Predictions for Our Kids, in 6 Words


photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc
photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc

I’m no Nostradamus.

In fact, I couldn’t have even predicted that I’d open this blog with “I’m no Nostradamus.” I did, once, predict the exact final score of a Carolina Panthers-Minnesota Vikings game in a preview for the News & Record in Greensboro (N.C.)

Do you believe me?

I also predict the Denver Broncos will beat the Seattle Seahawks in the Super Bowl, 27-23. They’ll take a comfortable lead, then make me sweat it out until the very end. I probably won’t be able to fully enjoy my salmon until late at night.

For this month’s 6 Words post, I asked friends, bloggers, strangers, and strange blogger friends to make a 2014 prediction for their kids, in a six-word sentence. As you know, Ernest Hemingway inspired this idea.

Oh, and I also predict you’ll want to go to Kiss My List today. I’ve written a guest post for Dana’s incredible blog. Me being there is kind of like the Detroit Lions playing in the Super Bowl. It’s my manifesto on finger foods.

photo credit: 777arty via photopin cc
photo credit: 777arty via photopin cc

Kidding. 

It’s a piece about that space and time between hipster and curmudgeon, known as midlife. Or, my current address. Check it out, and see what else Dana has brewing over there. You guys really loved her guest post here, didn’t you?

Now, onto your six words … 

Here’s what you guys came up with.

1. Not losing son, gaining a daughter!

Debbie, author of Deb Runs blog

photo credit: Stuck in Customs via photopin cc
photo credit: Stuck in Customs via photopin cc

2. New adventures, old friends, same laundry.

Gina T., author of Totally Full of it blog

3. Little sister fiercely holds her own.

4. Big sister realizes jig is up.

Nicole G., author of Work in Sweats Mama blog

For Malone, age 4:

5. Learn to read, wipe his hiney.

For Lola, age 4 months:

6. Learn how to annoy big brother.

NJ R., author of A Cookie Before Dinner blog

7. The beds will still go unmade.

Heather S., author of My Mom’s a Bitch blog

8. Growing faster than I can fathom.

Kim, author of Co-Pilot Mom blog

9. Growing faster than I’m ready for…

Jamie J., author of Kreyv blog

10. Personal growth will be remarkably exponential. 

Tara N., author of Family Sport Life blog

photo credit: Public Places via photopin cc
photo credit: Public Places via photopin cc

11. Busy kids, many activities, outta trouble.

Teri B., author of Snarkfest blog

12.  kids will want/need even more!

Chris C., author of The Mom Cafe blog

13. J.R. will care for new sibling.

Brittnei W., author of Homemaking with Style blog

14. Lots of fights; lots of love!

Rabia L., author of The Liebers blog

15. This year they’ll grow as siblings.

Tricia, author of Raising Humans blog

16. Hope they don’t ask for money!

Marcia D., author of Menopausal Mother blog

17. My homeschooled baby is college bound!

Suzan D., author of Welcome to the Nuthouse blog

18. Shocked to discover Mom was right!!

Jenn S., author of Jenn’s Midlife Crisis blog

19. Driving Daddy crazy, day by day.

Toby S., author of Real Dumbass News blog

20. Boundaries pushed. Lessons learned. Loved always. 

Steph, author of From the Burbs to the Boonies blog

photo credit: tarotastic via photopin cc
photo credit: tarotastic via photopin cc

21. Big boys displaying childlike excitement daily.

Kim T., author of Day with KT blog

22. Hannah, she will whoop you someday.

Penny C., author of Real Housewife of Caroline County blog

23. Pirates, princesses, pirouettes….. simple childhood perfection.

Cassie B., author of Primitive and Proper blog

24. 2014: The year of approaching adulthood.

Marty W., author of Marty’s Musing’s blog

25. Well, we couldn’t avoid stitches forever.

Colleen T., author of The Family Pants blog

26. Legos, Lacrosse, Laughter, Lollipops, and Laundry.

Andrea C., author of The Underachiever’s Guide to Being a Domestic Goddess blog

27. There will be more family runs!

Amy C., author of Running Escapades blog

For X, age 7:

28. Two lost teeth, 2 inches taller!

photo credit: Amy~ via photopin cc
photo credit: Amy~ via photopin cc

for X, age 5:

29. Kindergarten begins and babyhood ends – wahhhh!

J.D. B., author of Honest Mom blog

30. Live dangerously, creatively and burn things.

Jen K., author of My Skewed View blog

31. Dreaming new dreams; making them happen.

Sandy R., author of Mother of Imperfection blog

32. Somehow at least one embarrassing moment.

Rhonda A., author of Laugh-Quotes blog

33. 13 and 17 – no babysitter needed.

Kerstin A., author of Auer Life blog

34. Busy, fun, adventures, our year awaits.

Dara G., author of Not In Jersey blog

35. Smarter than their parents by May.

Melissa S., author of Home on Deranged blog

photo credit: VinothChandar via photopin cc
photo credit: VinothChandar via photopin cc

36. Play, laugh, learn. All you need.

Roxanne P., author of Unintentionally Brilliant blog

37. G will give, while Biz creates.

Jennifer B., author of Another Jennifer blog

38.  trifecta of good fortune, three daughters.

Beth K., author of I Didn’t Have My Glasses On blog

39. We’ll have learning, magic, worry. Love.

Kristi C., author of Finding Ninee blog

40. Daughter considers becoming a professional student.

Priscilla W., author of She’s Cookin’ blog

41. Be kinder, gentler, healthier in 2014. 

Kathy G., author of Kissing the Frog blog

photo credit: jayneandd via photopin cc
photo credit: jayneandd via photopin cc

42. Terrible Twos? Start of kindergarten. Help!

Tamara B., author of Tamara Like Camera blog

43. Elise will paint something so incredible.

44. Marie will cross finish line first.

45. Grace will sing for adoring crowds.

Eli P., author of Coach Daddy blog

81 Comments

  1. Eli, these are really great! I love the one about the homeschool baby being college bound and of course the one “play laugh learn, that’s all you need.” That’s where my son is, too! Thanks again for getting me in on this! I enjoyed reading these.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Brittnei! There were some gems in here, and to see a homeschooled kid off to college has to feel pretty remarkable.

      I think we all need to play, laugh and learn, don’t we? I’m with your son. Thanks for playing along this time, and be sure to check out some of these contributors – I happen to love them!

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I love so many of these! If I had to choose one for the kid, it would be “Still marching to his own drum.” 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you like it! And I’d pick that one for myself, too – reminds me of one of my favorite Thoreau quotes.

      1. NotAPunkRocker says:

        🙂

  3. I love these all so much, Eli! Thank you for doing these. I love your predictions for your girls! Colleen’s also made me smile. We probably can’t avoid stitches forever here either!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks NJ! It’s a blast to do these, and I try to go for a different mix, to some extent, each time. I challenged myself to make my girls’ predictions about something other than soccer.

      I think the sooner we realize stitches and ER visits are part of the process, the easier it is when we’re actually chasing the ambulance with our kidlets inside.

    2. Rabia Lieber says:

      I am truly surprised that we haven’t had stitches or broken bones yet…{knock on wood/watch for blog post on ER visit soon!}

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        It’s a right of passage, Rabia – I wrote a post once of Grace’s top 5 emergencies. That’s right, we had to narrow it down!

  4. As always, so many great entries! Love seeing some of my running buddies here this month. Are we converting you to the dark side, Eli? I really hope you’ll be right on Marie’s heels when she crosses that line! I also feel #25 will become our family mantra, although I’m the one who ended up with a blackeye recently, courtesy of my little one’s skull connecting with my face! Yes, with the base jumping from cribs and daily shenanigans, I predict a trip to the ER in our future!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I don’t get no junk for these things, NG. I figured all you running mamas were having an intervention with me here. It’s working – now, if my ankle would cooperate.

      I hope I’m on the sidelines for Marie’s run, because I was thinking of her cross-country season. She tends to poo-poo any of my attempts to run onto the course after her.

      I suspect you actually got a little competitive with another running mama who didn’t appreciate you passing her on the trail, and handled it the non-Hokie way, with fists.

      Did you know 67% of all ER visits are precluded by the words, “hey y’all – watch this?”

      1. If you include Monkey’s version, ‘I jump,’ the percentage climbs to at least 69%.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        “I jump” is the cute white girl equivalent to the redneck proclamation of “hey y’all, watch this!”

  5. vitatrain4life says:

    HA HA HA – I loved the beginning of this so much! I hope your prediction of the Super Bowl is correct. It will make my older brother very, very happy. Enjoy that salmon my friend!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I wanted to promote the post on Dana’s page, and the Super Bowl isn’t far from my mind at all. I’m thinking of wearing eye-black and receivers gloves the rest of the week. SO ready.

      We still have to finalize the Super Bowl menu, but we always make something from each participant’s signature cuisine. We’ve nixed Rocky Mountain Oysters so far.

  6. Tara Newman says:

    These are all so great Eli. Thanks for including me in the fun.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s because they come from great writers, after all. Glad you were able to play along this time, and I hope the regulars here will check out your page, too.

  7. So many great ones here and think I would have to go with something like “Less sister fights, but more love!”

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Janine – in all our emails about guest posting, I completely forgot to ask you to contribute! I love your sentences though … but I’ve found that the fights sometimes *increase*, but so too does the love.

      Same result, just a little noisier.

      1. Totally more what I guess I wish, but sadly know better! And please you have so much on your mind now worries and just happy to get to read and share with you 🙂

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        You’re 15 degrees better than the best words I could come up for you, Janine.

  8. What a great post! Thanks for inviting me.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Amy, glad you were part of it! I hope you get a few Twitter followers out of it … apparently, all the discriminating running mamas frequent this page.

  9. Love all those! And it looks like your girls are going to have a great year!
    Thanks so much for letting me be part of this.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s a stellar collection, isn’t it? It should be a kickass year for my girls. Glad you got in the game this time, Kerstin! And thanks for sharing it, too.

  10. Caitlin says:

    haha aw.. these are all so good!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I didn’t have to reject a single sucky one!

  11. Teri says:

    Fantastic as always!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Teri – everyone brought it!

  12. So good! So much possibility in a New Year! Thank you so much for including me, Eli!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Kim! And it’s not too late to start over if you need to. Glad you were part of it!

  13. Very fun, Eli; and thanks for including me! It’s amazing that six words can give us such a great insight into the child’s age and current activities/shenanigans!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you could make it for this one, Debbie. Six words is so much more a challenge than 600, I always say, but that’s enough time to sum it up, isn’t it?

  14. jamie@kreyv says:

    Great post, thanks for including me! BTW, am I blog friend, or a strange blog friend? 😉 I’m ok with either!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you could make it! If you have to ask which kind of friend you are … that should tell you all you need to know! (The strangest ones are the dearest, so you’re in good company).

  15. Love every single one of them, even the ones that made me tear up a little. But I have to be honest, my favorite part of the whole post is the picture of the Detroit Lions “nevermind” bumper sticker. Holy crap, I’m still laughing.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll eat as a result of this blog, nearly every single time. Mostly eat. And the Lions … the poor, poor Lions. Thing is, that plate and bumper sticker have quite a shelf life.

  16. Love these! I was drawing a blank myself when I tried to think of something! Think there was just too much on my mind then. I love Melissa’s – mine outsmarted me eons ago!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      They rocked, didn’t they? It’s not always easy to come up with one. The next prompt has to do with junk food, so get your thoughts there now, Michelle!

      Kids can outsmart us all they want, but if we put the treats high enough, and hide the TV remote, we’re still in control.

  17. Rabia Lieber says:

    You know, when I wrote mine I was trying hard to keep it positive. I didn’t want to sound like a Debbie Downer with the comment about fighting. Now reading all of these (and being a bit farther away from the “closeness” of the holiday break) I realize that life in a family is usually just like that: lots of fighting and lots of love! Thanks for inviting me to participate, Eli! (And I’ve got a half written post I’m working on for you. I haven’t forgotten!)

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I think it depends on where you are when you get the prompt as to which direction you take it. Fighting’s part of any kid house, isn’t it? It’s usually followed up by love.

      Glad you got into this round, Rabia. Looking forward to seeing your post!

  18. Kim says:

    WOW!! You got some great 6 word predictions!!! These are so fun to read!
    Thanks for inviting me to participate!!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Kim! You guys deliver every single time. I get to see them before anyone else. Glad you were part of it.

  19. Lisa @ The Golden Spoons says:

    I love these – mine might say Growing bigger, smarter, prettier, happier – always. 🙂 BTW – are you in Greensboro?? That’s where I live!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Good one, Lisa! I’ve got bigger and happier down pat.

      We used to live in Greensboro – that’s where Marie was born – but we live in Charlotte now. Still one of my favorite towns!

  20. ksbeth says:

    #20 is my favorite – and about those detroit lions……loved your guest post too, i love that you are mix of old school and new school, let’s just call you ‘middle school.’ what wonderful lessons you are teaching your girls. )

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Middle school aptly describes my maturity level sometimes, too.

  21. These are great! Thanks for including me. Go Seahawks! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Sure, Jennifer. And yes – Go seahawks – and take the mariners with you!

  22. Some great predictions here. Thanks for letting me be a part of it again!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      The best, I hope, is Denver 27, Seattle 23. Glad you played along again, Rox!

  23. tamaralikecamera says:

    Ack, I didn’t make it in time! I’m the worst ever.
    These are astonishing. So many of my favorites/friends/both in one place.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Well if that isn’t a Mickey Mouse answer. You’re far from the worst. You’re at least in the top 35 percentile. This is sort of an all-star cast, isn’t it? And I try to be a bit random about it.

  24. You’ve got some really cool readers, Eli.

    Each of the 6 Word Thingies is brilliant in its own unique way.

    Thanks for letting me chime in, amigo!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks brother! It’s awesome to see it all come together, too. Glad you were part of it again.

  25. cassie says:

    these are so fun to read! thank you so much for including me!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s a blast to compile these, Cassie. Thanks for playing along … I hope you get some visits from your link!

  26. Rorybore says:

    another round of awesomeness in 6 words!
    there is no way – absolutely none, that I could have predicted that we’d have 3 poop incidents already in 2014!! January is not even over yet.
    Did you know a 9 year old boys boxer shorts will flush down the toilet? They will!
    sorta.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Turned out pretty well, didn’t it? You’re on track for quite a crappy year, friend. Or, maybe your total for 2014 is three, and you’ve gotten them all out of the way.

      I did not know that about boys’ boxers.

      I hope to never find out if that applies to 42-year-old men’s boxers, too.

      1. Rorybore says:

        pray you never find out what “snaking a toilet” also means.
        I have never been so thankful to be married to a man who’s not afraid of dirty jobs.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Being a man is a dirty job.

  27. Leanne says:

    Another fantastic list! #14 resonates well as does #20.
    #’s 25, 32, and 35 make me smile.

    I love your community. 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Leanne! There are quite a few of these that deserve an “amen.”

      My community is stellar … I couldn’t ask for a better one, and I’m glad you’re part of it.

  28. Amazing list, Eli! For me, though they were all awesome, 3, 6, 14, & 20 hit home the hardest! LOL! With a boy and a girl only 3 years apart…oh the drama! Little sis has already bashed both brothers in the head with a metal toy car, kicked out the middle ones two front teeth (thankfully they were still baby teeth), and argue like hooligans. The oldest would be a part of it when he still lived at home…but no one else had better mess with the other or there will be dire consequences! Especially if it is someone messing with the baby sister! Have a great week!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks Stacey! Love the chaos you described … I know it’s almost overwhelming when it happens, but this is what we sign up for when we become parents, isn’t it?

      You say and do things you never thought you would ever say or do. This is what happens in the trenches.

  29. Sandy Ramsey says:

    An amazing list from an amazing group of bloggers! I don’t just say that because I’m on it, either…lol! This is really fantastic and I love each and every one. It would be too hard to pick a favorite. Thanks for letting me be part of this, Eli!
    One more thing, nice call on the Superbowl this Sunday…I’m right there with ya!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m in awe every time I put one of these together. Glad you were a part of it! When we’re tasked of summing it up in 6 words, good things happen.

      I still think 27-23 Denver is what will happen, but if happened to be 33-3 Denver, I’d take that too. It’ll make dinner a little easier!

  30. Rosey says:

    Ohhhhh that Detroit license plate h.u.r.t.s. It’s true, but it hurts!!

    I’m hoping Denver wins, I’d like to see that celebration for Manning just because of the whole injury thing. It’s a big deal to anyone to win, but I think the human element there will make it extra special if he wins. And since Detroit is not in the game, I really don’t have a vested interested in the teams… although I have made a lotto ticket bet w/hubby (I’ve got Denver), so that counts as investment, sort of. 😉

    The six words are fun, lol at Marcia!! I agree with that one wholeheartedly, hahahaha

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Sorry, Rosey. I couldn’t resist when I saw that picture.

      Glad you’re with me about Denver. I think we forget a little about Manning’s comeback, because Richard Sherman is apparently a much more compelling story.

      I consider a Lotto ticket bet a huge investment – I considered buying tickets for the girls every week in place of proper allowance (they could hit it big, after all).

      Glad you liked the 6 words this time … I’m going to try and do them every month.

  31. Rhonda Albom says:

    This was so much fun, both to be a part of it, and even more fun to read the predictions. I am honored to be on a list full of such clever writers, or should I say soothsayers.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s a pretty cool collection, every single time. Welcome to the clan, Rhonda!

  32. Letizia says:

    Eli, I’m going to a Superbowl party and don’t know who to root for (not to mention I don’t know anything about American football, but let’s ignore that fact). So, I will put my decision in your hands and root for the Denver Broncos, right?

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Knowing nothing about American football, thankfully, is not a prerequisite for enjoying Super Bowl Sunday – especially when you root for the right team! (I hope you’ll blog about the experience, and at least tell me about the food).

  33. Aw, “not losing a son, gaining a daughter” so sweet! All inlaws should have that attitude!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That is pretty sweet, isn’t it? Let’s check back on that in 12 months!

  34. Eli, this list is AWESOME and EPIC and thank you so much. Also I SO hope you’re right about the Broncos. I grew up in Denver and all of my family is there…EEEP to the Donkeys! And seriously this post is amazing. This year they’ll grow as siblings might be my favorite.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thank you and you’re welcome, Kristi. I feel confident about the Broncos … I just keep seeing Peyton Manning making all the throws over the middle and moving the chains.

      Only Coloradans know about the Donkeys!

      Glad you liked the post … wait ’til you see what the next topic is.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.