do you think sometimes you feel the importance of a dad by one’s absence?

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you so much. I appreciate it!

  10. Rosey says:

    What a beautiful post, and big congrats to you dad on his upcoming nuptials. 🙂

    1. AunieSauce says:

      Thanks Rosey! Can’t wait for the big day 🙂

  11. mamarabia says:

    Parenting advice from me: Trust yourself. Sure, you can read a few books or go to a class, but in the end, you just have to trust yourself and be who you are. Don’t try to label yourself as a certain type of parent and don’t second guess or over-analyze your decisions. Parenting is hard enough without making it harder on yourself by comparisons to others. Those other people don’t have it all together either!

    1. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you so much! This is really important ESPECIALLY because I read so many mom-blogs. Not comparing myself will be difficult, but I know I can do it. Thank you for the great advice.

  12. Miriam says:

    What an absolutely wonderful post filled with so much love. A beautiful tribute.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      She did good, didn’t she, Miriam?

      1. Miriam says:

        She absolutely did!

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Be sure to check back on the link to April’s blog. I had a link to Aunie’s guest post on my site, but neglected to link to the one April wrote to inspire the love post. Confused yet?

      3. Miriam says:

        Was it the one she write to her father? I loved that. I actually had a look at her blog and tried to comment but it was on my phone and I had all sorts of trouble. Need to go on my computer. But sometimes it’s just not possible.

      4. Eli Pacheco says:

        I had a link to Aunie, the one who wrote about her dad. April wrote about a bold move she made for love, which inspired the post. Both links are in the post now. Sorry for the confusion!

      5. Miriam says:

        No need to apologise. All good.

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you for your absolutely sweet comments and support, Miriam!!

      1. Miriam says:

        You’re most welcome

  13. amommasview says:

    Some people claim they are ready for parenthood. But who is really? What a fantastic post.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      You’d love her stuff, for sure. I’ve known Aunie forever in the blogging world.

      1. amommasview says:

        About to discover her now

    2. AunieSauce says:

      Thank you so much, amommasview!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.