Guest Post: Holly of Simplify Create Inspire, on her Dad


photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc
photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc

There’s a temporary crush on your site when you’re named a Voice of the Year.

It takes you by surprise. You see your daily views hit absurd numbers. Numbers you’d be happy to have had in a month when you first start a blog. And the followers … you get lots of new followers.

I got some who didn’t even blog in English.

I got one during that hectic time whom I’m not sure ventured my way because of BlogHer at all. She entered her daughter in the kid selfie contest. And she was foreign – but luckily, I am fluent in Australian. Thanks Laurie.

So none of her profound words were lost on me.

Holly writes a blog called Simplify Create Inspire, and I loved it right away. It’s about the survival of the work/life balance. I found Holly at just the time she changed jobs, then discovered she’s expecting her second child.

A self-proclaimed “over-committing sort of person,” Holly is a mom and wife. She’s a part-time small-business owner, student, and photographer. And girl can write. Today, she’s on the CD today to talk about her dad.

Give her a warm welcome, and be sure to check out her stuff.

Courtesy of Holly Connors
Courtesy of Holly Connors

As far as dad’s go, I got pretty lucky. Actually, I am pretty sure I hit the jackpot.

My dad always comes to mind when the word comes to mind. It’s the natural response of course, and while my dad is typical in some ways, he isn’t typical in others I suppose.

Mum tells me dad worked away the first three months of my life. It was a case of doing what had to be done to support a wife and three kids. She said it was a struggle for him to fit back into our lives after that, since life on the farm had to go on, with or without him there. It must have been tough but apparently that was my mum back then. Milking cows with an infant on her hip, long days raising us kids alone for awhile.

Obviously I don’t remember dad ever not being there. I grew up as dad’s girl, and while parents shouldn’t really have a favourite, I’m pretty sure I was it! Mum thinks dad maybe tried even harder to make up for those missed months.

The dad I know now and have always known is the typical hard working man who puts in long hours and is committed and reliable, always getting the job done. He is a carpenter and roof tiler by profession, and a jack of all trades otherwise. He is my go to guy for anything handy. After all, my husband, like his father, is not the most skilled handy man. Lucky I have dad!

My dad never yelled. In fact as it stands at 31, I can honestly say my dad has never actually raised his voice at me. I think mum hated that. She always had to do the discipline stuff … But she is good at it. Super scary if she needs to be! Although quite mellow these days.

Courtesy of Holly Connors
Courtesy of Holly Connors

Sometimes my dad is a little too good to me. Mum too. I have a bit of a driving phobia, for example, and sometimes they drop everything to drive me somewhere I find too scary. A little bit enabling of my fear perhaps, but I am extremely grateful. Then again, the one time dad took me for a driving lesson, I did run his car into a fence. Oops. Lucky my husband had the patience to finally teach me to drive a few years later.

Dad is the master of the BBQ and makes the best mashed potato. His cooking skills are otherwise limited to mostly eggs on toast, baked beans on toast, sardines on toast. I guess that makes him the toast master too.

My dad loves to go driving to scenic places and explore new towns. He enjoys amateur photography on his sometimes too technical DSLR camera. His favourite theme is sunsets. He also loves football. AFL… Aussie rules. Not rugby. Although he sometimes tolerates it and pretends to take an interest if my hubby is around. But he affectionately refers to it as ‘bum sniffers’ footy, which I think refers to the huddling thing they do. All in jest!

But when I think about my dad as a typical Australian dad… Not everything quite fits. Most of the world know Aussies love their booze… And apparently cracking open a beer on a hot summer arvo is the done thing. Just ask my husband or father in law. But not my dad. He actually hasn’t had a drink since the night him and mum first got together…

Oh yes, it’s true! Nothing since he was maybe 18. Everyone always gets a laugh when we tell that story, more than 40 years, a shotgun wedding and 3 kids later. Some things are meant to be.

So dad is a pretty great designated driver too.

Courtesy of Holly Connors
Courtesy of Holly Connors

And like most dad’s sometimes he does some pretty silly, but very funny stuff, like the microwave pudding that needed 50 seconds that he turned into a steaming lump of burnt stuff with 5 minutes on the clock, or the time he gave himself a mid-drift top getting his shirt caught in a various power tool. Oops.

The best thing is, while completely unintentional, I did find a guy that has many of my dad’s best traits. Yep, sometimes my Polish/Australian hubby’s love for a drink drives me crazy and it has nothing to do with him getting silly. He rarely does. It is just different to what I grew up with. But he too is a hard worker who is reliable and responsible and a generally nice guy, just like dad. What he lacks in the handy man stuff, he makes up in something else I suppose… His musical talents as a guitarist.

I am pretty lucky to have such men in my life. Two positive role models for my daughter and the baby on the way. Two people I can rely on for support and love. And two people (one more willing than the other) to drive my phobia-riddled self around when I have to go somewhere different and unknown.

Dads are pretty awesome!

Cheers

Holly

What is one thing your dad does or did for you that you’ll always be grateful for?

good father quote

24 thoughts on “Guest Post: Holly of Simplify Create Inspire, on her Dad

  1. Your dad sounds awesome, Holly! I am glad have that positive role model and found a husband that models those traits as well. 🙂

  2. I love that there’s a wedding photo from HIS wedding, and a wedding photo from yours. Special. My dad is so interesting to me. He took on a new wife and two new grieving kids, to add to his own three, and he turned us into the Brady Bunch. He would have been a very wealthy man if he hadn’t raised five kids, but he’s never once complained or wished for something else. At least not aloud.
    I always tell him that I want to win the lottery just so I can give him a new house, a new car, and definitely a beach vacation!

    1. I always wished for the day when I could buy my parents something fabulous too. Not rich yet but I will keep trying! And it takes such strength to combine a family. My hubby’s parents are both remarried but the way his stepdad is like a real dad is special. To him, that is dad.

  3. Aww thanks Eli for all the kind words and introduction, and of course for having me to share a little piece of me. And thank you to everyone else for your comments too. My parents wedding photos are always a little bit of a time warp reality check… They were 15 & 18 when they married, because of that bun in the oven that is my sister. Still amazes me they lasted the distance despite their rushed start… And I just realised my wedding hair is not so different to my mum’s, minus the interesting ringlets down the side haha uh oh!

    1. Great to have you here, Holly. The comments are where all the action is around here.

      Loved the old photo, and you picked the perfect ones for the post. Nothing like a real love story, right? Your wedding pic is the bomb, actually.

  4. Hi Holly, I loved reading about your Dad!
    How did he manage to never yell and never have a drink, wow! On the other hand you may just have been a super good daughter?
    As for your question: I’m grateful that my Dad turned his life around after having surgery heart surgery almost 20 years ago. He lived to walk me down the aisle and be a great Granddad to my son.

  5. You are blessed indeed to be able to write such a glowing tribute to your Dad, Holly.
    My Dad was sixty when I was born, and died when I was fourteen. I only had him a short time, but he gave me an enormous love for books. Miss you Dad.

Say what you need to say

