♨️ Go Ask Daddy About Hot Spots, Fallen Planets, and Kitschy Shirts


photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc
photo credit: Kalexanderson via photopin cc

Guess how I thought of opening Go Ask Daddy this week?

I had designs on a scathing prediction of boredom and boneheadism in the Super Bowl on Sunday. Final score: Patriots 9, Seahawks 8. It’s the lousiest championship game in the history of Jesus.

Marshawn Lynch fumbles three times and rushes for 3 yards. Tom Brady throws seven interceptions, and Seattle can’t muster a touchdown. Both coaches draw the writer’s block when it comes to rule-bending.

That’s saying something. Bill Belichick and Pete Carroll redefine the term, ‘cheat sheet.’

Two field goals from Steven Hauschka put Seattle up 6-0 in the fourth quarter. Stephen Gostkowski kicks a field goal for New England. However, Seattle gets a safety when Patriots punter Ryan Allen steps out of bounds in the end zone.

Trailing 8-3, New England benches Brady and plays backup Jimmy Garoppolo.

Garoppolo gets six pass interference calls. Seahawks defensive backs turn to one another and ask, “What’s that little yellow cloth mean?” Garoppolo finds Rob Gronkowski for a touchdown with 2 seconds left for a 9-8 lead, over Richard Sherman’s rattled skull.

john kerryPatriots long snapper Danny Aiken robs Garoppolo of MVP honors. America forgets Deflategate when it’s revealed the Patriots never paid Secretary of State John Kerry for using his face on their helmets.

I wouldn’t stoop to that, right?

wifi plane
My view in Charlotte on the flight to Cancun.

1. Is there Wi-Fi on airplanes?

You’re not even supposed to have your phone on in the plane at takeoff. I’d estimate 9 out of 10 flight attendants turn the other way when Pete Carroll keeps his on to play Candy Crush.

The only airline you’ve ever heard of that offers free Wi-Fi? Jetblue.

Other airlines offer throwback Internet access: Sluggish speeds at exorbitant prices. Has anyone seen my Sound Garden tape? It’s not worth it to post a Facebook update of your in-flight foam sandwich. It just isn’t.

Why not unplug in the friendly skies? Spread out in a seat no bigger than your butt cheeks, and eat M&Ms out of your barf bag.

electric eel
photo credit: Doug Letterman via photopin cc

2. Can an electric eel sting you even if it’s dead?

I would have Googled this on the airplane if I could …

Listverse.com compiled a top-10 Truly Awful Ways to Be Killed By an Animal. The electric eel just made the list. An electric eel generates currents through its nervous system. The high-voltage cells stack up in a specialized electric organ.

It’s the same as batteries in a flashlight.

Each cell works like a string of batteries, and bZZZZZ! Its prey gets a 600-volt jolt before it becomes lunch. It’s strong enough to kill a person. What if the eel has croaked? I wouldn’t mess with it.

It can generate electric shocks as long as nine hours after it goes to be with Jesus.

pluto
photo credit: pCka via photopin cc

3. Do you think Pluto should be a planet?

Few topics rile me like this.

I hate the lakers. I hate the red wings. I hate cooked carrots. I love pizza. I love disc golf. I love that golf discs and pizza shares the same shape and symbolize the circle of life. I love Cher Lloyd, America, and Spider-man socks.

I hate pop music and love NPR. These truths are self-evident.

Pluto always will be a planet. No one can revoke the planet status. A dwarf planet, my ass. No. Knights aren’t de-knighted. Reggie Bush lost his Heisman. C’mon, though. He kicked ass and you can’t reverse that. Boy George will always be Boy George.

Eddie George is Eddie George always.

Pluto has hit last in the solar-system lineup for generations. It’s a tradition. The New York Jets should be deemed less an NFL team than Pluto should be considered a planet. And no one’s reducing the Jets to dwarf status.

Or tofu denigrated to dwarf food status. Celestial criteria, my ass. Don’t ever hassle me when it comes to Pluto’s status ever again, the world of academia.

Focus on Marshawn Lynch’s behavior instead.

bermuda triangle
photo credit: NOAA’s National Ocean Service via photopin cc

4. Do pilots purposely avoid the Bermuda Triangle?

Captain Lim, blogging at Just About Flying, calls the Bermuda Triangle a myth. Just like the Loch Ness Monster, or Chicago Cubs World Series tickets. (What’s his stance on Pluto, I wonder.)

The Bermuda Triangle could be called a region of doom.

It extends between Bermuda, Miami, and San Juan. Thousands of travelers pass through it daily. It covers 1,800 nautical miles. I flew through it en route to the Dominican Republic. This qualifies me as a badass.

Hazards abound, such as hurricanes and cyclones. Or shallow water where your vessel can run aground if you veer off course. Even Christopher Columbus knew the weather there made for tricky waters. Smugglers’ routes went through the triangle.

Pirates’ circles did, too.

Ever found yourself in open water with pirates and smugglers? It’s worse than a raiders-49ers game. Ships go missing.

Not unlike Richard Sherman, the Bermuda Triangle has blown an awful lot of smoke. Only four airplanes have disappeared in its reach, none since 1949. It’s a romantic story, for sure, yet not worth the hype.

shirt
EJP

5. Why is the writing on that guy’s T-shirt upside down?

Shh. He’ll hear us.

He wants us to comment on it. Back in the day, kids wore Big Johnson T-shirts. Shirts in Boston say “Yankees Suck.” There are those that read “Real Men Beat Eggs,” or “Shoot Film Not Guns.”

Websites sell shirts that say “Almost Single” and “Dear Karma, I have a list of people you missed.” They start conversations, these threads.

Dude had a shirt that tells us to pull him from the snow, and he’s wearing it on a mild December day in Carolina. At Taco Bell, no less. I found one online that reads, “You had me at ‘Let’s go to Taco Bell.’”

Hear me, girls? I’ll even spring for Fruitista Freezes. Let’s go celebrate Monday.

Even though a despicable team will win on Sunday …

One will also lose.

Celestial criteria, my ass.

shirt quote

42 Comments

  1. And all I have to say is this is why I booked JetBlue for our flights in and out of Disney, because you really didn’t think I go without wi-fi now, did you lol!! 😉

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      How could you be a comment Jedi without wifi, Janine?

  2. Eli…PLEASE let me steal that Tshirt photo to post on my blog! We just got 2 feet of snow a few days ago and we are due for another 18 inches today!

    I MUST HAVE THAT PHOTO! 😀

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        It’s better for where you are than where I am … it’s like in the 40s here. The closest thing we’ll get to snow here is a cocaine drug bust.

  3. WordWabbit says:

    Great post. Had me laughing the whole way! Totally down with your views on Pluto. So many things to like, but especially: “Dear Karma, I have a list of people you missed.” Will totally avoid electric eels from now on!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks WW! Some Fridays, the questions all come together. I’m glad no Pluto-un-apologists have stopped by, because I’d have no mercy. Karma does seem a bit behind, doesn’t it? I think it still uses dial-up.

      Maybe electric eels should offer their services to help Karma catch up.

  4. Please tell me the Seahawks’ Coach isn’t a candy crush player!

    I’m with you on Pluto. What an outrage to demote it! Did you notice it has the shape of pizza and a golf disc? I think that’s why you get so protective 😉

    I don’t get the guy in the the t-shirt. Is he afraid somebody will shove him in the snow, head first?
    We are expecting a considerable amount of snow around here this weekend.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I wouldn’t be a bit surprised if he is, Tamara.

      Society does some nervy things, but messing with Pluto really got my goat. It’s not an accident at all that pizza, golf discs and Pluto are roughly the shape of my head. Just not as lumpy.

      I don’t get it either, but Grace and I were standing there contemplating the Taco Bell value menu, and he was front-and-center.

      I used to have a shirt when I was a young teen with the caveman from the comic B.C. It had a simple bubble over his head that read, “Where are the broads?”

  5. Kim says:

    Pluto, Pluto…

    They demoted it to dwarf planet, then realized than some of Jupiter’s moons had to be upgraded to the same status.

    If it ain’t broke, don’t break it! Grrr…

    Oh well. I’ll add that to the list of things to fix when I’m world leader. 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Meddlesome scientists. Infinite amnesty for Pluto. Now that’s a worthy platform, Kim.

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Can’t…unsee…John…Kerry…

    Great. Just great.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Haha … Thanks! Doesn’t it look like him, though?

      1. NotAPunkRocker says:

        This better not mean the DNC is endorsing the Patriots, because it would be heck to have to choose between switching political views or becoming a NE fan.

        *shudder*

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Anything’s possible. Wasn’t Chris Christie whooping it up at a Dallas Cowboys game? Talk about confusion.

  7. ksbeth says:

    i’m in the badass club with you, eli. flew though it on my way to dr too, and we’re both here to tell –

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      bermuda triangle THIS.

      1. ksbeth says:

        yes! stick this up your bermuda triangle and smoke it!

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        i think we’re going to evoke the evil like this. i swear, if i go missing in the shower … i’ll know why.

  8. Kim says:

    I’m thinking that the M&Ms out of the barf bag is how Tamara kept Des happy on their flight – right??
    Supposedly my new iPhone6+ has a built in hotspot – wonder if it would work on a flight.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Yes! That’s where I got the badass idea. Please let us know if the iPhone6+ (is that really the name?) gives you a signal in the friendly skies.

  9. laurie27wsmith says:

    Badass beth and Eli, we’ll never hear the end of this now. I survived the Bermuda Triangle will now appear in random posts. Hang on, how do you know you’re not in an alternate universe now? Great post as usual Mate. I won’t pretend to understand the football speak but it’s good to know you’re passionate about it. Pluto! It should still be called a planet. Lets face it, in the grand scheme of the universe our sun is a dwarf. BC? Now you’re talking loved that strip. take care mate,
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      A true badass doesn’t have to say much about it, right beth? But #FUBermudaTriangle could trend.

      If this is an alternate universe, I think I’ll stay. Oh, and this is just a lot of piss and vinegar about my team not being good enough to make it this far.

      Super Bowls are stressful when you’re team’s involved.

      Amen on the sun being a dwarf. What do we accomplish by taking away Pluto’s stripes? Geez mate, it irks me all over again.

  10. The Pluto one cracked me up. I just talked to an aeronautical (aerospace?) engineer who got all huffy about it, too (in a laughing way). He said the exact same thing as you–Pluto will ALWAYS be a planet!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Pluto’s no joke, Shay. You can’t halfway love or disbar a planet.

      Science be damned – I know what’s up.

  11. Rorybore says:

    Since I am just about to take the kids out in minus 20 weather to go sledding, I kinda need that t-shirt.
    and then some good Mexican food.
    You will be proud to know that even though I still don’t get the game at all, I will be making the effort to watch the Super Bowl tomorrow night. I even bought wings and beer and nacho chips. (right?). I guess given my geographical location, I’ll have to cheer for the Patriots — honestly it has nothing to do with Tom Brady’s lips… I mean arm, and that Captain America himself will be there cheering for them. It’s all just so I can make a semi intelligent sportlike comment the next time I visit.
    Um, what’s a “tight end” – because I listened to some football radio talk and that doesn’t seem to fit with sport talk at all??? 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I thought that was regular-issue for you Canadians, with your meds and whatnot.

      What’s Mexican food in Canada like?

      I love that you’ll watch the Super Bowl. It’s rarely a good game, but beer and nachos can make up for it. Whatever motivates you, I am glad you’re rooting for the lesser of two evils.

      Tom Brady’s no god, Rore. “There’s only one God, ma’am, and I’m pretty sure he doesn’t dress like that.”

      The CFL doesn’t have tight ends? A tight end is a hybrid lineman/receiver who lines up outside the tackle, mostly. A tight end with good hands is a matchup problem for defenses, because he’s often covered by a linebacker, who isn’t normally adept at pass coverage, and …

      Oh, hell. Just go stare at Rob Gronkowski like half of American women do.

      1. Rorybore says:

        I am Gronk!
        and, I understood that reference.

        nope, no tight end in CFL. instead we got two slotback positions.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Aren’t we all Gronk? I found it interesting (and sickening) how easily I rooted for New England. Slotback at least doesn’t spur fifth-grader talk about tight ends.

  12. tamaralikecamera says:

    We flew JetBlue but I didn’t know about the WiFi. Obviously you know I have perfected barf bags as snack bags. I mean.. what else are they for?? I shudder to think.
    Cooked carrots.
    That’s what they’re for.
    In Northampton.
    Now you’ll never want to visit!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      You were busy with M&Ms and barf bags and couldn’t have been bothered with the Internet. It’s a much better use – I’d much rather have the cat next to me on any flight eat out of one than deposit into one.

      Cooked free-range organic carrots? As Elise would say, “they’re probably on the Democrat aisle.”

      1. tamaralikecamera says:

        That’s my aisle!

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        She says that’s where the veggie burgers are, too. The bacon cheeseburgers are on the Republican aisle. Her words!

      3. tamaralikecamera says:

        The ice cream and McDonald’s are in the democrat aisle because my grandparents ate both and both lived until 100. Both Democrats.

      4. Eli Pacheco says:

        Dang. Maybe they’ll at least have fudge pops in the Libertarian aisle, and I’ll make it to 75.

      5. tamaralikecamera says:

        Let’s hope! Cookies in every aisle.

      6. Eli Pacheco says:

        God Bless America.*

        -plus the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam.

  13. I feel bad for Pluto too. My daughter learned the planets in 3rd grade and got tired of me asking, “What about Pluto?” She said, “It’s just not a planet anymore, Mom!!” And then I’m pretty sure she rolled her eyes.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I heard on NPR today there are three, possibly four planets beyond Pluto. All those models we made of the solar system are so jacked up now.

      This generation … they’ll never understand the love for Pluto.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.